RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2020, 01:05 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 584
Suddenly no 120v power to Kitchen Side Outlets

Hello All,

This morning my wife turned on her coffee maker. It came on but shortly there after she noticed it wasn't on. The only other major electrical draw at the time was the aquahot electical side. We are on 30 amp shore power.
I discovered a bunch of electrical outlets running along the kitchen side now have no power. It's like something tripped.
I checked all breakers/GFI's in the breaker box panels in the bedroom. I flipped and reset them but no change. Including the L1 and L2 inverter breakers.
There is one little breaker reset button on the front of xantrex inverter but it's not tripped.
Are there any other breakers on the inverter that are not easily seen and accessed?
The microwave has power and so do both a/c units and the fridge.
I disconnected shore power and turned on the inverter. No change to those outlets.
What or where else can I check?

irishguy
2003 Monaco Windsor
__________________

irishguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-27-2020, 01:13 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
tomd85208's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Posts: 211
I don't know if this will help but one time I had a similar problem and someone showed me a flashing light on the "Right" side of my inverter. There is a very small "Reset" button on that right side by the input wires, and when you push it in for a second or two a light will start flashing and hopefully you're back in business. Try that... I hope it works for you!
__________________

__________________
Tom & Kathy D.
Mesa Arizona
2007 Monaco Diplomat 40 SKQ
tomd85208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 01:41 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
windsorbill's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: CA
Posts: 2,817
Quote:
Originally Posted by irishguy View Post
Hello All,

This morning my wife turned on her coffee maker. It came on but shortly there after she noticed it wasn't on. The only other major electrical draw at the time was the aquahot electical side. We are on 30 amp shore power.
I discovered a bunch of electrical outlets running along the kitchen side now have no power. It's like something tripped.
I checked all breakers/GFI's in the breaker box panels in the bedroom. I flipped and reset them but no change. Including the L1 and L2 inverter breakers.
There is one little breaker reset button on the front of xantrex inverter but it's not tripped.
Are there any other breakers on the inverter that are not easily seen and accessed?
The microwave has power and so do both a/c units and the fridge.
I disconnected shore power and turned on the inverter. No change to those outlets.
What or where else can I check?

irishguy
2003 Monaco Windsor
My breakers on the inverter are very hard to see. If you don't know they are there, they are easily missed.
__________________
Bill & Brigitte
06 Windsor PEQ, Cummins 400 ISL
2014 Honda CRV
windsorbill is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 01:42 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 846
Check your GFIs again. You may have one in say your bathroom that's part of your 120v outletin the bathroom and it tripped. Or a GFI in another outlet somewhere. In my S&B house, I lost power in some of my outlets... finally had to call an electrician. He quickly found a tripped GFI in the powder room... on the other side of the house! Which caused the kitchen outlets to be dead. He pressed the reset button and then held his hand out for $125! Sheesh!
__________________
Elbridge Price, 1998 Dutch Star Diesel Pusher
Cummins 6.8.3 mechanical injectors, Spartan Chassis
2016 Toyota Prius; Acme EZE Tow Dolly
tommar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 02:14 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 523
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommar View Post
Check your GFIs again. You may have one in say your bathroom that's part of your 120v outletin the bathroom and it tripped. Or a GFI in another outlet somewhere. In my S&B house, I lost power in some of my outlets... finally had to call an electrician. He quickly found a tripped GFI in the powder room... on the other side of the house! Which caused the kitchen outlets to be dead. He pressed the reset button and then held his hand out for $125! Sheesh!


Often it is the bathroom GFI, unless there is one in the Kitchen
__________________
2013 Coach House 261XL QD Banks
SafetyPlus steering, Centramatic, TSTint TPMS, Dish
Sacamento, CA
coachmanjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 02:32 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Outbound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,721
May also have one in your outside cargo storage.
__________________
Outbound
2002 Monaco Executive 500 ISM
2004 GMC 2500HD 4X4
Outbound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 03:32 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 584
Our windsor doesn't actually have any GFI outlets. Just some breakers in the breaker box with GFI on them.
I've gone through all the outlets on the inside and out but it's just the outlets on the kitchen side of the mh that have no power.

I can't find any other breakers on the inverter other than the one small one that states its part of the charging system.

I've shut down and started up the 120v and 12v to see if that would reset something but no change.

I opened up the transfer switch box. The wiring diagram says there's an led light to indicating normal but I don't see any light on. Would a faulty transfer switch cause my problem?

