Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2020, 08:46 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
mydogmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Cental Texas
Posts: 396
Level

Our Windsor has only air levers, I have to run the engine to add air to level the mh. Is there an add on to manually lever the mh, of jacks that can be added?

Thanks.
__________________
2005 Monaco Windsor, 40 ft single axle.
TRW GB, Watts front and watts x braces rear. 2013 GMC 2500HD toad.
mydogmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-15-2020, 09:15 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Captjake1's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Where I happen to land
Posts: 2,529
Surprised there isn't a remote 12v compressor? Not sure of your year, passengers side, up front of steer axle is where some are located.
__________________
John and Debi
2008 Beaver Contessa, 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee,
28 years retired Fire Captain Tales of the Muttley Crew
Captjake1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 08:38 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
RamiDav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,651
You have a 12v compressor that is supposed to keep you level when you select
auto level and leave it on auto .

As Captjake said the compressor is mounted just behind the front axel up high .

Mine has an inline fuse near the compressor , that's where I would look 1st .

Ray 03 Windsor
RamiDav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 11:35 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
vito.a's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 5,120
I assume you have an HWH air leveling system?
It uses a Thomas 12v air compressor to add air when parked. The Thomas pump is the quietest available but has an open case and is susceptible to dirt getting inside and fouling the motor. On your system the pump is probably up front. There will be an inline fuse that usually blows when it gets full of dirt.

Picture in post #20.
http://www.irv2.com/forums/f115/repl...-369684-2.html

You can remove and rebuild the pump or replace it.
Rebuild kit:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-OEM-THO...EAAOSwuMZZFK3G
New compressor:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-THOMAS-...cAAOSww9xZFKxR

Many folks make a cover to try and keep the dirt out. Some also replace it with another brand compressor, but the other choices are very noisy. VIAIR makes a commercial compressor that is sealed and produces almost double the air output.
__________________
97 Monaco Windsor- Sold
07 Monaco Executive McKinley- Sold
04 Monaco Signature Chateau IV
vito.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 12:28 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
windsorbill's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: CA
Posts: 3,500
Quote:
Originally Posted by vito.a View Post
I assume you have an HWH air leveling system?
It uses a Thomas 12v air compressor to add air when parked. The Thomas pump is the quietest available but has an open case and is susceptible to dirt getting inside and fouling the motor. On your system the pump is probably up front. There will be an inline fuse that usually blows when it gets full of dirt.

Picture in post #20.
http://www.irv2.com/forums/f115/repl...-369684-2.html

You can remove and rebuild the pump or replace it.
Rebuild kit:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-OEM-THO...EAAOSwuMZZFK3G
New compressor:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-THOMAS-...cAAOSww9xZFKxR

Many folks make a cover to try and keep the dirt out. Some also replace it with another brand compressor, but the other choices are very noisy. VIAIR makes a commercial compressor that is sealed and produces almost double the air output.
I believe the 05 windsor has the firestone leveling system. 06 they changed to the valid. Either way, there should be a 12 volt compressor over the front axle somewhere.
__________________
Bill & Brigitte
06 Windsor PEQ, Cummins 400 ISL
2014 Honda CRV
windsorbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2020, 09:07 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
mydogmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Cental Texas
Posts: 396
I have a Firestone system. The book says you have to run the engine, that's why I was wondering if anyone had installed an electric compressor to keep the motorhome level without have to start the engine in the middle of an RV park.
__________________
2005 Monaco Windsor, 40 ft single axle.
TRW GB, Watts front and watts x braces rear. 2013 GMC 2500HD toad.
mydogmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2020, 09:21 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Captjake1's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Where I happen to land
Posts: 2,529
On ours, you have to have the key in the run or ignition position in order to change the system from travel to auto or manual.
Once changed to the setting you want, the system uses the small electric compressor to level and maintain it.
We also have the Firestone system.
Out compressor is on passengers side, forward of steer axle and forward or entry steps.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mydogmax View Post
I have a Firestone system. The book says you have to run the engine, that's why I was wondering if anyone had installed an electric compressor to keep the motorhome level without have to start the engine in the middle of an RV park.
__________________
John and Debi
2008 Beaver Contessa, 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee,
28 years retired Fire Captain Tales of the Muttley Crew
Captjake1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2020, 12:02 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
RamiDav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,651
I see no reason why you couldn't install an elect compressor .

