Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-08-2015, 07:36 PM   #1
Member
 
Cessnapilot's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 41
Question Need Help Locating a Hidden GFCI

2008 HR Ambassador 40SKQ. I have attached files showing the 120V Layout within the coach and the 120V circuits. Troubleshooting: All outlets downstream of the GFCI connected to the 3A JNC BOX are dead. The outlets downstream of the 3B JNC BOX are live. Problem: Where oh where could the GFCI be? I have looked under and behind the couches, in the basement, under the slides, behind drawers and shelves, and in high and low cabinets. The GFCI connected to 2B JNC BOX is prominently mounted on the rear wall of the curbside front slide. Has anyone with this or a similar coach located this GFCI or otherwise solved this 120V power problem?
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 38081162 SCHEMATIC 120V LAYOUT.pdf (159.3 KB, 206 views)
File Type: pdf 38091025 SCHEMATIC 120V CI.pdf (138.6 KB, 136 views)
__________________
Joe and Mary
2008 HR Ambassador 40SKQ ISC 360
2017 Ford Edge Titanium - Roadmaster Nighthawk - Air Force One - EEZ Tire TPMS
Cessnapilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-08-2015, 10:18 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 24,638
Don't have a similar RV but , you could check the fridge outlet, have to remove the lower vent for access, and on the lower ( facing down ) side of upper cabinets. Two common hidden locations I've heard about from other members.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 11:21 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
redbaron73's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,206
Blog Entries: 4
Also in your bay if you have a central vac or other accessory outlet. My fleetwood had one there.

Another hidden gfc was behind the midship TV where all the entertainment devices plugged in.


2013 Newmar Dutchstar 4347, Active Air
__________________
2022 London Aire 4551 * 2022 GD Imagine 2800BH * 2021 RAM 3500 DRW * 2020 Wrangler
HAM: WD4LOW NHSO (Newmar Hoot, Sevierville Original)
Kindness Matters
redbaron73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 11:58 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
xydial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 387
While my Knight is three years older, many of the systems for the Knight/Ambassador did not change from 2005 thru 2008.

The two ground fault interrupt circuits are in the receptacle above the bathroom sink. The only other GFI is in the plug for the engine heater.
__________________
2005 Monaco Knight 40PLQ
2013 Ford Edge
xydial is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2015, 06:28 AM   #5
Member
 
Cessnapilot's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 41
Help Locating a Hidden GFCI

Is it possible that a GFCI was not actually installed? If there isn't a GFCI in the line connected to the 3A JNC BOX, what issues could cause the results of no power to the outlets connected to the 3A JNC BOX? Would a disconnected wire in any one of the outlets cause all to outlets on the line to be dead?
__________________
Joe and Mary
2008 HR Ambassador 40SKQ ISC 360
2017 Ford Edge Titanium - Roadmaster Nighthawk - Air Force One - EEZ Tire TPMS
Cessnapilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2015, 06:31 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
DennisZ's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Pipe Creek, TX
Posts: 641
The wiring looks very similar to my Endeavor, the GFCI that controls all those outlets is in the bathroom, strange layout, but that's it.
__________________
Dennis & Debbie Z (Retired) F415847
Pipe Creek, TX
2008 HR Endeavor 40PDQ / 2015 RAM 1500 Toad
DennisZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2015, 06:45 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: ontario
Posts: 95
On my 2004 Monaco the gfci was in the bedroom on the cupoard end toward the rear of coach, the end towards my washer dryer hidden from view, it had tripped shutting down power to other outlets on the inverter. Not sure if this helps, so good luck.
__________________
2004 monaco camelot isc 350 cummins allison 6 speed trans
rebelcarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2015, 07:34 AM   #8
Member
 
Cessnapilot's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 41
Rebelcarm: Must admit I did not look in the closet in the bedroom. I will check there tonight. My 120V distribution panel and breakers are there on the curbside.
On a 2003 set of circuit drawings I have there is reference to locations of "BOC AREA". Anyone know what location that is?
__________________
Joe and Mary
2008 HR Ambassador 40SKQ ISC 360
2017 Ford Edge Titanium - Roadmaster Nighthawk - Air Force One - EEZ Tire TPMS
Cessnapilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2015, 07:43 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
bredden's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 29
I owned a 2006 HR Ambassador 40'. Lost receptacle power discovered circuit breaker on inverter was tripped. (located on inverter).
bredden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2015, 07:53 AM   #10
Member
 
Cessnapilot's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 41
Bredden: Checked and double checked. I even reset the Magnum ME2012-20B inverter using the power button method and the remove positive cables from the battery method. Referring to drawing 38091025 in my original post, the inverter CB-2 line is providing power to the microwave just fine, with and without shore power. And the inverter CB-1 line is providing power to R DVD and R TV outlets just fine, with and without shore power.
I think my next action is to open all outlets downstream of the GFCI connected to the 3A JNC BOX and check for disconnected wires to the receptacle.
Thank you for all the input so far. IRV2 people are awesome!!
__________________
Joe and Mary
2008 HR Ambassador 40SKQ ISC 360
2017 Ford Edge Titanium - Roadmaster Nighthawk - Air Force One - EEZ Tire TPMS
Cessnapilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2015, 09:25 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
tchester's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Forest River Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 27
"BOC AREA" could be Back of Coach???
tchester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2015, 09:48 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
OLYLEN's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Olympia, Wa
Posts: 2,772
Just a thought, have you checked the breakers on the inverter?

LEN
__________________
2004 Clss C 31' Winnebgo
OLYLEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2015, 10:17 AM   #13
Member
 
Cessnapilot's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 41
LEN: Yes on breakers on inverter. See my post #10.
__________________
Joe and Mary
2008 HR Ambassador 40SKQ ISC 360
2017 Ford Edge Titanium - Roadmaster Nighthawk - Air Force One - EEZ Tire TPMS
Cessnapilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2015, 02:51 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Stan&Jacquie's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 914
Check the receptacle near the bathroom sink and the receptacle in the bay that is wired for the addition of an outside TV.
__________________
Stan & Jacquie
2007 Monaco Knight DFT 40', 750 watts Solar
2012 Equinox w/Air Force I, Blue Ox Alpha & Base.
Stan&Jacquie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cat, need help



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shore power GFCI tripping JohnInAz RV Systems & Appliances 8 09-28-2014 05:08 PM
Popping 30 amp GFCI LSC9901 RV Systems & Appliances 6 08-24-2014 09:30 AM
Issue Plugging in at Home - GFCI vettenuts Class A Motorhome Discussions 17 07-03-2014 01:01 AM
DSI Fault and GFCI circuit tripping Boblevy Class A Motorhome Discussions 9 03-04-2014 08:55 AM
GFCI for Winnebago 38J TheToads Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 12 12-02-2013 06:31 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.