RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2011, 09:22 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
CamelotJPGP's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Longwood, FL
Posts: 24
Sharp Aquos TV change out help

Hi Folks,

I have a 2006 Camelot with the "30 or 32 inch" Sharp Aquos flat screenTV up from. Has anyone found any new high def TVs that will fit into that space without a lot of cabinet modification? The TV is fine but it does not have a DTV converter built in. I installed one of those digital TV pass through box but it is pitiful at picking up local stations. I put a 32" Visio in my previous moho and it worked like a champ. So I am thinking that a new TV might be in order.

Any suggestions that anyone has would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

John Parker
2006 Camelot DSQ
__________________

CamelotJPGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-26-2011, 07:08 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Barlow46's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Coast Fl
Posts: 1,220
John, I have the same setup in my 05 dynasty. I have been looking at 32" samsungs as a replacement but in all cases the cabinet is 18" in height and the 32" tv's are around 19 or so. Looks like a cabinet cut is about the only way to install unless you put it on a swing out arm and surface mount it to the existing cabinet. Where did you put your digital TV pass through/converter box. I need to do the same for the time being.
__________________

__________________
2016 Arctic Fox 25Y, 2016 F350 4x4 DRW, 6.7
2008 Mobile Suites RE3: Sold
2005 Monaco Dynasty Diamond IV: Sold
Barlow46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 11:19 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Alan24601's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 661
Just installed the Samsung 32" smart tv in our Discovery 39R using the Costco swing arm mount. Works great and looks better than the original five year old Samsung. Just trying to decide how I will lock in in place, probably going to use remote control electronic lock that will use a bracket to lock from the back. The other choice is to make some side pieces that grip the sides, work in progress.
Alan24601 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 06:56 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
CamelotJPGP's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Longwood, FL
Posts: 24
I put the box in the cabinet over the driver. I connected the antenna cable to it and then to the winegard. I have to select AUX to get the signal to the TV. It is a small box so it sits in the top shelf. I am still not satisfied with the setup.
CamelotJPGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 10:30 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
zman62's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 977
I installed a 38 in dynex in my 07 camelot. It was pretty easy going bigger. We love it! I also installed a dolby surround sound as well.
zman62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 04:41 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
CamelotJPGP's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Longwood, FL
Posts: 24
Do you the model number for that TV?
CamelotJPGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 09:32 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
zman62's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 977
Quote:
Originally Posted by CamelotJPGP View Post
Do you the model number for that TV?

Dynex 37" (sorry thought it was 38) DX-37L150a11

I pulled out the cabinet that the old tv was in. I then cut it down so it didnt hang so far down in front of the windshield. I then remounted it at a slant so its on an angle down for better viewing. The new tv rest on the outer perimeter rather than inside the cabinet like the old one. It looks like it came from the factory. The new tv fits just perfect between the two outer cabinets.
zman62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 09:43 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
njs42's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Federal Way, Wa.
Posts: 2,901
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan24601 View Post
Just installed the Samsung 32" smart tv in our Discovery 39R using the Costco swing arm mount. Works great and looks better than the original five year old Samsung. Just trying to decide how I will lock in in place, probably going to use remote control electronic lock that will use a bracket to lock from the back. The other choice is to make some side pieces that grip the sides, work in progress.

They make mounts with a pin in them and a pull device to let it swing----a little pricey but have you looked on line for locking TV mounts-----ti may be easier than jury rigging something---just a thought.
A friend of mine has two in his rig installed by a shop but an easy deal to do yourself.
__________________

__________________
I do all my own stunts
03 Dolphin LX 6355, Workhorse W22, 8.1 vortec, 04 CR-V, Blue Ox, Brake Pro----Norm, Barb and
Doc(He's a PhD)
njs42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Allison 1000 Problem After Fluid Change Oemtech Allison Transmission Forum 6 08-20-2010 06:17 AM
Windows sidebar change wagonmaster2 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 2 06-05-2010 12:57 PM
Do-it-yourself oil change danes-on-tour Cummins Engines 24 04-18-2010 02:23 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×