Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2014, 02:56 PM   #1
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,473
Running new inverter control cable

I'm replacing my older MSW inverter with a new Xantrex 3012 PSW. The old phone cord that connected the inverter to its control and AGS has to be replaced with Cat5 cable. For some strange reason, the old cord goes UP from the control into the ceiling before coming out in the cargo bay where the inverter is located. Anyone ever replaced one of those cords by just pulling it out with the new cord attached...or something similar.

It's not a big deal. I can run the new cable downward and go through the floor. Just wondering if someone else has already done this and has advice to offer.

Van W 2000 Dynasty 36 pulling one Harley
Eastern NC
Vanwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-01-2014, 03:10 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Jeff753's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Coastal Campers
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2,100
If it only uses 4 wires put catv ends on the phone cord in the proper location.

Name:   ImageUploadedByiRV2 - RV Forum1398978644.536863.jpg
Views: 136
Size:  26.6 KB
__________________
Jeff
2001 Monaco Dynasty tag axle
2006 Jeep Wrangler
Jeff753 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2014, 03:18 PM   #3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: rancho mirage CA
Posts: 170
Jeff I don't understand the diagram could you explain it
thanks
Jim
jmoffat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 04:29 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
nodine's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Posts: 3,793
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmoffat View Post
Jeff I don't understand the diagram could you explain it
thanks
Jim
Jeff is showing the color code and pin number connections for RJ-45 connectors he his suggesting to attach to the original cable.

Bob
__________________
Bob and Pam
2022 Quantum JM31
2020 Chevy Sonic
nodine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 04:31 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
nodine's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Posts: 3,793
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vanwill View Post
I'm replacing my older MSW inverter with a new Xantrex 3012 PSW. The old phone cord that connected the inverter to its control and AGS has to be replaced with Cat5 cable. For some strange reason, the old cord goes UP from the control into the ceiling before coming out in the cargo bay where the inverter is located. Anyone ever replaced one of those cords by just pulling it out with the new cord attached...or something similar.

It's not a big deal. I can run the new cable downward and go through the floor. Just wondering if someone else has already done this and has advice to offer.

Van W 2000 Dynasty 36 pulling one Harley
Eastern NC
Van,

I have noticed that sometimes Monaco tied cables at various locations. If they did on the original cable it will not be possible to use it as a pull string.

Bob
__________________
Bob and Pam
2022 Quantum JM31
2020 Chevy Sonic
nodine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 07:05 AM   #6
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,473
Bob, I think you are probably right about that--I won't be able to pull new cable using the old one.

Jeff, that's a great idea, but it appears the controller is using all eight pins on the connector.

I'll just go through the floor. Thanks, guys!

Van W 2000 Dynasty 36, pulling one Harley
Eastern NC
Vanwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2014, 07:23 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Jeff753's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Coastal Campers
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2,100
Yes I believe Bob is correct. The wire loom is probably wire tied to framing making it impossible to pull. Worth a try but you will probably end up with a new wire run.
__________________
Jeff
2001 Monaco Dynasty tag axle
2006 Jeep Wrangler
Jeff753 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2014, 07:36 AM   #8
JDL
Senior Member
 
JDL's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 248
Every wire/cable that I have worked on has been tied down with the exception of the tv cabling in the front overhead.

Just because the connection is a RJ 45 doesn't mean it is wired to network spec. The RJ 45 is a very common/convenient connector that is used in all types of apps. If it is to spec. that "phone" cable that is in the coach would not work well in a 10x/100x network.
__________________
2000 Monaco Windsor 40 PBSS
JDL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inverter for whole coach question jdwky RV Systems & Appliances 51 02-25-2016 10:25 AM
Inverter | Transfer switch |Converter | Charger question jdwky RV Systems & Appliances 51 08-17-2014 11:02 PM
Comfort Control Center Help atamians RV Systems & Appliances 4 04-22-2014 06:09 AM
Tripp Lite RV inverter fan running always when on shore power wanderso RV Systems & Appliances 1 03-15-2014 10:50 AM
Inverter lite? buck454 Class A Motorhome Discussions 3 08-21-2013 06:36 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.