RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-31-2019, 04:41 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: dublin, ga
Posts: 71
No AC power

Greetings. Just spent 4 days on the road with that woman again. Day 1, she had the space heater going and plugged in her favorite 100 giga watt coffee maker. this time its bad. we lost the a/c receptacles on the drivers side and front boxes.

the receptacles work in the bed room. I know because my mouth landed me i'm in there by my self now.

there is no power in bathroom, kitchen, above couch, and tv box. she drove herself up to a little hard ware store and bought a dozen extension cords. the kind that a woman would buy. 6 foot long, about the thickness of a frog hair. she stung them all over the camper to get her power fix again. I would have bought 1 cord that was 1/8th mile long and 2 ought.

anyway. I've looked for a couple hours trying to find a gfi or something. I did shoot the wires coming out of the inverter. both legs good. 110 at main breaker panel. I did open the cover sink receptacle that the d#@m coffee maker was plugged in. It looks good. nothing burnt.

thanks for the help. "alone in the bed room again. "

2000 not so holiday rambler, septer. Dale
__________________

__________________
2000 Holiday Rambler Septer, Ret USAF Msgt.
dale1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-31-2019, 05:00 PM   #2
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7,530
Find your inverter. See if there is a couple of breakers on it. Often power starts from the AC panel, feeds the inverter where it can change to DC to charge and run things and then will pass the same AC through to outlets. If the inverter/converter sees the loss of that input AC you can ask it to invert battery power to AC power.

If you put too much load on that circuit those breakers can pop and leave the breaker on the AC panel still in the on position.

IF you have a Energy Management System that sheds loads when you are connected to 30 amp shoreline versus 50 amp you could lose some circuits temporarily or permanently if the Management system has a breakdown.

A voltmeter will help but only if you are comfortable with one.
__________________

__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2012 Ford Edge Limited FWD 3.5L
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2019, 05:01 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
RustyTools's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,030
First blush is to check the breakers on the inverter (because bedroom is still on), but you already caught that. So, next is a GFI somewhere - they hide them well. Good luck.


Next up: 1-800-DIVORCE ?
__________________
2008 Camelot 40í PDQ
RustyTools is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2019, 08:39 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Outbound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,634
Question: Are you going to keep her.
__________________
Outbound
2002 Monaco Executive 500 ISM
2004 GMC 2500HD 4X4
Outbound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 06:23 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: dublin, ga
Posts: 71
thanks guys. yes, i've kept her or she kept me for 41 years now.

the inverter power is good. the breakers were reset. I removed the cover and checked for power out as well. there are 2 legs. one is designated with red tape?? the other with black tape? does that represent pass/drivers side i wonder?

my diagram shows a gfi on the drivers side, but at least an hour looking has failed to find it. any ideas on that.

I stand corrected. my coach was manufactured in 2000 but shows 2001 in the docs.

thanks, dale
__________________
2000 Holiday Rambler Septer, Ret USAF Msgt.
dale1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 06:32 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
nodine's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Posts: 3,651
Quote:
Originally Posted by dale1 View Post
thanks guys. yes, i've kept her or she kept me for 41 years now.

the inverter power is good. the breakers were reset. I removed the cover and checked for power out as well. there are 2 legs. one is designated with red tape?? the other with black tape? does that represent pass/drivers side i wonder?

my diagram shows a gfi on the drivers side, but at least an hour looking has failed to find it. any ideas on that.

I stand corrected. my coach was manufactured in 2000 but shows 2001 in the docs.

thanks, dale
If the breakers on the inverter are not tripped then look for a wall outlet in the bathroom area that has a GFI reset button. They are easy to miss because our mind just checks them off as a normal duplex outlet. Look close at all the outlets until you find the one with the GFI reset. Push the reset and see if that restores your power. Also don't forget to check the circuit breaker for the inverter in the main power distribution panel. It will either be a single 30 amp breaker or two 30 amp breakers depending on the inverter you have.

