Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-22-2021, 07:45 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Independence,LA
Posts: 183
Over air channels

How do I switch from satellite to over the air channels
sdagro is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-22-2021, 08:08 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 1,958
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdagro View Post
How do I switch from satellite to over the air channels
My current MH has both a satellite dish and a conventional RV antenna.

Never used the satellite dish.

If I wanted over the air channels which I do not, I would use my fire stick.
__________________
Kit & Rita (in memory)
37 foot Ď98 HolidayRambler Endeavor diesel pusher
followingsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2021, 09:26 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Jetskier50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 194
They are usually on different inputs on the TV. Not a switch on the coach. They only switch we have like that switches from the roof OTA antenna and the cable connection in the wet bay for incoming cable from the RV park hook ups.

I hope that doesn't confuse you.
__________________
Brian

2007 Signature Noble III 45' ISX 600 HP, Allison 4000
Jetskier50 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2021, 07:15 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,967
My coach has the BOMB (box of many buttons), it controls the inputs to each of the TV's
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2021, 07:32 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
robertj1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 203
You need to change the "input" of the TV to Air or Tuner. You should be able to do that from the remote. The button you are looking for should say "input" or "source". You should then make sure you are not on the "cable" selection as that only works when a coax cable is connected somewhere to the coach (usually in the water connection area but could be anywhere). Many campgrounds have cable you can connect to. If you have an external antenna mounted on the coach which I am assuming you do, it is most likely has a button somewhere in the coach you can press to amplify the signal. On mine the button is located in a cabinet with the other audio equipment (dvd player etc). When the small button is pressed, a light comes on to indicate the "amplified" signal is being sent to the TV from the antenna. If this button is pressed when trying to use the "cable" mode, it will degrade the reception of any cable signal so make sure you only use the amplified setting when using the antenna (broadcast over the air stations). Your TV most likely has a search/scan mode to find the broadcast channels. On mine, I have to go to "setup" on the TV which is located after pressing "menu" on the remote and select "search" to find the channels that are within range.
I recommend you find the owners manual for the TV you have either "on line" or somewhere in the coach or get someone who has done this before to help because the process is easy once you have done it a time or two. Different TV models can have slightly different procedures.
It would also be helpful to know the year and coach model/brand of TV etc as others probably have a similar setup.
__________________
Robert and Marisa
2012 Monaco Knight 40 DFT
2012 Jeep Rubicon
robertj1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2021, 07:34 AM   #6
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 9,669
RV Manufacturer
Newmar
RV Model
Dutch Star 4369
RV Year
2015

I would highly recommend finding the owners manual. They can hide things deeply buried.

Once you figure out how to switch the input to the tv from the satellite you will need to have the tv scan for channels of course.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
400 Isl, 400 HP/// Now 450 HP
2016 Ford F150 Limited V6 with Ready Brake
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2021, 10:56 AM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 20,571
Blog Entries: 21
It can be very confusing on an older RV depending on how the previous owners set up the TV and satellite. If you have a more recent TV and the satellite receiver is connected by HDMI or AV input, you will have to go to the menu on the TV and select the correct source as TV or Antenna.

Ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2021, 02:15 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
ArtJoyce's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Thornville, Ohio
Posts: 1,497
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacwjames View Post
My coach has the BOMB (box of many buttons), it controls the inputs to each of the TV's
That is what we had. I removed it now if I want to change inputs I have to change the input cable. In 30+ years of camping I have used cable less than 3 times. We have the bat ears with the uhf element. We use the TV about every 5 days camping.

We get great reception from the bat ears with the amp on.
__________________
Art & Joyce
Thornville, OH
35' DP Endeavor being pushed by a Kia Soul
ArtJoyce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2021, 09:49 AM   #9
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 9,669
I tossed mine many years ago.

There are some much simpler and reliable switches available. I have a switch to select between the roof dish and a portable one. It's a very simple device.

Disconnecting cables is a recipe for a broken connector. Of course with the frequency you are doing it and your awareness of the possible issue it is a fine solution. When we travel full time it is a pain to change the setup so frequently for use.

I bet my arms have been inside that entertainment center more than 40 hours over the years. Lots of changes.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
400 Isl, 400 HP/// Now 450 HP
2016 Ford F150 Limited V6 with Ready Brake
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Over air Channels on bedroom TV skypilot 5th Wheel Discussion 5 08-07-2021 11:02 PM
Over the air channels Vistacruise Camping Locations, Plans & Trip Reports 3 05-12-2016 12:04 PM
Limiting over the air TV channels 1ciderdog Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 10 06-26-2015 01:06 AM
45 channels on th roof antenna from the air NEILSJEWEL Newmar Owner's Forum 2 02-24-2008 06:47 AM
When is over weight really over weight melon Toy Haulers Discussion 24 01-11-2007 06:35 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.