RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-17-2012, 01:03 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
conmoto's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 207
Powering Residential Refer from Inverter

I am going to install a Samsung RF 197 ACRS in our coach and want to use the 2000 watt inverter to power it on occasion. How have you folks accomplished the wire run to the refer area? I am told the current 110 lines to the Norcold are not on the inverter. For you folks that have done this I could use some advice. Thanks!
__________________

__________________
2014 Newmar Canyon Star 3650
2011 Ford Fusion Hybrid
Bill & Sue
conmoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-17-2012, 03:21 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
nodine's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Posts: 3,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by conmoto View Post
I am going to install a Samsung RF 197 ACRS in our coach and want to use the 2000 watt inverter to power it on occasion. How have you folks accomplished the wire run to the refer area? I am told the current 110 lines to the Norcold are not on the inverter. For you folks that have done this I could use some advice. Thanks!
If your Knight is anything like our 2006 Diplomat it has two 110 VAC duplex outlets mounted behind the refer. Go to the outside and remove the refer vent. Look to the left and see if you can't locate two outlets. The one at the top should be marked inverter and is normally used for the ice maker. I have my Samsung plugged into that outlet and the Samsung is powered through the inverter 24/7. Note that I said powered through. As long as you have shore power or generator power the inverter is in stand by. You must make sure you leave the inverter enabled at the control panel all the time. That way as soon as you unplug from the shore power the frig will have power from the inverter. You will also note that you will not have to reset the clock on your microwave all the time.

Now the only caveat to doing this is that many outlets in the coach are powered from that single circuit of the inverter. The microwave is not and has a private circuit from the inverter. Al through I have not yet done it, I plan to put my Samsung on the private circuit and put the microwave on the public circuit. We never run the microwave from the inverter and only use it on the generator or shore power. We have installed outlets in the bath area that we connect to the 20 amp circuit on the pedestal for hair dryer and electric heater use. By doing that we have never had a problem running the Samsung from the inverter circuit that has all the outlets on it. The Samsung is a power miser and uses only about 1.5 amps after the in rush has pased from starting the compressor. I don't have an oscilloscope and current probe at home so have not measured the starting current. I suspect it is far less that the 11 amps stated in the spec.

Good luck with your install and also consider getting your Auto Gen Start updated with new software if you have one. We did on ours so it will not start the generator as long as shore power is available. We leave the Auto Gen Start on 24/7 and when the wife cuts the grass and forgets to plug the coach back in the Gen Start will start the generator and keep the batteries from going flat. The gen start is also a nice feature for our dogs when we leave them in the coach on hot days. If the campground power fails and the inside temp reaches 80 the gen will start and cool the coach back down.

Bob
__________________

__________________
Bob and Pam
2006 Diplomat 40PDQ
2013 Silverado Z71 CrewCab
nodine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 06:24 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Barlow46's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Coast Fl
Posts: 1,220
Also, do a search on modified sine wave inverter vs pure sine wave inverter for your refrigerator. There have been some problems with the electronic boards that control the icemaker when using the modified sine wave inverter.
RV Tech Library - True Sine Wave versus Modified Sine Wave
__________________
2016 Arctic Fox 25Y, 2016 F350 4x4 DRW, 6.7
2008 Mobile Suites RE3: Sold
2005 Monaco Dynasty Diamond IV: Sold
Barlow46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 06:40 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Pusherpilot's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: SD
Posts: 1,022
Ditto what Nodine said!! I simply plugged our 197 into the inverter circuit and it;s been running fine or a year now.
Ron
__________________
2004 HR Imperial
Pusherpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 08:05 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
DennisZ's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Pipe Creek, TX
Posts: 585
I just installed a RF217 in my MH, I also installed a small Xantrex transfer switch. This allows the frig to be powered thru the non-inverter outlet when on shore or generator power, and automatically switch to the inverter if no external power is available. This prevents overloading the inverter circuit if you are using a toaster or coffee pot or any other high load appliance.

