Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-27-2021, 12:52 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,942
Replacing A/C units

So my coach is ~+19 years old and pretty much decided to keep it, it has been pretty dependable, I pretty much know the in/outs of it after owning it for ~13 years. Know that I've maintained it, that's not saying something ain't going to break but it's paid for.

I replaced the motor in the front AC ~6 years ago and it is performing pretty good. The rear AC needs some TLC but parts are pretty much none existent. I was going to buy a new motor for it but none are available.

So now I'm thinking it might be time to replace both AC's and the thermostat. Still not sure whether to go with a heat pump or not, I don't recall every using the heat pump, my wife has only used it a couple times. We do have a furnace. Both of our current units are Dometic 13.5K BTU's but I'd like to upgrade to the 15K BTU units



So for those of you who have replaced the AC units what did you buy and install. Where did you get them??
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-27-2021, 01:36 PM   #2
Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Texas
Posts: 62
I currently have Coleman Mach 15 A/Cs. They have new motors for them here https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/...?ie=UTF8&psc=1 if that will fit the 13.5. Here is the Amazon link for new ones.

https://smile.amazon.com/Coleman-Pow...%2C1053&sr=1-2
__________________
2004 Monaco Knight 34 PDD
John24RLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2021, 02:04 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 1,937
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacwjames View Post
...... The rear AC needs some TLC but parts are pretty much none existent. I was going to buy a new motor for it but none are available.

......
Have you considered getting the motor rewound? Ask around there is likely a local shop.

Might be better than a made in China new motor.

I do not know how your bedroom is set up. I have a pocket door and can cool just the br. I also replace the vent cover making it non-ducted with local control and thermostat.

A bigger unit in the br will likely result in more cycling.
__________________
Kit & Rita (in memory)
37 foot Ď98 HolidayRambler Endeavor diesel pusher
followingsea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2021, 02:37 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
RustyTools's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,148
Not sure which motor you have, Jim, but I just replaced am OEM fan motor ( {Amazon} DOMETIC 3310424000 Fan Motor Kit) on on my '08 Camelot. Parts list implies they are pretty much 'universal'.
__________________
2008 Camelot 40í PDQ
RustyTools is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2021, 03:35 PM   #5
Member
 
00zx6r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 54
We are in a similar situation Jim and decided to replace both with Dometic Penguin 15k with heat pump, I also purchased Micro air thermostat B/T Wifi and one of the 10 button Dometic thermostat for the bedroom, however I haven't have time to install it and will be install soon.
I purchased the AC units from PPL motorhome with discounted price and it still on sale now.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1123.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	150.9 KB
ID:	347379  
__________________
1999 H/R Navigator ISM
Toad 2002 Tundra Mid Travel
00zx6r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2021, 05:14 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,942
The motor itself seems to be OK, I need to replace the rubber grommets that support the motor, these were shot causing the AC unit to make a bunch of noise.

The problem is pretty much all the parts on my AC units are not in stock and/or obsolete. I spent several hours searching for the motor without any luck.

I took the motor and condensor wheel and sheetmetal out. I wasn't going to tear it all the way out but one of the small bolts for the grommet was sieized, ended up having to take the condensor blower off and the sheetmetal off the motor to be able to work on it. I was able to get the blower wheel off the motor but it was a chore. I was going to ahead and get a new blower wheel but there were none in stock anywhere.


It looks like long term I need to replace both AC units so looking for options.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2021, 05:33 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by 00zx6r View Post
We are in a similar situation Jim and decided to replace both with Dometic Penguin 15k with heat pump, I also purchased Micro air thermostat B/T Wifi and one of the 10 button Dometic thermostat for the bedroom, however I haven't have time to install it and will be install soon.
I purchased the AC units from PPL motorhome with discounted price and it still on sale now.

I just got off the phone with PPL, they have what I need in stock

https://www.pplmotorhomes.com/parts/...-_651816HXX1C0
Recommended the 10 button thermostat also. Pirces look good. Going to sleep on it tonight.



Anyone else have any suggestions???
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2021, 05:51 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
docj's Avatar


Official iRV2 Sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7,530
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacwjames View Post
So now I'm thinking it might be time to replace both AC's and the thermostat. Still not sure whether to go with a heat pump or not, I don't recall every using the heat pump, my wife has only used it a couple times. We do have a furnace. Both of our current units are Dometic 13.5K BTU's but I'd like to upgrade to the 15K BTU units
Last year we replaced a pair of 20 year-old 13k BTU Dometic Penguins with 15k BTU Coleman Mach 8+ heat pumps. We spend our winter in coastal TX and the heat pumps are all we need unless the temp goes <35 degrees. The A/Cs draw ~12-14 amps each compared to the ~16 amps that the old ones drew.
__________________
Joel (AKA docj)--
RV Technology Specialist
docj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2021, 06:06 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Meshoppen, PA
Posts: 1,226
depending on what you are doing, camping in park, long stay, traveler...

Research the new colemans, the heat pump units are nice,, i went opposite 15K to 13.5 pills a tad less amps, cools as well as my old unit..

Some of the newer units have soft starts etc,, This can help with load shed and load pulling in some parks when it gets busy..

As many have said replace some motors etc,, I did a fan motor with an oem unit.. about 3 years ago, then some compressor capacitors. and a hot start bandaide. then i had to keep turning thermostat last year to keep it cool.. I spend about $215 and 4 trips on the roof...

I got a good deal before the shortages,, 515 for the unit, new control plate and heat strip was about $100,, it will out last me now..
sibe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2021, 06:06 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Farmington Hills, Michigan
Posts: 411
I got a new motor for my front unit in the spring from Dyers. Received it in 10 days.

