Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-03-2020, 06:32 AM   #71
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
Ok Here is a new idea for you. I have a Safari that is very similar to your rig. Check your generator. It will have two circuit breakers and they both need to be on. It will trip when you are on 30amp shore power and make half of your circuits not work. Please don't ask me to explain the why or how because I have not researched for those questions. I only know from experience that they will trip even when I am hooked up to 30 amp shore power, and overload that side of the power. It took me a while to find this as the reason I had no power for coffee
bchall05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-03-2020, 07:56 AM   #72
Member
 
ncsteve's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Western NC
Posts: 61
I am no electrician, but if you have power coming out of the breaker, I would ( if you already havenít) go to the first plug in on the circuit and pull it out of the wall to see if there is power coming from the breaker to it. This would at least narrow the search down to between there and the breaker box. Following this to see what you find. Hoping it is soon. Good luck.
__________________
2000 40íMonaco Windsor PBD
2004 Monaco Knight 38PST
Towing 2015 Jeep JKUR
ncsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 10:10 AM   #73
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by irishguy View Post
...Tomorrow I'm closing the galley slide to access another j-box that may be part of the dead circuit.
I had a similar problem with my HR Vacationer. Turned out to be a fried, twist on, wire nut in the bedroom slide junction box (under the bed ).

I won't get into the whole "wire nuts in a motor vehicle are perfectly safe" discussion again, but after fixing the problem I added a p-clamp on the flexible cable entering the J-box to eliminate movement at the box.

I'll bet you're on the right track looking at that galley slide J-box.
Bud E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 10:25 AM   #74
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 3
Monaco electrical problem

A friend of mine owns a 2008 Monaco, and was experiencing the very something. We could only find one GFI circuit breaker in his unit. the problem that we found was a lose ground in the electrical bay.
aholt2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 10:35 AM   #75
Junior Member
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Whitefish MT
Posts: 4
Had same Problem on my 2002 HR Scepter, found a gfi outlet in outside compartment on passenger side tripped reset it and all plugs are good again
dutchman10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 01:09 PM   #76
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 686
Thank you all for supplying more things for me to check out.

I know for sure there are no GFI outlets on this mh. The GFI's are on the breakers in the 120v panel and are not tripped.

I'll check the generator breakers, seems remote but you never know.

The power supply to a j-box I found is dead so the issue is up stream of that. All the dead outlets have continuity between them and the j-box.
__________________
Irishguy
irishguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 03:55 PM   #77
Member
 
Jautry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 57
Get a volt test meter to find the current to each outlet. There is probably a GFCI outlet somewhere that went South. I also use mine to test the AC availability of shore power at a campsite BEFORE unhooking the TOAD, parking and setting up. What's more frustrating than backing (or pulling) into a site just to find out there's no power.
I don't work for LOWES, but....https://www.lowes.com/pd/UEI-Digital...ter/1002435072 works fine for me.
Jautry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 04:33 AM   #78
Senior Member
 
Toribk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 723
Irishguy,

In looking at the 2003 electrical drawing another poster supplied, the oulet for your engine block heater is a GFCI.....depicted very top of the drawing
Toribk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 04:41 AM   #79
Senior Member
 
Toribk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 723
I circled it here for you.Click image for larger version

Name:	20200704_063920.jpeg
Views:	23
Size:	49.5 KB
ID:	291911
Toribk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 06:43 AM   #80
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Blairsville, GA & WPB, FL
Posts: 3,993
Send a message via ICQ to Ivylog
Yes the block heater is a GFI but it doesn’t feed another outlet plus you can turn it on/off manually.
Ivylog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 07:48 AM   #81
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 9
Sound like a GFCI that is defected. They do go bad. Did you check to see if you have power at the GFCI. And if you two GFCI check both.
monci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 08:30 AM   #82
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 686
Hello all,

Update: I opened up the j-box that is only accessible with the slide in. The black wire power feed from the 120v breaker panel "front kitchen" breaker to this j-box is dead. As well there is no continuity from the j-box to the breaker panel outlet wire.
That j-box feeds another nearby j-box that splits out the feed to all the dead outlets.
I decided to leave the "front kitchen" breaker off and soon discovered there was no power to my front tv "lock out" outlet and another outlet for my sat dish receiver. I flipped on the "front kitchen" breaker and my tv and sat dish turned on.
Anyone know if there is a third j-box in the "front kitchen" circuit? If so, any idea where it could be?
__________________
Irishguy
irishguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 08:42 AM   #83
Senior Member
 
KanzKran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 1,944
Quote:
Originally Posted by irishguy View Post
I decided to leave the "front kitchen" breaker off and soon discovered there was no power to my front tv "lock out" outlet and another outlet for my sat dish receiver. I flipped on the "front kitchen" breaker and my tv and sat dish turned on.
Anyone know if there is a third j-box in the "front kitchen" circuit? If so, any idea where it could be?
There might not be one. One of those two receptacles may be the last in the chain before things go dead. Thatís where Iíd start at this point, by opening them up and checking connections. Youíve narrowed it down to a very small run, and though cables and conductors can suffer damage, itís far more common for connections to lose integrity.
__________________
Tom & Jeri
2018 Coachmen Galleria 24T Li3
KanzKran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2020, 10:32 AM   #84
Senior Member
 
windsorbill's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: CA
Posts: 4,145
Quote:
Originally Posted by KanzKran View Post
There might not be one. One of those two receptacles may be the last in the chain before things go dead. Thatís where Iíd start at this point, by opening them up and checking connections. Youíve narrowed it down to a very small run, and though cables and conductors can suffer damage, itís far more common for connections to lose integrity.
I looked at the Monaco archive site and didn't see the 2003 Windsors listed, so not familiar with your PST floor plan.

But I have a junction box behind some drawers under the bedroom tv. I have to remove the drawers to access it.

Another idea, basement ceiling?
__________________
Bill & Brigitte
06 Windsor PEQ, Cummins 400 ISL
2014 Honda CRV or 2012 Jeep
windsorbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stumped by 120V power loss to television outlets ThomB Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 6 04-22-2018 11:38 AM
HELP! Kitchen outlets (DS) and Outlets/Lights (PS) Don't Work offtosleep Monaco Owner's Forum 23 01-02-2018 02:22 PM
Outlets suddenly went dead Dunnkin Class A Motorhome Discussions 55 11-19-2012 11:26 AM
No power to 120v outlets Furniss Class A Motorhome Discussions 6 03-31-2012 02:38 PM
120v Electrical Outlets not working in 03 MDDS rbguinn Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 8 09-11-2008 06:35 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.