Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2022, 11:10 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: AZ
Posts: 56
Still no 12 volt power in coach

Can anyone explain how the chassis batteries are grounded as compared to the house batteries?

I do have 12v in the coach if I run the engine.
__________________
Jim
1998 Monaco Windsor '38 , 8.3, Allison 3060
JAM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-05-2022, 11:26 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Arch Hoagland's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Clovis, CA, USA
Posts: 12,174
Have you measured the house battery voltage with a voltmeter right at the batteries themselves?
__________________
2004 Monaco La Palma 36DBD, W22, 8.1, 7.1 MPG
2000 LEXUS RX300 FWD 22MPG 4020 LBS
Measure twice...Cut once.
Arch Hoagland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2022, 11:26 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 12,544
Not sure what the difference is between your 1998 vs my 2002 Windsor but I have a ground stud for the house batteries and chassis batteries.

I have an isolation solenoid that will combine the house & chassis batteries together. The isolation solenoid can be closed to connect both bank by using the auxiliary boost button on the front dash but will also close when the engine is running if you have a BIRD, this will let the engine charge the house batteries as you are driving.

My wiring had the Solenoid, BIRD, and Lambert 415 maintainer. This design kept both my house and chassis batteries charged whether I was driving, running shore power, or generator. Do you have these???

In your previous post you mentioned that you had a problem with the front switch. Did you replace or just disconnect.



What do you have in place for charging your lithium batteries, a DC-DC charger??? Who installed the lithium?? Did you do install. Can you provide pictures of how you did it??
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2022, 12:16 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 170
Try hooking a jumper cable fron the negative side of the battery to the frame if it fixes your issue then you have a bad ground from the battery to the frame
__________________
still working 2002 monaco windsor
bubby124 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2022, 12:55 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: AZ
Posts: 56
Where are the ground studs located?
__________________
Jim
1998 Monaco Windsor '38 , 8.3, Allison 3060
JAM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2022, 01:10 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: AZ
Posts: 56
I'll try to answer some questions.

House battery voltage 13.7
Chassis battery voltage 13.9

I do have an isolation solenoid.
Front switch is disconnected.
Charging is by 800 watt solar, 100amp charger in inverter and a little by the alternator.
I installed the lithium batteries over 2 1/2 years ago. Have had no issues until this.
__________________
Jim
1998 Monaco Windsor '38 , 8.3, Allison 3060
JAM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2022, 01:48 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 12,544
I have one ground stud for the house and chassis batteries and I believe the starter also is grounded there also. It is located on the passenger side behind my rear electrical panel. It is welded to the main chassis rail.



On my rig the only common part between the house and chassis in the rear electrical bay is the isolation solenoid. It must be closed for it to be passing power from the chassis to the house side, and if you have a BIRD then it will send a signal when you start your engine.



So if you are getting 12 volt from the house batteries there has to be a problem between your isolation solenoid and the house batteries. Do you have a battery disconnect?? If it failed it could explain why you don't have house power until the engine is running.
I had my chassis battery disconnect fail and lost all chassis power. I bypassed until I could replace.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2022, 02:05 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: AZ
Posts: 56
Here is a picture of my electrical panel:Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1442.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	286.5 KB
ID:	382169
__________________
Jim
1998 Monaco Windsor '38 , 8.3, Allison 3060
JAM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2022, 02:09 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 32,196
One of the 2 smaller solenoids is house power.

The black things on the sides of the big boy are circuit breakers. Should have power on both sides of all I mentioned.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2022, 02:10 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: AZ
Posts: 56
I connected a jumper cable from the negative terminal on the house battery to the frame and the interior 12v lights, etc work.

I will look for the grounding lug you described.
__________________
Jim
1998 Monaco Windsor '38 , 8.3, Allison 3060
JAM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2022, 04:36 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
cry42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Whitney, TX.
Posts: 213
Looks pretty similar to my 97 Dynasty. The small solenoid above the BIG start boost solenoid, supplies 12VDC into the coach. It is operated by the infamous Salesman Switch inside the doorway. Should hear it click if operation. Can measure both large terminals, should be 12VDC to ground is solenoid is operated.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Pwer Pnl Rear copy.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	340.3 KB
ID:	382231  
__________________
Charles
1997 Monaco Dynasty
cry42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2022, 07:45 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Timaz's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: On the road
Posts: 1,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by JAM3 View Post
I connected a jumper cable from the negative terminal on the house battery to the frame and the interior 12v lights, etc work.

I will look for the grounding lug you described.
Did you find the ground stud?
Tim
__________________
Full Time 2000 Dynasty Regent FD, 8.3, Banks Turbo, 5" Diameter Exhaust, 475 HP 1425 Torque, FASS system, towing 05 Pilot 1100 Watts solar 800ah lithium & E-Bike
Timaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2022, 02:39 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: AZ
Posts: 56
After cleaning some grounds and relacing the AUX/START switch things seem to be back to normal.

Thanks to everyone for their suggestions and help.
__________________
Jim
1998 Monaco Windsor '38 , 8.3, Allison 3060
JAM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2022, 05:32 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Tisdale
Posts: 6
12 Volt power

I have a 2006 Monaco Dynasty. once it had NO 12 volt power. It took quite a while to find. Don't know if yours has them, but mine has a bank of computer modules in a closet in the bedroom. One of them controls the 12 Volt power. Each one of these modules has a 5 amp fuse. Don't know why the fuse blew but that was the problem. Has never done it since.
edmunds57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
12 volt, power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Still still working on buying 2005 Monaco Signature. Now cruise control issue. artdeco Monaco Owner's Forum 10 03-12-2021 11:16 AM
Still learning and still asking doc Newmar Owner's Forum 6 05-06-2019 08:47 PM
12 volt system failure No 12 volt power Smsudad RV Systems & Appliances 4 11-26-2017 03:19 PM
Still researching 6 volt house batteries mojavemover iRV2.com General Discussion 4 03-15-2014 11:05 AM
12 volt problem still exists 99hlane Travel Trailer Discussion 1 09-12-2010 06:14 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.