The previous owner got a new rear AC from eBay several years ago. It was supposed to be the heat pump version but was not. And did not want to go thru the trouble to return it. So he had to change the circuit board or something so it would work with the front unit and thermostat.

Couple of things we've noticed is the heat pump is quite a bit noisier when we are watching TV and the heat distribution not as even as from the furnace. So we don't plan to use the heat pump as long as the furnace works.
__________________
2004 Holiday Rambler Imperial 40PKD, Cummins ISL 400
Lowflyer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2021, 10:20 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
garage man's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Rogue Valley, Southern Oregon
Posts: 116
I have a 93 Monaco which I bought 4 months ago. The AC's both worked but the front was losing the roof top cover and neither unit cooled real well. According to serial numbers both unit were more than 15 years old. I just replace the front unit myself with a Dometic Brisk II 13. 5 unit. I bought a kit that included a control unit, 4 mounting bolts, a harness connector and a Dometic digital thermostat. Total for both was under $750. I did the install following the wiring guide inside the cover for the control box and it works perfectly.
I did not want the heat pump because I hope to avoid really cold weather and the furnace is quiet.
I should say the model I chose was partly becasue it would work with my ducted set up.

Good luck to you.
__________________
Hitting the road from Oregon
1993 Monaco Crown Royal 40'
The "Gentle Giant"
garage man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2021, 11:53 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
rvtips's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Martinez,CA
Posts: 559
Quote:
Originally Posted by followingsea View Post
Have you considered getting the motor rewound? Ask around there is likely a local shop.

Might be better than a made in China new motor.

I do not know how your bedroom is set up. I have a pocket door and can cool just the br. I also replace the vent cover making it non-ducted with local control and thermostat.

A bigger unit in the br will likely result in more cycling.
=============================================
Where did you get the [ vent cover ] and do you have a picture of it?
__________________
Our Rig
Phil and Joyce 2003 Safari Sahara.
2010 Honda CR-V Same color as the MOHO
rvtips is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2021, 06:02 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
CountryB's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 5,696
Quote:
Originally Posted by docj View Post
Last year we replaced a pair of 20 year-old 13k BTU Dometic Penguins with 15k BTU Coleman Mach 8+ heat pumps. We spend our winter in coastal TX and the heat pumps are all we need unless the temp goes <35 degrees. The A/Cs draw ~12-14 amps each compared to the ~16 amps that the old ones drew.
Do the Coleman units work with the Duo-Therm 5-button controller (or newer style Doemtic thermostats? If you need to use a Coleman thermostat does the existing telephone-like cable that connects the AC to thermostat still work?

Similar question - if going from the old style Duo-Therm with 5-button thermostat to a new Dometic Penguin unit, will the new thermostat use the old telephone-like cable to connect to the new thermostat. I know there is a circuit board you can buy to use the old 5 button thermostats, I'm asking if the telephone wire that connects the AC to thermostat is the same for both vintages of AC.

What if I have two AC units sharing a 5-button CC thermostat and I need to replace one AC unit. Can I get the older AC unit to work with the newer style thermostat or do I need to get the circuit board so the new AC unit will use the older 5-button thermostat?

Thanks
__________________
Mike --- 2005 Beaver Patriot Thunder CAT C13 525HP --Links below to my OneDrive docs---
*SMC, Beaver, Monaco History, Problems https://1drv.ms/f/s!AtvAXw_lfqbToxXYREK9YdBP08Jn
*Monaco Wiring Diagrams https://1drv.ms/f/s!AtvAXw_lfqbTm0WTuuNqpn9a8hCh
CountryB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2021, 07:18 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by CountryB View Post
Do the Coleman units work with the Duo-Therm 5-button controller (or newer style Doemtic thermostats? If you need to use a Coleman thermostat does the existing telephone-like cable that connects the AC to thermostat still work?

Similar question - if going from the old style Duo-Therm with 5-button thermostat to a new Dometic Penguin unit, will the new thermostat use the old telephone-like cable to connect to the new thermostat. I know there is a circuit board you can buy to use the old 5 button thermostats, I'm asking if the telephone wire that connects the AC to thermostat is the same for both vintages of AC.

What if I have two AC units sharing a 5-button CC thermostat and I need to replace one AC unit. Can I get the older AC unit to work with the newer style thermostat or do I need to get the circuit board so the new AC unit will use the older 5-button thermostat?

Thanks

All good questions as the installation aspect is as important as which units you choose.

When I talked to the PPL salesman i gave him the model number of my current AC units and told him I had one thermostat. He said the AC units & 10 button thermostat was a direct replacement for my old combo and would play nice with my furnace. I want to confirm this.

I would also like to know if the newer thermostats might work as easily.

I only want to fool with this conversion once. With any luck it will be my last big mod/expense to the coach for quite a while. Already spend ~$5.5K this year beside the cost of actually using it.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Travel Trailer AC Units vs Motor Home AC Units ??? Moxxi Class A Motorhome Discussions 5 05-05-2018 06:59 AM
American Coach: Replacing rooftop AC units CaptainVideo Fleetwood Owner's Forum 17 03-29-2017 11:49 PM
Newmar wants $1,120 upgrade 2, 13.5 heat pump units to 15.0 units Gamaliel Kid Newmar Owner's Forum 15 12-19-2016 08:27 PM
Replacing Headlight & Turn signal units..water inside Full.Monte MH-General Discussions & Problems 6 03-17-2014 12:18 AM
Replacing a/c units to low profile Capt903 Class A Motorhome Discussions 7 08-20-2013 06:53 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.