Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-17-2022, 08:15 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
broadrun's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 703
Replacing A/C Unit on roof

Good afternoon all, and Happy Easter.

I haven't posted in a long while here and hope all are well. My 2001 HR Endeavor has 2 AC Units and want to replace the front one with a ductless unit. We don't travel with the MH anymore as I now telework 100% of the time and it has become my permanent home office. Over the years, mice have gotten into the ductwork and I don't need more want to have air blowing into the living area from the ducts.

My basic questions are:

1) would the new install just fit over the current hole cut for the existing unit. Assume I'd just tap into the AC Power that is already there.

2) any recommendations for a good ductless unit.

Thanks in advance.
broadrun is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-17-2022, 08:29 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
lonfu's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Kingman Az
Posts: 1,489
yes, should cover the 14x14 inch hole in the roof, but you will have to change out the ceiling by cutting hole in it.
__________________
May your black water hose never break!
lonfu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2022, 08:38 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Podivin's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 3,516
They all use the same 14 X 14 roof opening, and yes you'll reuse the existing 120 volt power lines. I replace the rear AC in my RV with the ducted version of this and like the way it works. https://www.recpro.com/rv-air-condit...ith-heat-pump/

They ship these units with everything you need, pull out the old unit, put in the new one, and you're set. The hardest part of the install for me was actually getting them on and off the roof, the installation was very straightforward.
__________________
2013 Winnebago Sightseer 36V
Podivin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2022, 09:10 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Plantation, Fl
Posts: 1,757
Assuming your existing AC unit is in good condition, you could block off the ducts and replace the inside ducted ceiling package with the proper non ducted ceiling package. It would certainly be a lot easier and cheaper. The AC units which sit on the roof are the same with the only difference being a ducted or non ducted inside ceiling package.
__________________
2014 Itasca Spirit 31K
2016 Mazda CX5, on an Acme tow dolly, 4 trips 5800mi
Now 2017 RWD F 150 with a drive shaft disconnect
Mich F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2022, 10:29 AM   #5
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 50,925
You didn't say what make A/C units you have now and what you plan to install. What do you plan to do about the thermostat?
__________________
Joe & Annette
Sometimes I sits and thinks, sometimes I just sits.....
2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2022, 10:52 AM   #6
Member
 
2Yoopers's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 99
Yes, the new unit will fit in the same hole, 14x14 inches.
If you purchase a new unit, you would also purchase the inside distribution box with manual controls. This will include a filter and a on/off switch, fan speed and manual thermostat knob.
Hook up the power lines to the new unit.
If your existing thermostat controls your furnace you may have to wire it differently if it uses the old air conditioners control board. If not you would be all set. As mentioned earlier getting the unit on the roof and the old one off is the hardest part.
__________________
Doug & Shannan
2007 Beaver Contessa
2Yoopers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2022, 05:13 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
broadrun's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 703
Thanks for the information everyone.

Hadn't considered just blocking off duct path and installing ductless kit. Both units are in good shape so that would be the cheapest way to go.

Thanks again.
broadrun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2022, 07:16 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
RamiDav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Yoopers View Post
Yes, the new unit will fit in the same hole, 14x14 inches.
If you purchase a new unit, you would also purchase the inside distribution box with manual controls. This will include a filter and a on/off switch, fan speed and manual thermostat knob.
Hook up the power lines to the new unit.
If your existing thermostat controls your furnace you may have to wire it differently if it uses the old air conditioners control board. If not you would be all set. As mentioned earlier getting the unit on the roof and the old one off is the hardest part.


You could install one in place of your ceiling exhaust fan, they also use a 14 x 14-inch opening. A short run of 120v wire could run from the old unit thru the duct to the new unit.

I used long 2x4 boards leaned up to the roof then pulled mine up
using a rope, I put the old one in the box and let it down.

Ray & Marilyn
03 Windsor
RamiDav is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
roof



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing roof A/C unit, what seal to keep out water and rain? rockwind RV Systems & Appliances 4 03-18-2022 08:32 AM
Replacing Penguin A/C unit with Brisk II unit Troady77 RV Systems & Appliances 29 03-12-2022 02:04 PM
Replacing Dometic Heat Pump-A/C Roof Unit Keith55 Class A Motorhome Discussions 14 09-08-2020 12:42 PM
RV Roof air unit replace with home Depot window unit ? 444 RV Systems & Appliances 15 04-29-2020 08:06 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.