RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-19-2016, 09:31 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 364
Progressive EMSHC-50a-monitor Location

I just purchased the Progressive EMSHC--50a. Where do most users install the remote monitor. My install is in power cord door which is below the bedroom and hot water heater maybe run the cable up and into the bedroom area? Any other suggestions?
__________________

Hurk is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-19-2016, 02:22 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
RockyMtnRide's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 522
I mounted mine in the electrical bay with the unit and my power reel. I figured I would usually monitor the status during hookups and if later I had a fault I would know it when the coach lights go out.
__________________

__________________
2006 Monaco Diplomat
2017 JKU Sport Toad
and a garage full of Harleys
RockyMtnRide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 02:36 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Selah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,328
I'm with Rocky.... I did not get the remote readout as I want to see it as soon as I plug in. If the transfer switch doesn't engage when I plug in I didn't want to go back into the coach to see why.
__________________
Paul, Kathy, and Tux the Mini Schnauzer
2014 Tiffin Phaeton 42 LH, 2013 Honda CRV
"When the time comes to look back, make sure you'll like what you see"
Selah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 02:58 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Saltydog44's Avatar


 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,172
We have two and can switch between them. I can look at the one in the electric bay and then switch it to the one in the mid-bath so I can see what's heppening without going outside.

You do have to choose one or the other at a time though
__________________
Cheryl and Emerson missing Rascal but loving our new buddy, Winston
Sadly Coachless
2017 Caddy XT6 - Poor substitute for a Cornerstone
Saltydog44 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 04:02 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Selah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2,328
Salty Dog, that is ideal. I didn't know you could have dual read outs.
__________________
Paul, Kathy, and Tux the Mini Schnauzer
2014 Tiffin Phaeton 42 LH, 2013 Honda CRV
"When the time comes to look back, make sure you'll like what you see"
Selah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 05:07 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6,597
I initially mounted the monitor in the bay where I store the electrical cord. I have a large deep draw the holds the power cords and connectors so it is open while I am hooking up. When I plug in I can monitor the quality of the power as the Progressive does it work. That works fine but I like to know whats going on all the time so I bought the 2nd monitor and mounted in the bathroom where I can ponder on the power readings several times a day.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 06:26 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
onechaddude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,862
I have 2 monitor readouts. I have 1 in electrical bay so I can see as soon as I'm plugging in. The other I mounted in my closet directly above electrical bay so I can see anytime I'm inside. That way I can easily glance it over after returning from being out and check to see if there was a power problem.

Chad
onechaddude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 07:10 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 364
I take it comes with one monitor however there is a plug in for 2? Then you have to order a second one?
Hurk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 07:24 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 6,597
Yes it comes with one monitor but they offer a remote display that comes with a selector module. Here's a link

Progressive Industries RV Surge and Electrical Protection industry lea

Here's an Ebay listing at a better price
Progressive Industries EMS-RDS EMS Extra Digital Remote | eBay
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 07:28 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
onechaddude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,862
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hurk View Post
I take it comes with one monitor however there is a plug in for 2? Then you have to order a second one?
Hurk, IIRC, you order a kit that has the second readout. It has a switch to click for which readout you want to display. It will only readout on one display at a time. Works really great for me.

Chad
onechaddude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 07:39 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 364
Thanks guys. eBay link $75! It would be nice for second monitor but for $ one should work. I think I will just secure monitor in electrical bay.
Hurk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2016, 08:17 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 364
Received my EMS HW50 all appears to be in order. Install looks pretty easy. My only issue is that I won't be able to test it until my first hookup to 50 amp pedestal. I'm a bit concerned that if the part is faulty I will be without shore power until my final destination and get fixed. I'm heading to Palm Springs for 3 months so might wait until I'm there before I do install. We shall see"
Hurk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2016, 06:59 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
RockyMtnRide's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 522
Hurt
A 50 amp connection isn't necessary. The unit will monitor any incoming voltage and current. I installed mine where I park my coach in storage. Only have a 120v 15 amp service to trickle charge my batteries; monitor works great, showing voltage and current for both legs even though they are in essence tied together. If it is easier for you to install now I would go for it.
Doug
__________________
2006 Monaco Diplomat
2017 JKU Sport Toad
and a garage full of Harleys
RockyMtnRide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2016, 10:53 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 364
Thanks Doug. I have access to 15 amp but I don't have a converter for my plug in for 15 amp only 30 and 50! I'll probably go ahead and do the install I'm comfortable there won't be a problem. Thanks
__________________

Hurk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cat, ems



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Progressive industries 50A hard wired surge protector remote display Jeff753 RV Systems & Appliances 18 07-24-2014 08:14 AM
50A RV to 50A Welder dogbone Ramblin iRV2.com General Discussion 17 08-04-2013 12:05 PM
Progressive 50a problem? firedoc RV Systems & Appliances 3 01-20-2013 11:13 AM
TRUE 50a vs BOGUS 50a AFChap MH-General Discussions & Problems 18 08-02-2010 08:26 PM
Progressive HW50C with 50A Autoformer Robin_M Monaco Owner's Forum 4 11-20-2007 08:00 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×