Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-06-2022, 07:47 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 4
Power issues

I own a 2000 knight shouldn’t all the 110 plugs in the coach work when plugged into 50A shore power?? I’m in the process of changing inverter charger and noticed that a bunch of outlets don’t work with out the inverter hooked up!
MattDodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-06-2022, 08:01 PM   #2
Community Administrator
 
Lt Dan's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 14,940
First off, Welcome to IRV2!

Yes, all outlets should work on shore power. If the non-working outlets are on the inverter, check for pushbutton breakers on the inverter/charger. There should be a 120v pass through feature on the charger when you are on shore power but it's governed by the circuit breakers.
__________________
2017 Phaeton 40IH XSH Maroon Coral - Power Glide Chassis with IFS
Previously '15 Tiffin Allegro RED 38QRA and '06 Itasca Sunrise 35A
'16 Jeep JKU Wrangler Sahara or '08 Honda Goldwing
Lt Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2022, 08:19 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 4
How’s it going so with the inverter out of the picture not hooked up shouldn’t the outlets all work?
MattDodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2022, 08:24 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 21,922
Blog Entries: 21
You may not have all of the outlets connected to the inverter. How many Watts is the inverter rated for?

Ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot, retired mechanical engineer
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2022, 08:35 PM   #5
Community Administrator
 
Lt Dan's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 14,940
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattDodd View Post
How’s it going so with the inverter out of the picture not hooked up shouldn’t the outlets all work?
Not necessarily. Any outlets that are powered by the inverter, shore power has to pass through it. When on shore power, they automatically switch to that and when off shore power they are powered by the inverter.
__________________
2017 Phaeton 40IH XSH Maroon Coral - Power Glide Chassis with IFS
Previously '15 Tiffin Allegro RED 38QRA and '06 Itasca Sunrise 35A
'16 Jeep JKU Wrangler Sahara or '08 Honda Goldwing
Lt Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2022, 09:00 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 26,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattDodd View Post
I own a 2000 knight shouldn’t all the 110 plugs in the coach work when plugged into 50A shore power?? I’m in the process of changing inverter charger and noticed that a bunch of outlets don’t work with out the inverter hooked up!
Normal ; any circuit ( outlet or appliance ) that is powered when the inverter is in use , won't work if the inverter is removed .

These circuits are referred to as " pass through " when the inverter gets shore power, an internal control board switches relays to pass through power to the circuits and starts the charge system.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2022, 09:04 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skip426 View Post
Normal ; any circuit ( outlet or appliance ) that is powered when the inverter is in use , won't work if the inverter is removed .

These circuits are referred to as " pass through " when the inverter gets shore power, an internal control board switches relays to pass through power to the circuits and starts the charge system.
Got it thank you
MattDodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2022, 08:03 AM   #8
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 10,465
Welcome to the forum:

Your question has been answered well.

There are likely relays inside the inverter that switch the path of the power. Your shorline or generator power "passes through" those relays as mentioned already.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
400 Isl, 400 HP/// Now 450 HP
2016 Ford F150 Limited V6 with Ready Brake
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2022, 08:08 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 5,615
Outlets powered by the inverter can get power from EITHER shore power (pass through feature) OR by the inverter "inverting" power from the 12 VDC batteries.


With the inverter removed neither source of 120 VAC is available.
__________________
Brett Wolfe
Ex: 2003 Alpine 38FDDS. Ex: 1997 Safari Sahara. Ex: 1993 Foretravel U240
wolfe10 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2022, 07:19 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Mutt's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 435
Hopefully you have resolved your issue by now. But in the event you haven't, I installed a new inverter a while back that was a little different from the old one I removed. The new one has multiple hot lugs on it, where some worked only on the inverting of power and as a previous post mentioned, one of the lugs was a pass through for both inverting and shore power. So, I had to go back and move my wires around for SP to pass through. I added a separate switch box at the inverter to operate my fridge separately as well. Good luck.
Mutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power gear power leveler issues Badge RV Systems & Appliances 2 10-04-2020 08:24 AM
HVAC power issues on shore power/not with generator Bev_n_Boose Class A Motorhome Discussions 16 07-07-2020 02:40 AM
Power issues, no shore power, no generator power. Only some when engine running Goebs Fleetwood Owner's Forum 13 03-25-2020 07:06 AM
Wrong tires cause other issues?related topic"spring issues" hdwhitten 5th Wheel Discussion 10 12-22-2019 02:26 PM
Shore power power not providing power to air conditioner jjhenley RV Systems & Appliances 6 06-21-2016 09:08 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.