Could part of the inverter be fried?

Im now on genny power but no change.
irishguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 03:43 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
KanzKran's Avatar


 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 1,079
Sounds like it’s time to open a receptacle, particularly the dead one closest to the panel.
__________________
Tom & Jeri
2018 Coachmen Galleria 24T Li3
KanzKran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 03:58 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 584
Tom,

Am I looking for a loose or fried wire?
irishguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 07:22 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Blairsville, GA & WPB, FL
Posts: 3,031
Send a message via ICQ to Ivylog
There are 3 pin breakers on the inverter/charger... one for the 110 in and 2 for the 110 out. Sounds like one of the 2 is tripped. You should be able to feel them on the side ...push to reset.
__________________
This post is my opinion, worth what you paid for it.
Our ”New” ride...08 HR Navigator 45’. A nice upgrade after 14 years with a 04 Dynasty 42’.
Ivylog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 07:47 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 2,600
If you still have both air conditioners, the AquaHot heating element, and the microwave oven working... it would seem to point to a failure of the circuit breaker or it's GFCI component, or you've got a wiring failure. Not sure if Monaco used the insulation displacement terminated-outlets but I'm betting on it. Tom (KanzKran) suggests the first outlet fed by the circuit breaker and I concur. If you have a volt or multi-meter, or one of the 3 light testers... see if you have power at that one. No? Turn off the main breaker, and remove the outlet. You're looking for melted or deformed plastic, scorch marks / signs of arcing, loose terminations, odour of burning or high temps... if it all looks good and the wires are tight, examine other outlets - the first one might be on a different circuit (been there - trouble shooting stuff that worked).
__________________
2005 Four Winds Majestic 23A
“To the world you may be one person; but to one person you may be the world.” - Dr Suess
Solo_RV_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 08:33 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivylog View Post
There are 3 pin breakers on the inverter/charger... one for the 110 in and 2 for the 110 out. Sounds like one of the 2 is tripped. You should be able to feel them on the side ...push to reset.
Ivy, I've got a 2000 watt Trace inverter. I've checked that thing over from top to bottom...all I can see is one little push button breaker and it's not tripped.

Do you have a Trace as well?
irishguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 08:36 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solo_RV_Guy View Post
If you still have both air conditioners, the AquaHot heating element, and the microwave oven working... it would seem to point to a failure of the circuit breaker or it's GFCI component, or you've got a wiring failure. Not sure if Monaco used the insulation displacement terminated-outlets but I'm betting on it. Tom (KanzKran) suggests the first outlet fed by the circuit breaker and I concur. If you have a volt or multi-meter, or one of the 3 light testers... see if you have power at that one. No? Turn off the main breaker, and remove the outlet. You're looking for melted or deformed plastic, scorch marks / signs of arcing, loose terminations, odour of burning or high temps... if it all looks good and the wires are tight, examine other outlets - the first one might be on a different circuit (been there - trouble shooting stuff that worked).
I've checked the outlets and they are solid as a rock and no indication of damage. Working on wiring at the breaker panels. I have a helpful poster in Texas helping me out through email...hopefully we can figure this out.
irishguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2020, 06:01 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Winemaker2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Western NY
Posts: 2,969
I would unplug everything from all outlets served by the breaker that supplies that outlet and try to reset the breaker GFCI. There may be an issue with one appliance, cord etc that will trip that GFCI.
If not time to start tracing to see where you have / dont have power. Should be fairly easy to determine if any output from inverter or not.
Does it work on shore power and gen? Or dead on all?
__________________

__________________
Don & Marge
'13 Newmar Ventana 3433 - '14 CR-V TOAD
'03 Winnebago Adventurer 31Y - SOLD
Winemaker2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
mntndoc
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stumped by 120V power loss to television outlets ThomB Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 6 04-22-2018 11:38 AM
HELP! Kitchen outlets (DS) and Outlets/Lights (PS) Don't Work offtosleep Monaco Owner's Forum 23 01-02-2018 02:22 PM
Outlets suddenly went dead Dunnkin Class A Motorhome Discussions 55 11-19-2012 11:26 AM
No power to 120v outlets Furniss Class A Motorhome Discussions 6 03-31-2012 02:38 PM
120v Electrical Outlets not working in 03 MDDS rbguinn Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 8 09-11-2008 06:35 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×