Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-27-2021, 11:13 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 2
Surge Guard 40250 read high voltage where none exsists

OK Before i get told to search the site. I did. Found people with the same problem. Ways to fix it by jumpering JMP8 . But the problem, I have is i think mine is an earlier version. It has no JMP8 but it does have several pots on the board. Problem is i cannot find any information about this board. If anyone has any information on the pots it would be much appreciated.
cherwinsk is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-28-2021, 06:11 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
CountryB's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 5,720
How are you reading the voltage? Do you have the Aladdin system?

There is a circuit board in the SurgeGuard unit, but I didn't see any jumpers/pins on it. Not sure what your jumpering.

On my coach the voltage/amperage is displayed through the Aladdin system.

There is connection (like a telephone cable) that connects the SurgeGuard to the Aladdin AC-DC module. I had a bad AC-DC module giving me false readings. I had to replace that Aladdin module to correct the problem.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SureGuard 40250 Transfer Switch - current transducer.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	102.2 KB
ID:	347417   Click image for larger version

Name:	SurgeGuard 40250 data port location.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	139.4 KB
ID:	347418  

__________________
Mike --- 2005 Beaver Patriot Thunder CAT C13 525HP --Links below to my OneDrive docs---
*SMC, Beaver, Monaco History, Problems https://1drv.ms/f/s!AtvAXw_lfqbToxXYREK9YdBP08Jn
*Monaco Wiring Diagrams https://1drv.ms/f/s!AtvAXw_lfqbTm0WTuuNqpn9a8hCh
CountryB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2021, 11:36 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 2
aladin system

yes im reading high on my aladin system. at times it shuts down shore power due to high voltage.
cherwinsk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2021, 02:10 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
CountryB's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 5,720
If it was just the "reading" being off - I would say the Aladdin module is bad. But if you're actually having the system shut down then it must be something else (like an actual high voltage issue or a mechanical issue in the transfer switch or EMS unit).

Have you put a voltmeter on the terminals in the transfer switch (or at the 50A shore power plug) and verified that the voltage is correct getting "to" the transfer switch?

Do you get correct voltages and does the display read correctly when running the generator?
__________________
Mike --- 2005 Beaver Patriot Thunder CAT C13 525HP --Links below to my OneDrive docs---
*SMC, Beaver, Monaco History, Problems https://1drv.ms/f/s!AtvAXw_lfqbToxXYREK9YdBP08Jn
*Monaco Wiring Diagrams https://1drv.ms/f/s!AtvAXw_lfqbTm0WTuuNqpn9a8hCh
CountryB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
surge guard



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SURGE GUARD PROTECTION - on Tiffin Progressive vs Surge Guard? JimLuk Tiffin Owner's Forum 17 12-24-2020 10:36 PM
Re: recalibrate or replace 40250-RVC SurgeGuard Auto-Transfer Switch? laplatarosa Class A Motorhome Discussions 2 08-09-2020 10:45 AM
Surge Guard 40250-RVC Problem rvmaybe Country Coach Owners Forum 5 03-03-2019 03:39 PM
False High Voltage Indication, Surge Guard 40250-RVC RVNeophytes2 RV Systems & Appliances 1 08-29-2013 07:35 AM
Frank's Super Automatic 50 amp Voltage Booster and Surge Guard. Logthumper RV Systems & Appliances 2 08-29-2006 08:23 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.