RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-07-2016, 06:33 PM   #1
Member
 
Cricco's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 69
Slides won't move without Genny

On my 2006 Monarch, I have 2 slides. I have discovered that they will only work using the generator. They will not move under shore power or with the engine running. Is this normal? If not, what could be the issue?
__________________

Cricco is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-07-2016, 08:25 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Robi.1014's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 903
Most of our rigs have a ignition lock-out preventing slide movement (in or out) when the engine is running.

As for "not with shore power" but "OK with genny" is telling me that the Genny is producing an adequate amount of DC voltage (and amperage) to allow the slide-motor(s) to function.

I'm guessing that something is wrong with the house battery bank. It could be that the bank is not being charged (i.e., they are dead), or a bad battery connection (be it a positive OR negative connection) is failing when you try to operate the slide(s).

Start with a good visual check of battery connections and their grounds. Also measure the battery voltage when shore power is disconnected (and the genny is NOT running). If under 12.2 volts, something is wrong.
__________________

__________________
Robi & Dale ---- Go Navy ----
2016 Winnie TOUR 42'
Tow: '08 Buick Lucerne
Robi.1014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2016, 05:26 AM   #3
Member
 
Cricco's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 69
So, should I be able to operate the slides on battery power?
Cricco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2016, 06:32 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Bigd9's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: The Bluegrass State
Posts: 5,774
The coaches I am familiar with, the slide motors were 12 volt. Again every manufacturer is different, but with my Fleetwood products the diesel engine is supposed to be running to operate the slides. This is because the engine can produce 160 +- amps of 12 volt current to give the slide motors adequate voltage/current. On my coach the generator puts out 120 AC volts then the inverter (/converter) changes some of that voltage to 12 volts (up to 100 amps) to charge the batteries.

IF your coach is set up like mine, I am concerned that the slide will not work when plugged into short power since shore power and generator power both go to the same inverter/converter to charge the batteries.

Robi.1014 makes a great point about the batteries. This would be the first place I would look. Check for clean wire connections. Then check the batteries them selves. A good hydrometer can check the battery acid to see if they are charged or not.

Just a side comment: If you check the batteries, first take a picture showing all the batteries, then pictures of each battery. There can be a lot of wires connecting to the batteries and it is real easy to get them mixed up when taking them off. Also be careful. Battery banks pack a wallop is shorted out. You can weld steel with the energy they contain. Be really careful with wrenches touching and shorting.

Keep us informed as to what you find out. We are all learning all the time and your input is vital.
__________________
Good Luck, Be Safe and Above All, Don't Forget To Have Fun
Pete
Central Kentucky
2006 Fleetwood Discovery 35H, 2014 Honda CR-V, M&G Engineering Braking System
Bigd9 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2016, 10:57 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: On the Road
Posts: 1,607
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cricco View Post
So, should I be able to operate the slides on battery power?

Yes. If your batteries and connections are good.


2007 Monaco Executive 45' 525 ISX
__________________
2012 Nu Wa 363RSBDA
2016 Ford F-350 Dually 6.7
Duoglide1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2016, 10:35 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
10Boomer's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,780
Lets know I have a similar question. Supposedly my house batteries are new when I picked up the coach.


Sent from my iPhone using iRV2 - 2008 Monaco Camelot 40 PDQ
__________________
Perry & Julie: 2008 Monaco Camelot 40PDQ, 400ISL, Toad; 2015 Chevy Equinox.
10Boomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2016, 09:10 AM   #7
Member
 
Cricco's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 69
I have 2 6 volt batteries. I tested them, and got 13.7 volts while plugged in and 12.50 when unplugged. All connections are perfect.
Cricco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2016, 01:57 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Bigd9's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: The Bluegrass State
Posts: 5,774
What happens when you try to open the room on shore power? Any sound at all? If it was me, I would be checking the battery voltage at the room slide motor especially when it is running. Is the room slide a Power Gear manufacture, or another brand? Do you have the electrical schematics for your coach? They may tell you how yours is supposed to work ei: with engine running, or not, shore power or not, generator or not. Once again, I am not familiar with Monaco's design so double check what I may say with what you actually see.
__________________
Good Luck, Be Safe and Above All, Don't Forget To Have Fun
Pete
Central Kentucky
2006 Fleetwood Discovery 35H, 2014 Honda CR-V, M&G Engineering Braking System
Bigd9 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2016, 03:37 PM   #9
Member
 
Cricco's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 69
The mystery deepens. It's now working on shore power. Hmmmmmm.
__________________

Cricco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I run the Genny without coach batteries connected? Kliwks Class A Motorhome Discussions 21 03-19-2014 08:46 AM
Need to move Truck Camper without truck LonandLaura Truck Camper Discussion 17 12-12-2013 05:37 PM
Rear slides fail to move vettehead Monaco Owner's Forum 3 08-04-2013 08:57 AM
Onan gas genny shuts off without error code... erkme73 MH-General Discussions & Problems 11 08-08-2012 02:42 PM
slides won't move redsoxfan 5th Wheel Discussion 18 05-12-2011 04:47 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×