RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2020, 01:41 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
mydogmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Cental Texas
Posts: 380
Place to drill hole into cockpit

I need to run wires into the cockpit for my safe t steer trim switch, is there a good place in particular to drill into for two wires? Thanks
__________________
2005 Monaco Windsor, 40 ft single axle.
TRW GB, Watts front and watts x braces rear. 2013 GMC 2500HD toad.
mydogmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-06-2020, 01:47 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Podivin's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 2,955
I'd suggest you follow the wires from your ignition switch and/or dash switches to see how they get out of the cockpit, you may find that you can squeeze a couple of wires in through the same hole.
__________________
2013 Winnebago Sightseer 36V
Podivin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2020, 02:52 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Bryan Tx
Posts: 773
On mine there is a bundle of wires that go from the fwd elec bay on the side in front of the tire into the area on the side where I have a bunch of switches, shifter, parking brake ect. From there you can go anywhere. Would be interesting to know how you like th safe steer with the elec trim
__________________
“06” Beaver Patriot Thunder , 525 HP C13 Cat
MH 4000 Allison
42 ft Vicksburg, 4 slides
kenwyatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2020, 03:33 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
windsorbill's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: CA
Posts: 3,157
As mentioned, you can trace existing wires. You may have to dig out a little black caulking then fish the wire through the hole.. I noticed Monaco used it to seal up many of the holes throughout the coach. Then easy to seal it back up after your done.
__________________
Bill & Brigitte
06 Windsor PEQ, Cummins 400 ISL
2014 Honda CRV
windsorbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2020, 07:14 PM   #5
Senior Member


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Blairsville, GA & WPB, FL
Posts: 3,593
Send a message via ICQ to Ivylog
I ran the 2 wires for my DIY adjustable mount (for Safe-T-+) as Ken^^^^ posted. Drilled a hole out of the front run box for the 2 wires onto the trailing arms. Mounted the switch on the steering column so I can reach it without looking for it.
__________________
This post is my opinion, worth what you paid for it.
Our ”New” ride...08 HR Navigator 45’. A nice upgrade after 14 years with a 04 Dynasty 42’.
Ivylog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2020, 07:38 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
vito.a's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 4,557
I ran a wire down through the rubber boot plate around the steering shaft. It came out next to another bundle and worked well.
__________________
97 Monaco Windsor- Sold
07 Monaco Executive McKinley- Sold
04 Monaco Signature Chateau IV
vito.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2020, 06:21 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 7,674
I didn't drill a hole but I ran a wire to install another 12 volt plug on the left side of the steering wheel. On the firewall directly in front of the driver there was a large wiring loom run through and then sealed off with the black foam. I simply took a coat hanger, straightened it, put a loop on one end and threaded the wire through it. I then "gently" pushed it through the black foam next to the wiring loom and then pulled the wire through. I needed a 12 volt source and there was a 12 volt lug within a foot of the area that I could tap onto.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ace



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drill hole in exterior wall? parks0412 Palazzo Motorhomes 8 09-16-2019 02:58 AM
Drill, baby, drill !!! jodann Just Conversation 18 02-25-2011 09:36 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.