RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-30-2008, 03:16 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 3,024
Our 08 Dyansaty has a radio that is marked " Sirius Ready" Of course this means nothing as the modules are way overpriced. Cheaper to just buy a Sirius aftermarket unit. I already have a good one. My question is: Does Monaco install a Sirius antenna at the factory? If not has anyone here installed one on the roof? I hate to to start drilling holes in a new unit.

Thanks


Moisheh
2008 Dynasty
__________________

__________________
Moisheh
2008 Dynasty 42' Diamond IV
1988 Bluebird PT38
2009 Silverado Toad
moisheh is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-30-2008, 03:16 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 3,024
Our 08 Dyansaty has a radio that is marked " Sirius Ready" Of course this means nothing as the modules are way overpriced. Cheaper to just buy a Sirius aftermarket unit. I already have a good one. My question is: Does Monaco install a Sirius antenna at the factory? If not has anyone here installed one on the roof? I hate to to start drilling holes in a new unit.

Thanks


Moisheh
2008 Dynasty
__________________

__________________
Moisheh
2008 Dynasty 42' Diamond IV
1988 Bluebird PT38
2009 Silverado Toad
moisheh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 03:40 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Camelot Camper's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 284
Moisheh,
Our Camelot came with Sirius and you can see the small knob antenna to the right and forward of the white Garmin GPS antenna on the left. The GPS antenna was added just before purchase and it's easy to run the coax down the left side into the instrument panel wiring to a receiver.



CC
__________________
2007 Monaco Camelot 36PDQ
2009 Hyundai Sante Fe Toad
Camelot Camper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 07:39 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8
you dont need to drill holes in the roof.

you can mount it on your dash, or you can run it up your tv antenna holes or yor sattelite holes.

mike b

svc mgr
rvservicemike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 09:17 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Excel Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hangin' with Sacs and the Pins
Posts: 9,412
moisheh...
Many people just run the antenna that comes with the portable unit up the "A-Pillar" and leave it near the inside top of the center cap - or something along those lines... BUT I am not the expert - so I will also link this to the "technology forum" for more feedback!

MM



__________________
MM
*MonacoMama with the 2 Pins & SacsTC Nearby*
*2007 Monaco Diplomat 40' SFT<>2006 Chevy VortecMax Toad<>2006 Buick Lucerne Leading the Way*
MonacoMama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 09:40 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
digNbubbs's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 530
I did as MM mentioned - used velcro to attach to the top of the front cap. When the TV is removed, there is access behind and above the TV where you will find bare insulation. Pull that away and you will see your clearance lights poking through. You can then run the wire down the a-pillar.

My reception has been fine, but it will blank out at odd times when we are parked. Not sure what that means, but it hasn't been enough for me to go through the work of moving it.


--kev
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

2006 Monaco Knight 40PLQ | 2011 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited
digNbubbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2008, 09:49 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Excel Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hangin' with Sacs and the Pins
Posts: 9,412
LOL..Kev,
I actually did an "advanced search" with your name before I posted - I think the information must have been on your blog.
Thank You for confirming my memory is still working ok!
MM



__________________
MM
*MonacoMama with the 2 Pins & SacsTC Nearby*
*2007 Monaco Diplomat 40' SFT<>2006 Chevy VortecMax Toad<>2006 Buick Lucerne Leading the Way*
MonacoMama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2008, 05:44 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Rick 2005 Dolphin 5376's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 1,331
Mine's mounted in the overhead. Works perfect, no holes.
__________________
Rick and Julia
2005 Dolphin 5376, W24, Solid Body Paint, Koni FSD's
Looking for a new toad
Rick 2005 Dolphin 5376 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2008, 10:49 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
GaryKD's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 13,594
Hi moisheh,
I've installed more of these after market units than I can count. There are several ways to make the install. They all work, so it comes down to personal preference and your coach. The most success I've had is to get the antenna onto the roof.

For those who want to see no wires, I do:
1. drill a hole through the cap
2. follow the off air TV antenna wires
3. follow the sat dome wires

For those who have no problem seeing a wire, I have run the antenna wire via a front running light. Usually this is the left light, over the driver.

In almost all cases, the wires are threaded down the left pillar to behind the dash.

My experience is limitted to Newmar coaches. Even with just Newmar, the differences by model and year are great. Planning how to run the wires is unique to each coach.

We have a lot of "stuff" on our roofs. Try to keep the antenna out in the open and away from the stuff. This will ensure a clear view of the satellite.

Others have had luck with mounting the antenna high inside the front cap. Unfortunately, this has not worked for me. These installs are the only rework I have ever had. If an owner is determine to have the antenna inside the front cap, I will help,,,,,once. If it doesn't work, he is on his own.
__________________
Gary
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910 + GMC ENVOY XUV 37K lbs Moving Down The Road
The Avatar Is Many Times Around The USA
Nobody Knows Your Coach Like Somebody Who Owns One Just Like Yours
GaryKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2008, 02:47 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 3,024
Thanks for the replies. In my last 2 motorhomes the reception with an inside mounted antenna was not good. I will crawl up onto the roof and assess the situation.

Thanks

Moisheh
__________________

__________________
Moisheh
2008 Dynasty 42' Diamond IV
1988 Bluebird PT38
2009 Silverado Toad
moisheh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sirius Antenna and Radio questions Lennyzx11 Monaco Owner's Forum 3 07-12-2008 03:17 AM
help installing Sirius antenna BradandJanee Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 9 01-06-2008 10:23 AM
Sirius radio antenna ktb304 Truck Camper Discussion 4 09-19-2006 05:43 PM
Installing Sirius antenna on roof conmart371 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 8 02-24-2006 01:58 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×