RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2020, 05:04 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,070
Temporary Inverter Removal

Hi Folks!

If I wanted to remove my inverter temporarily would this mean I would lose all power to the motorhome?
__________________
Best!
Bob Jones - 2000 Monaco Diplomat
ISC315 with Linnig Electromechanical Fan
BobJones is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-26-2020, 05:08 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Washington
Posts: 589
It depends on what you mean by remove and how your motorhome is wired.

If you take it out and leave all of the wires disconnected then yes, you will lose power to anything on that circuit.

If you take the inverter out and connect your 120 volt wires together then you would keep power on those circuits. Of course this assumes you have a 120 volt source of power coming into your RV.
__________________
2016 Chevy 3500 DRW, crew cab (Soon to be 2014 Volvo 630).
2016 Fuzion 325T
675ah AGM, MSH 3012 inverter, 960w Solar.
Nwcid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2020, 05:10 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 21,749
A very large portion of the 120 volt circuits would go down .

On your main 120 volt circuit breaker panel , turn off the " inverter circuit breaker " doing so will tell you what to expect when the inverter is removed.

You'll also lose battery charging , so your 12 volt systems won't have power for long.

Are you trying to live in the coach while the inverter is out?

What's the problem that it needs removal?
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2020, 05:57 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,070
Hi guys - many thanks for the replies.

I'm on shore power (50 Amp) and would like to remove the inverter completely for inspection and possible adjustment. It's looking like the charging circuit float voltage is a little high and there are pots in there that can be adjusted.

But...I would want to keep the unit powered up for obvious reasons (I'm living in it!).

It looks like this. I'm guessing the two lines at the front are feed lines or one feed and one outlet?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20201126_155300.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	335.2 KB
ID:	309419  
__________________
Best!
Bob Jones - 2000 Monaco Diplomat
ISC315 with Linnig Electromechanical Fan
BobJones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2020, 06:04 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 25,577
Don't know how much troubleshooting you've done, but have you tried it with the battery temperature sensor unplugged.

If its out of range, it effects float voltage.

Most default to 77F with out the sensor.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2020, 06:08 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,070
Yes, that was the first thing I did. The BTS is working correctly (I have a brand new one to compare it to) and I put it in ice and boiling water to get the thermistor temperature points. So the BTS is good.

If I disconnect it, it goes too low. Call me weird, but after 20 years of service I would not mind getting in there and ultrasonically cleaning it. I also saw several potentiometers in there and I'm sure one of them will be for dialing in the charging circuit.

So if I could remove it, and keep power to the unit, I would have lots of time to look into it.
__________________
Best!
Bob Jones - 2000 Monaco Diplomat
ISC315 with Linnig Electromechanical Fan
BobJones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2020, 06:08 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1,512
Can you remove the inverter/ charger and "wire around it"?


SURE.


IF YOU ARE SAFE WORKING AROUND 120 VAC:


Connect 120 VAC IN to 120 VAC OUT.


Remove 12 VDC positive from battery or in-line fuse.


You will need to find an alternate means to charge the batteries.
__________________
Brett Wolfe
Ex: 2003 Alpine 38FDDS. Ex: 1997 Safari Sahara. Ex: 1993 Foretravel U240
wolfe10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2020, 06:19 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 21,749
Coach batteries all in good shape , one bad battery in the bank and the float charge voltage just won't come down.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2020, 06:35 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
96 Wideglide's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6,960
What float charge voltage are you seeing?
__________________
Ben & Sharon
2008 43' Holiday Rambler Scepter PDQ
96 Wideglide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2020, 06:47 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skip426 View Post
Coach batteries all in good shape , one bad battery in the bank and the float charge voltage just won't come down.
That's a good point. I just replaced all 4 with new Trojan T105's about a week ago. That also gets me thinking....According to Trojan it can take up to 50 discharge cycles before the batteries 'break in'.

I should probably run them through a bunch more cycles to get them 'evened' out. Nevertheless, I have a hydrometer and I will check each cell level tomorrow because your point is valid.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 96 Wideglide View Post
What float charge voltage are you seeing?
It seems to vary. Earlier I was seeing 14.06v and I just measured it a few minutes ago and I'm seeing 13.8v Due to the age of the inverter I cannot adjust the float level on a screen. It is supposed to float them at 13.3v not taking into account the BTS. According to Trojan, the float level, temperature adjusted, should be 13.5875

What I am seeing on my panel is a constant change from float to charge, float to charge. It never settles in on just float. Now, I do have 12v lights on all over the unit. So my assumption is that the power for those is coming from the batteries. I also have a Xantrex Echo charger on there to charge my starting batteries. And...there is a draw on the coach side.

This makes me wonder if my understanding is correct. If I have 12v lights on inside, and there is a draw on the coach batteries from the starting batteries, then perhaps its normal to see the inverter going from float to bulk all the time as it's replenishing the coach batteries?

Btw, I was reading in the manual that, ideally, the thermistor (BTS) should be insulated from outside temperatures so that it gets a more accurate read on the battery temperature. This makes sense and I happen to have some insulating tape lying around so I wrapped it up.

*I just checked the voltage at the batteries and it's 14.04/14.05v
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20201126_163113.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	286.2 KB
ID:	309424  
__________________
Best!
Bob Jones - 2000 Monaco Diplomat
ISC315 with Linnig Electromechanical Fan
BobJones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2020, 07:34 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
96 Wideglide's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6,960
Yeah, mine is float charging between 13.9 - 14.0V at this temperature.

Your charger shouldn't be bouncing between float and bulk though.
__________________
Ben & Sharon
2008 43' Holiday Rambler Scepter PDQ
96 Wideglide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2020, 08:40 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
JerryLook's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 166
I have a Trik-L-start I’m about to install in my Diplomat, and I have the same inverter as you Bob. As it is right now, my house batteries stay around 13.8v, and my panel shows float charge 99% of the time. I know there is a draw on my chassis batteries, because they get drained down into the mid 12 volt range in between me driving the coach. So I’m curious if my inverter is going to act the same as yours once I install the charger.
__________________
2000 Monaco Diplomat 38A
Cummins 8.3 ISC 315HP
JerryLook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2020, 08:52 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,070
I would like to know that as well Even so, it's good to know that you are 99% floating.

On the RC9 panel my voltage bounces back & forth between 13.5 and 14 and I see the charging part also bounce around between float and bulk.

[Mod Edit]
__________________
Best!
Bob Jones - 2000 Monaco Diplomat
ISC315 with Linnig Electromechanical Fan
BobJones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2020, 10:44 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
JerryLook's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 166
Man your panel is freaking out! That’s strange.

We keep our car keys in the cabinet where the inverter panel is (so I have that door open a bit), and the only time I see it go to bulk is when I put the slide in or out. It will go to bulk for 30 sec or so and then back to float. Also the red light comes on under the 25% mark when it’s in the bulk mode.
__________________
2000 Monaco Diplomat 38A
Cummins 8.3 ISC 315HP
JerryLook is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter, removal



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Temporary removal of captain's chair McKTX MH-General Discussions & Problems 10 03-21-2016 07:13 AM
Temporary battery use, Inverter njs42 RV Systems & Appliances 4 04-15-2014 07:31 PM
Disconnecting batteries for temporary storage TheJazzMan Newmar Owner's Forum 2 05-26-2009 06:19 PM
Dumping Air for a Temporary Period? OldForester Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 25 12-04-2008 08:18 PM
Welcome temporary Irish DonavonP Just Conversation 3 03-19-2007 07:38 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.