Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-04-2020, 02:22 PM   #85
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by irishguy View Post
Our windsor doesn't actually have any GFI outlets. Just some breakers in the breaker box with GFI on them.
I've gone through all the outlets on the inside and out but it's just the outlets on the kitchen side of the mh that have no power.

I can't find any other breakers on the inverter other than the one small one that states its part of the charging system.

I've shut down and started up the 120v and 12v to see if that would reset something but no change.

I opened up the transfer switch box. The wiring diagram says there's an led light to indicating normal but I don't see any light on. Would a faulty transfer switch cause my problem?

Could part of the inverter be fried?

Im now on genny power but no change.
Iíve got a 2001 FleetWood SouthWind , that I have a similar problem with .Intermittent power to the Boot wall socket and to the front cargo bay 🤔 I changed out all the GFIs . Tracked the wiring and My Son in law a master electrician told me Iím dropping a neutral.
Now the problem is finding the junction box that is the connection point for those two outlets ?😳👀
I hope this is not your problem 😬
rats52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-04-2020, 06:18 PM   #86
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 686
I'll keep looking for another junction box as well as look into those two working outlets.

I do know for sure there is no power from two junction boxes to the dead outlets. I followed the wiring paths. I have continuity through the black power wire from the junction boxes to all dead outlets. No continuity between the breaker output to the junction boxes.

My neutral side is good as I have continuity from the white neutral on the output side of the breaker through two junction boxes and to all dead outlets.

The wiring for the microwave runs through the two junction boxes that my dead circuit runs through.
If all else fails couldn't I just splice into the microwave circuit to supply those 7 dead outlets? We'd just be careful not to use something like a coffee maker while the microwave is running.
__________________
Irishguy
irishguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 04:19 AM   #87
Senior Member
 
Toribk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 732
This was a comment posted by another 2002 Monaco owner after experiencing a loss to all his outlets:

" I called Monaco back and got another tech, he starts walking me through the whole process, could be the transfer switch, GFCI, did I check the inverter. Yes I did I respond I checked the little fuse on the inverter. He hears that and says no the circuit breakers, well guess what....... I go back and kneel down and look closer and there are two toggle circuit breakers partially hidden by the black wire coming out of the inverter and one was off".

Just something else to rule out?
Toribk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 06:37 AM   #88
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Blairsville, GA & WPB, FL
Posts: 3,993
Send a message via ICQ to Ivylog
Quote:
Originally Posted by irishguy View Post
If all else fails couldn't I just splice into the microwave circuit to supply those 7 dead outlets? We'd just be careful not to use something like a coffee maker while the microwave is running.
OMG...NO!!! you’ll kill yourself if they are not protected by a GFI I can hear some yelling! Considering all you’ve done Heck YES!!!I’d do it. Not sure how I survived the first 30 years of my life without GFIs or neutrals.
Ivylog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 06:52 AM   #89
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 31,187
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivylog View Post
OMG...NO!!! youíll kill yourself if they are not protected by a GFI I can hear some yelling! Considering all youíve done Heck YES!!!Iíd do it. Not sure how I survived the first 30 years of my life without GFIs or neutrals.
Not if you pick up a GFCI receptcal and install it at the first outlet in the string.

Be sure to cut the old supply wire on the other end. Don't want a L1 and a L2 to collide, if the break in the wire found its way back to connected.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 08:41 AM   #90
Senior Member
 
windsorbill's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: CA
Posts: 4,145
Irishguy,

I know I mentioned this before, but have you eliminated the possibility that the Intellitec system has not cut the power to the circuit? It's not uncommon for the relay to fail on those boards. After re-reading some of your trouble shooting findings you posted, I still think that's a possibility. Before I would piggy back circuits, I'd be sure to eliminate this possibility.

My circuit board that failed for me is located in the bottom of the circuit breaker panel. I have to remove the cover to access it.Click image for larger version

Name:	Electrical Sub panel.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	272.5 KB
ID:	292038
__________________
Bill & Brigitte
06 Windsor PEQ, Cummins 400 ISL
2014 Honda CRV or 2012 Jeep
windsorbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 08:48 AM   #91
Senior Member
 
windsorbill's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: CA
Posts: 4,145
I found a picture of my circuit board when I by-passed the circuit. Eventually I replaced the board, so the black wire that is doubled up with white wire in now on it's own terminal.Click image for larger version

Name:	Inside electrical sub panel.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	229.8 KB
ID:	292039
__________________
Bill & Brigitte
06 Windsor PEQ, Cummins 400 ISL
2014 Honda CRV or 2012 Jeep
windsorbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 09:36 AM   #92
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 686
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toribk View Post
This was a comment posted by another 2002 Monaco owner after experiencing a loss to all his outlets:

" I called Monaco back and got another tech, he starts walking me through the whole process, could be the transfer switch, GFCI, did I check the inverter. Yes I did I respond I checked the little fuse on the inverter. He hears that and says no the circuit breakers, well guess what....... I go back and kneel down and look closer and there are two toggle circuit breakers partially hidden by the black wire coming out of the inverter and one was off".

