Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2021, 11:49 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Marion IL/Moore Haven FL
Posts: 133
No House 12 Volt

Got the Camelot home from the shop and no 12 volt. I thought they had just let house batteries go dead so I plugged it in, charged overnight, shows full charge.

Inverter on, inverter remote panel showing full charge.

Microwave is lit up.

EMS panel is dark, plugged in to 30 amps.

None of the multiplex light switches work.

Refrigerator doesn't turn on.

Generator will not prime or crank, red light on switch doesn't light up.

Slides will not work. I can get to intellitec panel in closet with slides in, but can't get to main panel as bed slide hides it.

I have turned battery disconnect off and back on, no change. I have turned salesman switch off and back on, no change.

Reading up now getting info from manuals and such before I go out and dig into the electrical bay.



Looking for tips, thanks.
__________________
2007 Monaco Camelot 42PDQ
2010 Silverado Ext. Cab 4x4
Fishar is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-01-2021, 12:22 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
windsorbill's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: CA
Posts: 4,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishar View Post
Got the Camelot home from the shop and no 12 volt. I thought they had just let house batteries go dead so I plugged it in, charged overnight, shows full charge.

Inverter on, inverter remote panel showing full charge.

Microwave is lit up.

EMS panel is dark, plugged in to 30 amps.

None of the multiplex light switches work.

Refrigerator doesn't turn on.

Generator will not prime or crank, red light on switch doesn't light up.

Slides will not work. I can get to intellitec panel in closet with slides in, but can't get to main panel as bed slide hides it.

I have turned battery disconnect off and back on, no change. I have turned salesman switch off and back on, no change.

Reading up now getting info from manuals and such before I go out and dig into the electrical bay.



Looking for tips, thanks.
Battery disconnect switch is a common failure. Are you handy with volt meter? Check voltage just past the battery disconnect switch.
__________________
Bill & Brigitte
06 Windsor PEQ, Cummins 400 ISL
2014 Honda CRV
windsorbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2021, 01:43 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
96 Wideglide's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by windsorbill View Post
Battery disconnect switch is a common failure. Are you handy with volt meter? Check voltage just past the battery disconnect switch.
Good chance!

If your shop turned off power, this is the switch they likely used.
__________________
Ben & Sharon
2008 43' Holiday Rambler Scepter PDQ
96 Wideglide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2021, 02:11 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Marion IL/Moore Haven FL
Posts: 133
Turned out it was the battery disconnect. Ordered 2 since the chassis one is the same.
__________________
2007 Monaco Camelot 42PDQ
2010 Silverado Ext. Cab 4x4
Fishar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2021, 02:41 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
96 Wideglide's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8,939
Of course it was!

Bill's sitting on a 67-0 record! He's not gonna miss on a short kick like that !

Good to hear it was something simple!
__________________
Ben & Sharon
2008 43' Holiday Rambler Scepter PDQ
96 Wideglide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2021, 04:11 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Marion IL/Moore Haven FL
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by 96 Wideglide View Post
Of course it was!

Bill's sitting on a 67-0 record! He's not gonna miss on a short kick like that !

Good to hear it was something simple!
I tested the salesman switch relay first in the front bay because I didn't have to do anything for that.
Had to take the battery disconnect loose to get to the posts on it, part of it crumbled in my hand. It's under the cummins engine hood.

Getting in some practice with the old multimeter which I still don't completely know how to use.
__________________
2007 Monaco Camelot 42PDQ
2010 Silverado Ext. Cab 4x4
Fishar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2021, 04:16 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Outbound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NorCal
Posts: 2,964
Lots of smart people here to help, congrats on finding problem.
__________________
Outbound
2002 Monaco Executive 500 ISM
2004 GMC 2500HD 4X4
Outbound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2021, 04:31 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
96 Wideglide's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 8,939
Not 100% sure, but I think your fridge would continue getting 12v with the 'salesman' switch off.
__________________
Ben & Sharon
2008 43' Holiday Rambler Scepter PDQ
96 Wideglide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2021, 05:44 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Marion IL/Moore Haven FL
Posts: 133
I made a mistake pulling this thing in the driveway. I brought it up here to try out the ready brake.
Nowhere near ready on that and it's damn cold. I'll be taking it down to the shop inside at the first opportunity. Have to change out the transfer switch, plus I have 50 amps down there.
__________________
2007 Monaco Camelot 42PDQ
2010 Silverado Ext. Cab 4x4
Fishar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2021, 06:03 AM   #10
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 10,465
Take a picture of your voltmeter when you have it working so you can reference it later.

Finding a decent ground is always a problem. I made some long jumpers to pull around anywhere I need so the confidence of getting a reliable reading is always there.

After some thoughts I remembered that any extension cord has a ground so you can stretch one of those out and plug into your rv to use the ground hole for your meter.

To take it another step, I bought a replacement plug for a cord and just connected a single wire inside of it to the ground lug. Installing an alligator clip on the free end makes for a great grounding cord.

Changing the transfer switch in that year model is a great idea just in case it has one of the problematic ones of the era.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
400 Isl, 400 HP/// Now 450 HP
2016 Ford F150 Limited V6 with Ready Brake
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
12 volt



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing 12 volt for 6 volt house batteries Vanslam Class A Motorhome Discussions 12 04-14-2018 10:10 AM
8 volt vs 6 volt house batteries wmtorp National RV Owner's Forum 5 07-31-2016 08:33 AM
Gotta replace our 12 VOLT House Battery is 6 VOLT the way to go? skstrickland RV Systems & Appliances 6 02-26-2013 12:32 PM
One 12 volt & two 6 volt house batteries. NIFFIT Fleetwood Owner's Forum 26 05-04-2010 09:25 AM
12 VOLT to 6 VOLT House Mikeeg MH-General Discussions & Problems 10 12-21-2008 03:25 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.