Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2017, 07:10 PM   #1
Member
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Runaway Bay, TX
Posts: 57
Racor 790R30 Priming

I'm sure that this has been covered before, but didn't find this specific question so I'll ask it here.

As I'm just now starting to mess with all the filter changes on my new-to-us 2005 Navigator (Detroit Diesel Series 60) - and I've noticed that the pre-filter and primary filter that my owner's manual refers to is not the Racor 790R30 - so I'm assuming that a previous owner replaced the factory filter with this Racor?

So the question is, when I change the filter, since I'm not seeing a Shrader Valve (as the manual refers to), is there anything in particular I'm supposed to do when pushing the prime button on the control panel?

Thanks for any help.
CatchinRays is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-11-2017, 02:42 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
foretexas's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 135
My Racor has an electric primer with a remote button.


Name:   IMG_4776.JPG
Views: 314
Size:  35.3 KB

I believe that filter assembly is also available as a manual prime and would have a knob on the side of it.
__________________
2020 Smittybilt
Scout Trailer
w/XL RTT
foretexas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2017, 04:19 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
djhinds's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Golden, Colorado
Posts: 818
The original Racor priming pump on our Monaco's had a design flaw. It had a solenoid that would open up and drain any water in the bowl. Mine just opened up by it self and allowed the engine to suck up air into the injectors, coasted to a stop. A referral from Mike Canter suggested I replace it with the 790R30 and I did. It was a plug and play exchange. There IS a Schrader valve on top, turn key on, depress the valve core and push prime button. You will hear the pump start and fill filters. I ALWAYS install my filters empty. I install primary first and prime it, start engine and run for a while, then replace secondary filter empty and prime it for about 30 sec after the pump tone changes to pressurize the fuel system. It has always worked, no chance of getting dirty fuel into the engine this way. Donaldson also sells a primary filter with a clear bowl and drain on the bottom. 40,000 miles driven from coast to coast and NEVER have I had any water in the fuel. I always buy fuel at high volume fuel stations.

Good Luck
Dave
__________________
2004 Monaco Signature with a Detroit 60, Vorad Radar, Samsung Fridge, Induction cook top, 2020 GMC Denali
djhinds is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2017, 05:49 AM   #4
Member
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Runaway Bay, TX
Posts: 57
Is there any way you can post a pic of the Shrader valve on the Racor? Just looking briefly I'm not seeing a valve to depress on the top while pushing the primer button. Thanks for the help.
CatchinRays is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2017, 12:45 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
djhinds's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Golden, Colorado
Posts: 818
Here is what mine looks like, it has a valve core cap on it. Just depress the valve core and push button till fuel comes out then release valve core and keep button pressed for another 20/30 seconds..


Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2991 (002).jpg
Views:	79
Size:	244.0 KB
ID:	158029

Good luck
Dave
__________________
2004 Monaco Signature with a Detroit 60, Vorad Radar, Samsung Fridge, Induction cook top, 2020 GMC Denali
djhinds is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Racor 790R30 Filter install. Topman Monaco Owner's Forum 6 02-20-2014 03:26 PM
Racor Fuel Filter/Water Separator Papa_Jim Monaco Owner's Forum 3 04-27-2012 08:49 AM
Racor B32001T Question Coma Monaco Owner's Forum 3 06-21-2011 11:55 AM
Parker-Racor fuel/water separator lonestarace MH-General Discussions & Problems 2 03-04-2010 07:53 AM
Need help with the Winn/Racor fuel water separator Bob&AnnaMari Monaco Owner's Forum 10 02-08-2010 09:36 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.