Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 05-27-2015, 08:19 PM   #1

Monaco Owners Club
Put in an offer on 2000 Diplomat 40D

I am new to RV-ing. Looking for some advice.

Any RV inspection suggestions in the Cincinnati area?

We are looking at a 2000 Diplomat 40ft dual slide.

It has the Cummins 315 and Allison.

103K miles, 900hrs on the Onan 7.5Kw

The exterior isn't in pristine shape. There is some corrosion on the floor sub frames underneath, however it appears to be more superficial than anything else, paint flaking, not metal/rust flaking. I'm assuming this isn't serious but will have it inspected. Bottom of propane tank is rust colored, but again not pitted or flaking metal

Known Issues:

1.) Dash blower motor only works on high (Blower motor resistor)
2.) Dash AC doesn't blow cold (Litany of items to check, will be inspected)
3.) Unknown maintenance history for last 3 years as owner performed oil changes
4.) Passenger side windshield cracked and needs replaced and is sometime pulled from cab
5.) Driver side windshield looks like it pulls from cab at certain angles as well
6.) Steering had a little bit of creak/groan type noise near full lock. I'm thinking this could be a chassis lube issue, but hopefully will be covered at inspection.
7.) Starter batteries need to be replaced