Just something else to rule out?
Toribk,

My make and model of inverter has only one push button type of breaker reset and it's on the charging side. Early on I was hoping there was a re settable breaker. As well I have full power at L-1 and L-2 inverter breakers in the 120v and 240v panels.
__________________
Irishguy
irishguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 09:39 AM   #93
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 686
Twinboat and Ivylog,

If I do that, I'm going to utilize an electrician just to make sure everything is done correctly and safely.
__________________
Irishguy
irishguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 09:48 AM   #94
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 686
Quote:
Originally Posted by windsorbill View Post
Irishguy,

I know I mentioned this before, but have you eliminated the possibility that the Intellitec system has not cut the power to the circuit? It's not uncommon for the relay to fail on those boards. After re-reading some of your trouble shooting findings you posted, I still think that's a possibility. Before I would piggy back circuits, I'd be sure to eliminate this possibility.

My circuit board that failed for me is located in the bottom of the circuit breaker panel. I have to remove the cover to access it.Attachment 292038
Bill,

How do I eliminate the Intellitec as a possible cause? I see the board for it is located in the 240 panel.

Also, I still have two working outlets that are supplied by the breaker output line for the "Front/KItchen" circuit. They are two outlets up front in TV compartment.
Would the Intellitec be set up to only cut off a partial circuit coming out of one breaker? The display panel shows all green lights indicating all areas attached to it are powered.
__________________
Irishguy
irishguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 09:57 AM   #95
Senior Member
 
KanzKran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 1,944
Quote:
Originally Posted by irishguy View Post
Also, I still have two working outlets that are supplied by the breaker output line for the "Front/KItchen" circuit. They are two outlets up front in TV compartment.
Did you open them up and check for continuity beyond that point?
__________________
Tom & Jeri
2018 Coachmen Galleria 24T Li3
KanzKran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 10:09 AM   #96
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 686
Quote:
Originally Posted by KanzKran View Post
Did you open them up and check for continuity beyond that point?
KanzKran,

I have no continuity from the "front/kitchen" black power wire output at the breaker panel to the two j-boxes I found.

I have continuity on the black power wire from the two j-boxes to the 7 dead outlets. Yet two outlets in the front tv area still have power. While two other outlets in the front tv area are dead. All run off the "front/Kitchen" breaker.

I have continuity on the neutral side white wire from the output breaker wire through the two j-boxes to all 7 dead outlets.
__________________
Irishguy
irishguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 10:46 AM   #97
Senior Member
 
windsorbill's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: CA
Posts: 4,145
Quote:
Originally Posted by irishguy View Post
Bill,

How do I eliminate the Intellitec as a possible cause? I see the board for it is located in the 240 panel.

Also, I still have two working outlets that are supplied by the breaker output line for the "Front/KItchen" circuit. They are two outlets up front in TV compartment.
Would the Intellitec be set up to only cut off a partial circuit coming out of one breaker? The display panel shows all green lights indicating all areas attached to it are powered.
I would see if you have continuity between the j-box that is only accessible with the slide in, and wire on the intellitec circuit board terminals. (I believe you said you didn't have continuity between that box and the circuit breaker). all high voltage so take appropriate safety precautions.
__________________
Bill & Brigitte
06 Windsor PEQ, Cummins 400 ISL
2014 Honda CRV or 2012 Jeep
windsorbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 11:25 AM   #98
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 10,547
These two files are for reference only but they might help visualize the issue.

Of note is what WindsorBill is relating to. The power for some circuits goes from the AC breaker, which you say does not have continuity from the circuit in question.

However, it is possible that circuit passes through that circuit board Bill is relating to. It is very easy to test that theory.

Simply identify the goesintas and the goesoutaofs on that relay board. There are screw down terminals IF you have one of these boards we have schematics for them.

My board let a lot of smoke out on a very hot day.

Bill, my AC breaker panel is in a closet behind the sliding door. It gets incredibly hot in there and I had to provide some venting for the panel to keep my new board alive. Leaving the sliding door open and an AC vent blowing on the face of it helps too.

I still think a signal tracer would be a great new tool to help find this break.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 120V Block Diagram.pdf (109.2 KB, 16 views)
File Type: pdf 120V distribution panel with inverter2.pdf (96.1 KB, 17 views)
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
400 Isl, 400 HP/// Now 450 HP
2016 Ford F150 Limited V6 with Ready Brake
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stumped by 120V power loss to television outlets ThomB Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 6 04-22-2018 11:38 AM
HELP! Kitchen outlets (DS) and Outlets/Lights (PS) Don't Work offtosleep Monaco Owner's Forum 23 01-02-2018 02:22 PM
Outlets suddenly went dead Dunnkin Class A Motorhome Discussions 55 11-19-2012 11:26 AM
No power to 120v outlets Furniss Class A Motorhome Discussions 6 03-31-2012 02:38 PM
120v Electrical Outlets not working in 03 MDDS rbguinn Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 8 09-11-2008 06:35 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.