Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-04-2017, 09:52 PM   #1

Ran out of diesel

I've had my 2008 Monaco Diplomat w/ 400 Cummins 8 months, so I'm still learning. On a 440 mile trip (220 each way) I ran out of diesel on the return leg. I didn't fill up at the destination because only two mini-marts had diesel so I planned to fill up at a truck stop on the way back at around the 350 mile point. That didn't work! I ran out of fuel 30 miles from my planned refueling point. With a supposed 100 gallon tank that means I got 3.2 mpg. Even though 1/2 of the trip was thru the Cascade Mountain pass each way I kind of expected 5 to 6 mpg. At 5 mpg, a 500 mile range would leave me with a fairly good cushion.

Food for thought: The fuel gauge read just under 1/2 tank. The service station brought me 20 gallons of diesel and when I fueled up (about 30 miles down the road) I could only put in another 40 gallons of diesel. And the fuel gauge now showed full just like it did when I started out. PS, ran the generator only about 1 hour on the way back.