RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-24-2015, 09:14 PM   #1
Member
 
heavyhauler's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cold Lake Alberta
Posts: 44
Norcold fridge issues

the fridge was working perfectly, had it plugged into shore power. We went to go on a trip and the unplugged shore power, the fridge starts to beep and flash AC HE . it would work on genny power but not threw are inverter. when we got to our destination i leveled out the MH and tried to turn the fridge on. used LP mode and sure enough it worked. Fired up the MH to move again this morning and low and behold the AC HE started to flash again. We shut off the fridge, swore a couple times and continued to our next destination. We we arrived i decided to try it again. No shore power or Genny. it is now working again. I have removed the panel on the out side of the motorhome and checked to makes sure all connections are tight and good. I didnt see any issues.
this fridge has had the update from Norcold.
Any ideas what i should check ?
__________________

__________________
2001 Monaco Dynasty Regent w/tag
2006 Hummer H3
Blue Ox towbar, Patriot braking system
heavyhauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-24-2015, 11:29 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Stretch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: cayucos, ca
Posts: 1,299
First chance you get do what I did. Dump the norcold and get a residential refrigerator. Cheaper than a norcold. Uses very little power. Keeps ice cream really cold. And nothing like getting crushed ice and water out the door.


Sent from my iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum
__________________

__________________
Ross Starkenburg
2017 Newmar Dutch Star 4369. Spartan chassis w/full disc brakes. 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee toad
Stretch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2015, 11:38 PM   #3
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 30,209
If its set to AUTO the control board will determine what it has to keep it cooling.
This link has info and manuals of Norcold operation down near bottom of link.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2015, 11:56 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
stink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stretch View Post
First chance you get do what I did. Dump the norcold and get a residential refrigerator. Cheaper than a norcold. Uses very little power. Keeps ice cream really cold. And nothing like getting crushed ice and water out the door.


Sent from my iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum
You will not regret the changeover!!
__________________
Dave and Laura & two cats
02 Discovery with Accord toad
retired auto rv tech and teacher, wife rt nurse
stink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2015, 12:23 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Papa_Jim's Avatar
 
Outdoors RV Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manitoba,Canada
Posts: 2,786
My grand kids know if they can't behave properly, they can't spend time in our coach. Our Norcold never learned that lesson, so guess what?

Jim
__________________
2016 Creekside 23RKS
2012 Ram 2500 Laramie 4X4 Cummins 6.7L
Canada, eh?
Papa_Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2015, 06:01 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
K7JV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,423
Getting back to your question, the Norcold will not operate on the inverter for its cooling function. The only inverter input to the Norcold is for the ice maker, if you have one. So when shore power or generator power is not available, it will have to operate on propane.

On ours, we can select gas, electric or "Auto". Auto is where we keep it. In that mode, if AC is available, it will run on AC. If it is not, it will automatically change over to LP and will not give an alarm. It just works.

As for the conversion, our Norcold has given us (knock on wood) 9 Ĺ years of excellent service. True, the freezer temps aren't the greatest for ice cream, but it has been a great unit, overall. I'm sure its day is coming, however. I'd love to have a residential unit in place.
__________________
Jim & Angie, Boise, ID
2006 Monaco Dynasty Countess III
2017 GMC Acadia Denali
K7JV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2015, 10:11 AM   #7
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 40,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by K7JV View Post
Getting back to your question, the Norcold will not operate on the inverter for its cooling function. The only inverter input to the Norcold is for the ice maker, if you have one. So when shore power or generator power is not available, it will have to operate on propane.

On ours, we can select gas, electric or "Auto". Auto is where we keep it. In that mode, if AC is available, it will run on AC. If it is not, it will automatically change over to LP and will not give an alarm. It just works.

As for the conversion, our Norcold has given us (knock on wood) 9 Ĺ years of excellent service. True, the freezer temps aren't the greatest for ice cream, but it has been a great unit, overall. I'm sure its day is coming, however. I'd love to have a residential unit in place.
Jim, I just moved the AC cord to the outlet that works on the inverter! We use the fridge on inverter power all the time when traveling! Of course, you must have an inverter large enough to take the load!
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2015, 01:27 PM   #8
Member
 
heavyhauler's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cold Lake Alberta
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSHappyCampers View Post
Jim, I just moved the AC cord to the outlet that works on the inverter! We use the fridge on inverter power all the time when traveling! Of course, you must have an inverter large enough to take the load!
i might have to do that, seems to only throw error codes ( Re code now) when the MH is running. ?? i just changed my battery isolator, i wonder if there is any connection???
__________________
2001 Monaco Dynasty Regent w/tag
2006 Hummer H3
Blue Ox towbar, Patriot braking system
heavyhauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2015, 01:47 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
DtBt's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Saint Leonard,MD
Posts: 747
My Norcold in my 99 Windsor would throw "AC HI" faults on inverter. It seems the sensor circuit in the controller was sensitive to the trapezoidal waveform from the inverter.
__________________
2005 Safari Panther Diamond IV Cat C13
2013 Avalanche Toad
DtBt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2015, 02:56 PM   #10
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 40,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by DtBt View Post
My Norcold in my 99 Windsor would throw "AC HI" faults on inverter. It seems the sensor circuit in the controller was sensitive to the trapezoidal waveform from the inverter.

Mine does that too but I just ignore it and it goes away!
__________________

MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
norcold, fridge



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Norcold 983 Fridge zekeb Monaco Owner's Forum 1 02-11-2015 04:52 PM
Update on my Residential Fridge Retrofit Gadget Man RV Systems & Appliances 11 12-03-2014 06:34 PM
Norcold fridge...need help Deucenut Class A Motorhome Discussions 53 08-06-2014 01:43 PM
Door handle on Norcold 1200 fridge Suncruiser Ron RV Systems & Appliances 1 01-22-2014 12:01 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×