Some owners have moved their comp into a compartment out of the weather .
Mounting it there should make the job easier .

Before doing anything I would look for a compressor in spite of what the manual said

Ray 03 Windsor
RamiDav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2020, 12:14 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
96 Wideglide's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 7,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by mydogmax View Post
I have a Firestone system. The book says you have to run the engine, that's why I was wondering if anyone had installed an electric compressor to keep the motorhome level without have to start the engine in the middle of an RV park.
Like all the others have said, you should already have a electric compressor that keeps your coach level with the engine off.
You could have a blown fuse, or possibly the compressor has failed.
__________________
Ben & Sharon
2008 43' Holiday Rambler Scepter PDQ
96 Wideglide is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2020, 04:35 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Windecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Logan Indiana (Near Cincinnati Ohio)
Posts: 725
Thanks for the links Vito!
On my ever growing list to fix, my inop Thomas pump

Mine is mounted above the drive axle and a bear to get to with the passenger side wheels installed. If I remove the wheels, piece of cake to get to.

I crawl under and look at it all the time. Reach up there and reconsider if it is worth it or not. I don't use auto level much so it is a sort of should fix it and not a I need to fix project.

My Signature Thomas pump was totally locked up and depressingly degraded so I assume that is what is waiting for me inside this one
Windecker

Quote:
Originally Posted by vito.a View Post
I assume you have an HWH air leveling system?
It uses a Thomas 12v air compressor to add air when parked. The Thomas pump is the quietest available but has an open case and is susceptible to dirt getting inside and fouling the motor. On your system the pump is probably up front. There will be an inline fuse that usually blows when it gets full of dirt.

Picture in post #20.
http://www.irv2.com/forums/f115/repl...-369684-2.html

You can remove and rebuild the pump or replace it.
Rebuild kit:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-OEM-THO...EAAOSwuMZZFK3G
New compressor:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-THOMAS-...cAAOSww9xZFKxR

Many folks make a cover to try and keep the dirt out. Some also replace it with another brand compressor, but the other choices are very noisy. VIAIR makes a commercial compressor that is sealed and produces almost double the air output.
__________________
RV #5 1999 Monaco Signature Slide ISM 11 450
RV #6 2005 Monaco Executive 43PBQ Detroit Series 60
Honda Fit, Odyssey or Cargo trailer in tow.
Windecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 07:38 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
mydogmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Cental Texas
Posts: 396
Our firestone controller has one rocker switch for low and high position, a rocker on/off switch and a push button for horizontal leveling.

It has no leveling jacks, and no aux. pump to be found. How they built anything like this I don't know.
__________________
2005 Monaco Windsor, 40 ft single axle.
TRW GB, Watts front and watts x braces rear. 2013 GMC 2500HD toad.
mydogmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 05:57 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 319
We have the Valid air only system with a 12v dc pump, which I replaced with a Firestone pump. First thing I would do is fix your leaks so you don't need the aux pump. I know it's a pain/expensive. We stay level for weeks, however, I put a switch in the cockpit to control power to the pump so it doesn't run in the middle of the night. For whatever reason which I am yet to locate, the coach has not moved but the air tank has dropped to the point where the pressure switch is calling for power. The reason for the switch, I never turn it on, no need to, no leaks and coach stays level. Good luck.

Roadmiester
09 Dynasty Regal IV
Roadmiester is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Level,slides-slides level tagcat Monaco Owner's Forum 7 03-20-2014 08:56 PM
oven not level when RV is level, Ray,IN RV Systems & Appliances 8 06-29-2011 08:44 PM
Level and slide or slide then level? smackey2x Class A Motorhome Discussions 61 12-28-2010 08:42 AM
See Level II LPG level CJ7ole RV Systems & Appliances 3 11-06-2010 06:36 PM
Refrigerator...how level is LEVEL? footdoc RV Systems & Appliances 10 02-13-2007 01:46 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.