Bob
__________________
Bob and Pam
2006 Diplomat 40PDQ
2013 Silverado Z71 CrewCab
nodine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 06:37 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 21,933
The GFCI could be outside in a compartment, ( look up ), under a sink, facing down under a cabinet, or just about anywhere.

Don't send her out to find it ! If she does, you'll never live it down.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 07:27 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6,597
On my coach the GFIC is actually located the the small service panel that controls all the inverter circuits. When one trips it's hard to see. Try tripping and resetting all the breakers in the small service panel.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 03:49 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: dublin, ga
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacwjames View Post
On my coach the GFIC is actually located the the small service panel that controls all the inverter circuits. When one trips it's hard to see. Try tripping and resetting all the breakers in the small service panel.
Jim, you lost me? do you mean on the front of the inverter? there is power coming out of the front of the inverter on both legs. goes into condunet and loose track of the wires there.

does anyone have a wiring diagram? thanks, dale
__________________
2000 Holiday Rambler Septer, Ret USAF Msgt.
dale1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 04:03 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
vito.a's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 4,126
You should have two sets of circuit breakers in separate panels. One set is for the incoming 110v circuits and the other is for all the circuits supplied by the inverter. Some of the coaches use individual circuit breakers with a built in yellow GFCI reset button. These can be difficult to see if they are popped.

Other coaches have the standard Reset/Test GFCI buttons in the center of outlets (just like a residential house). These can be very difficult to find. Sometimes they are in the basement ceiling, the underside of the bed night stands, or other out of the way places. I've even found one in the engine compartment.

You should also have a Trace Inverter installed in the basement. Most of these inverters have one or two small round push in circuit breakers. These can also be difficult to see depending on how your inverter was installed.

Hope this helps!
__________________
97 Monaco Windsor- Sold
07 Monaco Executive McKinley- Sold
04 Monaco Signature Chateau IV
vito.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 04:10 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 39
Could be bad wire connection in an outlet. Pull outlets out closest dead ones to the inverter and check, do you have a digital meter? Outlets are strung along with wire going from outlet to outlet to outlet.
sdowney717 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 04:33 PM   #12
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7,530
https://www.amazon.com/Tracer-Circui...-1-spons&psc=1

Here is an example of a signal tracer. There are many fancy ones but a cheap one will work.

Turn off the power and clip the signal injector onto the AC wiring where you know power is live when turned on. Then use the tracer to sniff at each outlet you can find.

You can buy a decent one at Lowes too.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2012 Ford Edge Limited FWD 3.5L
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 02:19 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: dublin, ga
Posts: 71
Well, Iím embarrassed. Turns out it was the GFI in the right side basement area. The receptacle that is also plugged into the vacuum. Iíve checked it more than once. The cord or plug was keeping the button pushed in. Even though it it had tripped. I thought it was good or reset. It would not reset until the pushbutton was allowed to cycle down and back up.
I really appreciate all the help.
I had the jig saw out and was ready to cut into the cabinet to trace wires. The wife came out and said have you checked the GFI. I said absolutely three or four times. She said you better check it again. Darn it :-) no bikini tonight.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FD2B1E3B-6150-4F1F-94D8-9A404BE23443.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	181.4 KB
ID:	240503   Click image for larger version

Name:	ADFD8733-50AC-436D-B866-9F88D09B10A6.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	229.8 KB
ID:	240504  

dale1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 02:21 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: dublin, ga
Posts: 71
Even though the button is held in. It is tripped.
__________________

__________________
2000 Holiday Rambler Septer, Ret USAF Msgt.
dale1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shore power power not providing power to air conditioner jjhenley RV Systems & Appliances 6 06-21-2016 09:08 AM
Intermittent electrical problem - no mirror power or camera power born2camp Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 5 07-14-2008 03:45 PM
No Eletrical Power from Power Tech Generator Field Trip Newmar Owner's Forum 5 09-27-2005 05:23 PM
No Power Mirror, radio, temp, power window, and Jacks. RVDriver Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 4 08-02-2005 10:20 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×