Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2014, 09:02 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 689
RPM gauge not accurate

On my 1999 diplomat my rpm gauge is reading 2500 or better when it should be reading 1800. I may go all day with it way off like this. Then next day it might work just fine, any suggestions?
mlh2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-26-2014, 09:26 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Robi.1014's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 939
Well, if the tach is failing inside, a replacement is in order. First, however, let me suggest that you (while driving) press your finger, hard, on the tach rim starting at the noon position, then 3, then 6, then 9 pm locations.

My tach would occasionally fall to zero RPMs. When I applied pressure (for me: the 6 pm location), the tach would start working again. I then found that stuffing some tape under that position of the rim made the "fix" permanent.
__________________
Robi & Dale ---- Go Navy ----
2016 Winnie TOUR 42'
Tow: '19 Buick Envision
or: '08 Buick Lucerne
Robi.1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 09:31 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Kitts Hill, OH
Posts: 2,204
How are you determining it is off 700RPM?
Are you sure your in high gear?
Are tires the OEM size?
__________________
(RVM#26) THE U-RV 94 F-700/24 foot U-haul box home built RV
Mekanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 04:33 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
walt2137's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Quitman MS
Posts: 2,967
On Monaco coaches they are well known for inacurate gauges brought on by faulty ground system and other. A lot of Monaco owners call the gauge pakage a entertainment center, what i did on our 99 Dip and the curent Dynasty is use the VMSpc program that i run on a laptop ( see thread on this site on it) with the gauges set up like i want and problem solved on all the inacurate gauges.
__________________
Walt & Will
2000 Dynasty
2017 Ram Big Horn Crew C 4X4 w/ M&G
walt2137 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 05:17 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 689
I know it runs 1800 around 65 mph and on the last couple of trips it started acting up. It would start climbing without any acceleration and then come right back to it's norm. While idling it will start to climb without any acceleration from the engine, and then sometimes it works just fine for hundreds of miles. I have decided it has a mind of it's own.
mlh2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 06:17 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
mahon1993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fowlerville, Mich.
Posts: 606
Two things: The tach is driven off of the alternator. There is a separate terminal on it just for the tach. Check the terminal for corrosion. You could also have a failing alternator. Second, I had weird dash problems including "waving" speed-odometer. I solved the problem by running a separate 12ga ground wire from the dash cluster to the MH frame.
__________________
2000 Monaco Diplomat 40PBD
2012 Grand Cherokee Limited
2008 FatBoy, three spoiled Great Danes and a cat.
mahon1993 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 06:53 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 689
I had Cummins powersouth put a new alternator on last year. Maybe you are right I will check the wires on it.
mlh2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 07:08 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
onechaddude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,903
Quote:
Originally Posted by mahon1993 View Post
Two things: The tach is driven off of the alternator. There is a separate terminal on it just for the tach. Check the terminal for corrosion. You could also have a failing alternator. Second, I had weird dash problems including "waving" speed-odometer. I solved the problem by running a separate 12ga ground wire from the dash cluster to the MH frame.
I had exact same problem, speedo would fluctuate. Also, occasionally all gauges would drop to zero and then be back normal, kinda like they would reset. I added new growing and no more problems.
Chad
onechaddude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2014, 06:52 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
walt2137's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Quitman MS
Posts: 2,967
The tac was driven off the altanator on the 8.3 but it is driven off of the engine computer on the newer engines.
__________________
Walt & Will
2000 Dynasty
2017 Ram Big Horn Crew C 4X4 w/ M&G
walt2137 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"BEEDE" Information Center - J1939 ref:- 791161 Gauge ? muppet3074 Cummins Engines 1 02-03-2014 07:38 PM
Accurate tire pressure gauge? WineLuvrs iRV2.com General Discussion 49 01-16-2014 07:35 AM
P30 Max RPM DDDonkey Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 16 01-07-2014 01:56 PM
Damon F53 won't start,fuel gauge acting up keithz29 Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 13 08-20-2013 10:39 AM
Fuel gauge not responding '08 Phaeton RISwriter Tiffin Owner's Forum 1 07-03-2013 06:46 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.