RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2012, 10:42 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
bench's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 132
no shore power

When plugged into 50 amp with lots of load something all power 110 power failed. EMS showed red fault light and "high voltage" on screen. I reset all breakers. Progressive Industries shows both legs fin with no error codes. EMS screen show 50m amp.. No 110 to appliances though. With generator on or a inverter on all is fine. Can someone point me in the right direction? Thanks in advance
__________________
2009 Monaco Camelot
bench is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-28-2012, 10:57 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Mike Canter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
Do you really have shore power out of the pole??? Have you verified it?
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 11:06 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
bench's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 132
My surge protector and EMS show both legs of 50 amp coming to coach
__________________
2009 Monaco Camelot
bench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 11:08 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Mike Canter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
Do you have 110 v anywhere in the mh? Have you checked the circuit breaker on the inverter. It may be a switch or a push button type?
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 11:13 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
bench's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 132
110 is fine with inverter on and all works with generator on
__________________
2009 Monaco Camelot
bench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 11:17 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Mike Canter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
Something needs resetting. The two things that are on shore power and not on generator are half the transfer switch and maybe the surge protector. Have you tried powering 100% down and unplugging everything and bringing it all back up?
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 11:31 AM   #7
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
I would dare guess that it may be your transfer switch that is faulty. The default position is for shore power and it then has to switch over for generator power. Not sure whether your transfer switch is set up for Inverter power or not.

This is only one thing that could be wrong. It is a very intricate and complicated system so you need to eliminate one item at a time.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 10:03 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
bench's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 132
problem fixed

I lucked out and found John at Nevada Mobile Service in Minden Nevada. He found the high amperage draw cause the neutral wire in the transfer switch overheated and burned. It turns out the lugs in the transfer were not tight and that may have contributed to the melt down due to arching. John was able to replace the a lug attachment in the transfer switch and avoid the need to replace the entire switch. He was extremely knowledgeable and repaired a couple of other minor problems while I was at his home. I recommend his highly and without hesitation. His phone number is 775-267-9876. Thank to the forum members for their help.
__________________
2009 Monaco Camelot
bench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 06:39 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
nodine's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Posts: 3,750
Quote:
Originally Posted by bench View Post
I lucked out and found John at Nevada Mobile Service in Minden Nevada. He found the high amperage draw cause the neutral wire in the transfer switch overheated and burned. It turns out the lugs in the transfer were not tight and that may have contributed to the melt down due to arching. John was able to replace the a lug attachment in the transfer switch and avoid the need to replace the entire switch. He was extremely knowledgeable and repaired a couple of other minor problems while I was at his home. I recommend his highly and without hesitation. His phone number is 775-267-9876. Thank to the forum members for their help.
Good to know that the EMS will detect an open neutral because our Progressive is before the transfer switch. I was not aware of that and maybe I need to read the manual on the EMS again.

Glad you found a competent tech to take care of you.

Bob
__________________
Bob and Pam
2006 Diplomat 40PDQ
2020 Chevy Sonic
nodine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 06:51 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Mike Canter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
I agree, Bench is lucky. The open neutral is the reason for the high voltage warning. With an open neutral you start getting 220 volts across appliances and things. Your EMS saved you.
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
shore power and engine jgh Fleetwood Owner's Forum 10 01-20-2012 08:46 PM
Shore power problem ronwaldrep Class A Motorhome Discussions 6 01-15-2012 12:47 PM
No 12VDC when plugged into shore power RV 4 2 National RV Owner's Forum 4 10-07-2009 10:45 AM
1996 Adventurer--running both A/C from shore power DannyLong Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 08-29-2006 12:04 PM
How To Keep Engine Battery Charged While on Shore Power FLYTYER Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 15 06-18-2006 06:09 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.