RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-02-2020, 09:37 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 47
Overvoltage coming from the inverter

Hi All;


2005 Cayman, purchased within the last month. I'm just getting used to it, and getting it road-worthy.


My current issue is that when I turn on the inverter on the control panel a volt-meter plugged into a socket reports 120+ volts. The GFCI outlet in the bathroom trips and I lose everything downstream of that.


All the batteries were replaced about a week ago, and I don't know if I was on inverter power since then or not.


Where do I start looking ?


TIA,


Davd
IWander is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-02-2020, 10:28 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 83
120v does not sound that out of range to me. The GFCI should not trip just based on the voltage...it is sensing a loss of power to ground. In other words, if the white wire is not returning what the black wire is sending, then there is a loss to ground somewhere...and that is what the GFCI trips for. Not voltage, unless the unit is also a surge protector.

Does the GFCI trip under shore or generator power?
Cj D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2020, 10:36 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cj D View Post
120v does not sound that out of range to me. The GFCI should not trip just based on the voltage...it is sensing a loss of power to ground. In other words, if the white wire is not returning what the black wire is sending, then there is a loss to ground somewhere...and that is what the GFCI trips for. Not voltage, unless the unit is also a surge protector.

Does the GFCI trip under shore or generator power?



<sigh>


120V is a typo, the plug in voltmeter reads 130+, it's kind of pinned to the end, not 120V.


The outlet is new and works fine with the genset running or on shore power. The only issue is with the inverter.
IWander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2020, 10:41 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 24,773
Did the inverter work correctly before replacing batteries ?

Did you replace 6 volt batteries with 12 volt batteries ?

Can you read the DC voltage at the inverter cables ?

Maybe post a picture of your battery cables.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2020, 11:40 AM   #5
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 8,211
Use another voltmeter. Could be modified sine waves peaking out without load
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2016 Ford F150 Limited V6 with Ready Brake
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 02:49 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
JeepTJ5's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 140
I have to agree with YC1. I have a cheap analog plug-in voltmeter I got from CW and it reads really high when my batteries are fully charged and the inverter is on. 130+. Measuring it with a good Fluke multi meter the voltage is right around 120V. Also, when I plug the same analog meter into a Pure Sine Wave inverter, it reads correctly.


If the GCFI outlet is constantly tripping, then either there is something with some kind of ground fault plugged in to one of the outlets that GCFI plug supplies or the outlet is bad. Check all the inverter powered outlets - don't forget the TV and refer ice maker outlets. Remove anything plugged in and see what happens. If it still trips, replace the GCFI. They do go bad.
__________________
34' Holdiay Rambler Neptune
Solar and Jeep
JeepTJ5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Norcold overvoltage and flickering lamps. Hartman2112 RV Systems & Appliances 4 01-07-2018 06:26 PM
Can A Heat Pump Cause Overvoltage? OldNavyGuy Class A Motorhome Discussions 15 03-01-2017 07:04 PM
Onan 2.8: new carb installed, now runs too fast and overvoltage Andy Waddell RV Systems & Appliances 29 05-23-2016 07:42 PM
AM radio static coming from the inverter jamescle Travel Supreme Owner's Forum 2 01-04-2010 10:38 AM
Generator overvoltage olley Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 31 05-04-2009 10:19 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.