Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2019, 07:51 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Michbill's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Clinton Twp , MI
Posts: 125
Rear Camera and housing

Hi all, This is Mich Bill.
We have a 2009 Monaco Dynasty Regal IV built 5/2008 in Oregon. It has a camera system consisting of four cameras. Inside, two side and one rear. A rotating selection switch accesses all. My rear camera is not working. I get a blank screen with the words no signal. I climbed up to look at it, and there is housing around it. It looks like you can pop the housing off, but when I tried, it seems that is not correct. I could pry about the thickness of the screwdriver, but that was it. It seemed like it was held by a spring.
I have two questions:
1. Does anyone know how to get the housing off?
2. Does anyone know what the replacement camera would be?
Thank you
Bill
Michbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-22-2019, 08:00 AM   #2
Member
 
s@ndm@n's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Moopark, CA
Posts: 95
Wow, i was literally about to ask the same question today. My camera works, but is stuck in the farthest "rotation up" point. I spent about 10 minutes trying to get it off the other day, but it was raining and gave up.
__________________
2008 Monaco Camelot 36PDQ
ISL400, Allison 3000
1997 Toyota LandCruiser FZJ80
s@ndm@n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 10:16 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Jetskier50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 173
For a replacement try RV cams in Baton Rouge. That's where I got one for our 07 Signature.

Maybe post some pictures of the housing,
__________________
Brian

2007 Signature Noble III 45' ISX 600 HP
Jetskier50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2019, 06:37 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 36
I have an '09 Dynasty and was able to access the rear camera by going into the rear closet and found that there is a access panel there....removed the screws and was able to access the rear of the camera from inside of the closet.

Hope this helps.
Gary LS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2019, 03:28 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Michbill's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Clinton Twp , MI
Posts: 125
rear camera

Thank you all .Gary LS you are right. My camera is accessed by a panel in the rear closet. I will get in there and check the camera and order from RVCams.com. Tim from there has a 07 HR and suggested the closet.

Thanks Bill
Michbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 02:43 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 18
Camera Housing Removal

OK, I know how to get to it inside but how do you get it out? It looks like it may be glued in with about a 1/2 tube of Dicor. Before I start cutting and prying, am I correct?
THANKS in advance...
stockcar57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 06:18 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Rodg495's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 490
Another source is Tadibrothers.com
Rodg495 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 07:06 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Stajones's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: FullTimers
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by stockcar57 View Post
OK, I know how to get to it inside but how do you get it out? It looks like it may be glued in with about a 1/2 tube of Dicor. Before I start cutting and prying, am I correct?
THANKS in advance...


I have a ‘98 HR Imperial and I replaced the rear camera (plus added sides and forward) when I did it.
Yes - the rear camera was indeed mounted with a “dicor type” product.
Wiring was accessible from inside - as I’m pretty sure most coaches (should) be.
The camera itself should be accessible behind something that is removable from the outside. On mine, you have to remove a rather large (apx 2’ x 3’) panel that includes the “see through” plexiglass. Then, there’s another panel within that cavity/space that houses the camera itself, which is (as mentioned) secured with a rather stubborn sealant.
My cable from front to back was a beast - 8 twisted pars and 4 double shielded pairs!
If I were to do it again, I would add some sort of condensate compensation (fan or heater) to that aforementioned cavity...utilizing some of that spare wiring!
__________________
Stan & Deb
'98 HR Imperial 40WS, Can-Am Spyder & Prius on platform tow dolly
Stajones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 11:58 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 18
Thanks !!!

That's what I thought but in case I was wrong I didn't want to make a mess of things. THANKS again.
stockcar57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2019, 06:32 AM   #10
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 8,991
Before you spend money on a camera did you swap input leads to the monitor? It could be as simple as no power getting to the camera.

I have a 2008 Endeavor and the original housing was sealed around the edges and it took some careful cutting with a razor to free it up. There is two obvious screws on my housing that hold it in place too.

That said, my camer tilted down far enough to read my license plate or nearly it seemed. It would not look past the rear of my toad so changing lanes had to rely on mirrors only and a quick moving passer could sneak up in a glance.

The mount had to be modified inside but now it looks back and can see as far as the horizon. Much better and it still will look down to see the hitch if needed.

Happy trails.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
400 Isl, 400 HP/// Now 450 HP
2016 Ford F150 Limited V6 with Ready Brake
YC1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2019, 08:35 PM   #11
Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Arizona
Posts: 82
Hey Bill,


Is it a Sony Camera?
__________________
Brian
2003 40' Sig Centurion
Bsmiddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2019, 12:40 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary LS View Post
I have an '09 Dynasty and was able to access the rear camera by going into the rear closet and found that there is a access panel there....removed the screws and was able to access the rear of the camera from inside of the closet.

Hope this helps.
Hi Gary,
My 2003 Sig does not have access to the camera from the closet. There is a large piece of cedar that runs along the back wall. Just thought it would be easy for someone to search this if their coach is not available.
__________________
2003 Monaco Signature Baroness
Moira is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2019, 04:29 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Michbill's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Clinton Twp , MI
Posts: 125
rear cameraa

This is MIBILL.
Yesterday, I went into the dashboard via the access panel. There I found a box that controls all the cameras. I swapped out the cable for the back with one of the side and the camera worked. So not a bad camera. I then plugged the rear back into its port and it worked. I guess the cable was loose or dirty and removing and inserting took care of it. I now have a rear camera. Thanks all for your help. Bill
Michbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
camera



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GPS/Side camera/Rear Camera DIY? Ogre Monaco Owner's Forum 2 05-08-2017 06:51 PM
Replacing/upgrading back up camera system - rear camera removal? ScottRussell Class A Motorhome Discussions 5 07-07-2014 06:57 AM
Rear camera change out inside a housing Geneandea Monaco Owner's Forum 13 05-22-2013 01:13 PM
Anyone ever removed the bedroom radio and housing in 03 Journey? Kelm130 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 1 02-11-2013 07:33 PM
leak at rear of transmission housing txdutt Allison Transmission Forum 0 05-30-2011 08:06 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.