Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2019, 06:49 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
mydogmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Cental Texas
Posts: 409
Shore or gen power wont power the acs

the 110 volt plugs work but the lights will not come on, nor the acs do not work. Any ideas?????

Thanks
__________________
2005 Monaco Windsor, 40 ft single axle.
TRW GB, Watts front and watts x braces rear. 2013 GMC 2500HD toad.
mydogmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-25-2019, 07:02 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
barmcd's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 13,313
acs = air conditioner's? You need 12 volts to run most of the lights and the air conditioners. What does your inverter remote read? When my inverter went out I lost the lights, AC and furnace.
__________________
Dennis and Katherine
2000 Monaco Dynasty
barmcd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2019, 07:02 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 28,966
You need 12 volts for the lights and for the thermostat control for the ACs.

Check your house battery disconnect switch, breakers on the inverter/charger and if the house batteries are dead, hold the boost switch for a few minutes to get them up to 8 to 10 volts. That's needed to get the inverter/charger going.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2019, 07:04 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
barmcd's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 13,313
Where are you in central Texas?
__________________
Dennis and Katherine
2000 Monaco Dynasty
barmcd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2019, 08:23 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
RamiDav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,778
Check the switch by the door . It may be turned off or the it solenoid / relay
it controls may be bad .
I think on your coach that solenoid is in the front run bay outside under the driver .

Ray

Thank you Myron I should have included the term Salesman sw
That's what I was referring to
RamiDav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2019, 08:30 PM   #6
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 9,675
If you have to do more research use the term Salesman Switch in the little google search box above.

It is so easy to bump the switch on many rv's and shut things down.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
400 Isl, 400 HP/// Now 450 HP
2016 Ford F150 Limited V6 with Ready Brake
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 03:48 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
mydogmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Cental Texas
Posts: 409
Thanks for everyones response, I found the problem after an extensive search, in the front elec. compartment on the lh side, is a 50 amp circuit breaker at the very bottom, it supplies power to the rear fuse panel in the circuit breaker panel, the breaker was tripped! I reset it and everything works like it should. I might need to get an extra incase it goes bad.
__________________
2005 Monaco Windsor, 40 ft single axle.
TRW GB, Watts front and watts x braces rear. 2013 GMC 2500HD toad.
mydogmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 03:53 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 3,165
Quote:
Originally Posted by RamiDav View Post
Check the switch by the door . It may be turned off or the it solenoid / relay
it controls may be bad .
I think on your coach that solenoid is in the front run bay outside under the driver .

Ray

Thank you Myron I should have included the term Salesman sw
That's what I was referring to
There is no such thing as a salesman switch. If there was you would find it in your owners manual.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323 BHS. Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale MA. Retired Master Electrician. All Motor homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor homes.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 04:02 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 3,165
Quote:
Originally Posted by mydogmax View Post
the 110 volt plugs work but the lights will not come on, nor the acs do not work. Any ideas?????

Thanks
FYI. A/C = air conditioner. In you case A/C's. AC = electric.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323 BHS. Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale MA. Retired Master Electrician. All Motor homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor homes.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 07:39 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
RamiDav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1,778
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavie View Post
There is no such thing as a salesman switch. If there was you would find it in your owners manual.
Have you read his owners manual ?
RamiDav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 07:41 PM   #11
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 9,675
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavie View Post
There is no such thing as a salesman switch. If there was you would find it in your owners manual.
There's alway a critic.

I put "salesman switch" in the little google box

This is just an example of what comes up and would help someone with this type of problem.

https://www.google.com/search?q=sale...earch=irv2.com

You will find the term salesman switch in thousands of posts here. You indeed won't find it in an owners manual.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
400 Isl, 400 HP/// Now 450 HP
2016 Ford F150 Limited V6 with Ready Brake
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 07:44 PM   #12
Community Moderator
 
Spdracr39's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Central, Arkansas
Posts: 8,941
My "Salesman Switch" is labeled Coach Power and is located exactly where it is supposed to be according to the manual. It may be only a nick name and you may not like it but it does exist.
__________________
2004 Beaver Monterey Laguna IV
Cummins ISC 350HP Allison 3000 6 speed
2020 Chevy Equinox Premier 2.0t 9 speed AWD
https://enjoying-life.net
Spdracr39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 07:55 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
RustyTools's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,149
My guess is that the OP was more interested in getting his RV working again than taking an English Technical Abbreviation lesson.

By the way, to be correct, there should be an ‘r’ after the word ‘you’.
__________________
2008 Camelot 40’ PDQ
RustyTools is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 11:25 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 3,165
Just trying to teach the newbies the proper Electric language and not some made up RV words and will continue to do so. By the way, guess what they call that very switch when it's installed in a boat? It sure as hell ain't a Salesman switch.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323 BHS. Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale MA. Retired Master Electrician. All Motor homes are RV's. All RV's are not Motor homes.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No shore power, yes gen power, transfer switch questions Clhuggins Class A Motorhome Discussions 53 02-26-2019 03:04 PM
Plugging into shore power trips shore power breaker BFF Travel Supreme Owner's Forum 8 07-28-2017 11:53 PM
Roof AC's wont come on with Gen Power? Rac912 RV Systems & Appliances 10 04-22-2016 08:57 AM
Two 15,000 BTU ACs vs two 13,500 BTU ACs... go6car RV Systems & Appliances 5 01-24-2015 10:36 AM
2 ACs in '89 HR Imperial - Only 1 runs on shore alliemosa Vintage RV's 9 04-23-2012 10:30 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.