Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-07-2021, 07:39 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 35
Monaco Diplomat back camera wire routing

I have a Monaco Diplomat 2001 vintage and am replacing the camera. I have taken the old camera out and routed the wire through the cab just to get home.
Does anyone know where the wire goes past the hole in the bulkhead on the back? There is an access hole inside but the camera is way lower than the hole. The wire to the camera was super tight but I was able to leave enough to splice to potentially.
I picked up this unit https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07Y9KWLJ4...ing=UTF8&psc=1
It is working great so far and the price is great if it lasts 4 years I will be ecstatic.
Anyway if anyone has knowledge on how that little wire is routed I would love to know. Otherwise I will probably do what I have done in the past just like many of the posts and route it along the chassis.
deano511 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-08-2021, 10:39 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
JeepTJ5's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 147
I am sorry to say I don't know how the wire is routed, I couldn't trace it in my coach. What I did was route the new wire through the trough on the passenger side of the coach above the ceiling.* I cut an access hole into the plastic liner of the front cabinet above the door and removed the electrical box holding all the breakers in the rearmost cabinet** and ran a fish tape from rear to front and then pulled the wire through. It ain't easy to do that fish, but being obstinate, I finally got it done. I also installed a pull-rope (twine) for any future additions. Is it worth it - probably not, running the wire under the chassis is probably easier. FWIW. Don



*It is not really a trough, but rather openings in the aluminum frame of the coach where they routed lots and lots of wires from front to rear.


**Likely your coach will be different as to what is in that cabinet as mine is 34' and quite compacted compared to the the larger coaches.
__________________
34' Holdiay Rambler Neptune
Solar and Jeep
JeepTJ5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2021, 11:58 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 412
Why not use the existing wire and splice into it? You only need 3 wires for the new camera, Ground/+12V/Signal. The existing wiring will have 4 wires.

The trickiest part is if yours is like mine in which case the color coding on the wires at the dash was different than the wires at the camera. I had to go wire by wire with the multimeter to figure it out -- but once that was done it was a piece of cake.

The blue wire at the dash is the signal wire which will turn the camera on when you select reverse. You can skip that and hook it directly to 12V if you'd prefer it to be on whenever the key is. I use the power button on the monitor instead of the reverse trigger (I like to click it on to check the status of our hitch from time to time.)
__________________
2000 Monaco Diplomat 38D
Fffrank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2021, 04:52 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 1,311
Rvcams.com has adapters check with him first
shootist is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2021, 10:58 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 35
I would and tried to splice it in but a darn rat chewed through the wire in 3 places. I'll just route the cable under and around. Not a big deal.
Thanks for your input all.
deano511 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
'02 Monaco Windsor rear cap: New wire routing? JellyBean Monaco Owner's Forum 12 01-29-2021 08:05 PM
Antenna on back ladder, wire routing advice les.warden Tiffin Owner's Forum 2 04-08-2018 07:26 PM
Monaco rear camera wire routing surftalks Monaco Owner's Forum 5 08-17-2017 01:25 PM
2016 Monaco Diplomat 43SG :: 2016 Monaco Diplomat 43SG JWBranning iRV2 Owners Registry 0 07-05-2017 07:43 AM
1999 Monaco Diplomat 38A :: 1999 Monaco diplomat TGunn1 iRV2 Owners Registry 0 10-04-2016 11:06 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.