Dennis
__________________
Dennis & Debbie Z (Retired) F415847
Pipe Creek, TX
2008 HR Endeavor 40PDQ / 2014 Grand Cherokee / 2015 RAM 1500 Toad
DennisZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 09:30 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
conmoto's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 207
Dennis, would it have been this switch? Xantrex Prowatt SW Inline 15 Amp Transfer Switch
__________________
2014 Newmar Canyon Star 3650
2011 Ford Fusion Hybrid
Bill & Sue
conmoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 04:58 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Barlow46, we are thinking of installing either the Samsung or LG in our '05 Dynasty which appears to be the same as yours, with a different floorplan. Which unit did you use and did you feel replacing the Norcold 1200 was the right move?
rpg963 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 05:06 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Barlow46's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Coast Fl
Posts: 1,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by rpg963 View Post
Barlow46, we are thinking of installing either the Samsung or LG in our '05 Dynasty which appears to be the same as yours, with a different floorplan. Which unit did you use and did you feel replacing the Norcold 1200 was the right move?
WHIRLPOOL Model. GS2SHEXNBOO

However, I didn't replace the Norcold. This was a factory option on my 05 dynasty. This option also required a 3000w inverter and 4 additional house batteries for a total of 8 house batteries. Mine is installed on the driver's side just behind the slide out. It sits across from the kitchen slide out and is accessible with all slides in. It also has the locking door latch and this looks to be factory installed possibly by Whirlpool but not sure about that.
__________________
2016 Arctic Fox 25Y, 2016 F350 4x4 DRW, 6.7
2008 Mobile Suites RE3: Sold
2005 Monaco Dynasty Diamond IV: Sold
Barlow46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 09:28 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Thanks for the response Barlow46.

Pat & Beverly

'05 Dynasty 42
'03 Suburban
rpg963 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 09:35 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
DennisZ's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Pipe Creek, TX
Posts: 585
Conmoto
That is the switch I used, just used double back tape to stick it to the back of the refer in the old access panel area.

Dennis
__________________
Dennis & Debbie Z (Retired) F415847
Pipe Creek, TX
2008 HR Endeavor 40PDQ / 2014 Grand Cherokee / 2015 RAM 1500 Toad
DennisZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 07:26 PM   #11
src
Senior Member
 
src's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 177
auto gen

Hi Nodine, Wear did u get the auto gen start update new software, I have a 2006.
__________________
2006 Endeavor 40 PDQ 400 ISL
src is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 08:04 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
nodine's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Posts: 3,637
Quote:
Originally Posted by src View Post
Hi Nodine, Wear did u get the auto gen start update new software, I have a 2006.
SRC,

Call these folks and they will take care of you. If I remember correctly the cost is $50. They tell you ship the modules to them for updating but they actually sent me new units back.
Products: Remote Controls

Bob
__________________
Bob and Pam
2006 Diplomat 40PDQ
2013 Silverado Z71 CrewCab
nodine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 08:22 PM   #13
WiFiRanger Ambassador
 
docj's Avatar
Official iRV2 Sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6,054
We sort of did what nodine proposes. In our coach the duplex in the fridge area was not on the inverter because otherwise the Norcold would have tried to power itself off the inverter and not propane. Our microwave had a dedicated circuit through the inverter which we never used. So down in the basement we installed a junction box and crossed the two circuits so the fridge now has a dedicated inverter circuit and the microwave does not. This has worked fine for us for 9 months with the same Samsung fridge.
__________________
Joel Weiss--WiFiRanger RV Ambassador
RVParkReviews administrator
2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton CAT C-12
docj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 05:11 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Stan&Jacquie's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Allentown, PA
Posts: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barlow46 View Post
Also, do a search on modified sine wave inverter vs pure sine wave inverter for your refrigerator. There have been some problems with the electronic boards that control the icemaker when using the modified sine wave inverter.
RV Tech Library - True Sine Wave versus Modified Sine Wave
Is this true for the Samsung? Why would they advertise their RF197 would run on modified sign wave if MSW can fry the electronics board?
__________________

__________________
Stan & Jacquie
2007 Monaco Knight DFT 40'
2012 Equinox w/Air Force I, Blue Ox Alpha & Base, 750 Watts Solar.
Stan&Jacquie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×