Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-21-2021, 04:21 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 5
Thermostat wiring

Have a 2009 Monaco…..no power to the thermostat. Any ideas?
Foxtrotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-21-2021, 04:30 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxtrotter View Post
Have a 2009 Monaco…..no power to the thermostat. Any ideas?
check the wires for a bad connection at the terminals, or maybe even a section of wire that got bent or crimped and shorted or otherwise needs to be cut past the bad part and re-connected. If it's a new digital model, batteries need to be checked.
BrandonMc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2021, 04:50 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Talloaks's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Kalamazoo MI
Posts: 309
Have you checked your house 12 volt dc fuse panel? My coach has one fused circuit that feeds the thermostat.
__________________
John
2007 Country Coach Tribute; Cat C9 400; 2012 Ford Edge toad; Roadmaster Blackhawk 2 10,000 lb tow bar; Demco AF1 Braking System; 2007 BMW K1200LT Hannigan Trike Conversion; Member, IEEE, NFPA, PMI, NRC SRO (Ret).
Talloaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2021, 04:58 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 28,600
Some T Stats are powered by the heater wiring. A place to check.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2021, 07:27 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
greystroke's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Spring Hill, Florida
Posts: 1,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxtrotter View Post
Have a 2009 Monaco…..no power to the thermostat. Any ideas?
I have an older model but I recently upgraded to the newer Dometic digital thermostat and it gets its power from the com cable that goes to one of the two control boxes in the roof air conditioners. 12V goes to control boxes. If yours gets power from the com cable check for oxidation of both ends of the com cable. Looks like telephone wire but it is not.
__________________
98 Endeavor DP, ISB275
RX300, Falcon II hitch, BB Vantage Select
VMSpc, 2002 Grey Ford Powerstroke
TST 507 w/ 10 Sensors
greystroke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2021, 09:00 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 5
Power from the com cable

We have 3 com cables and the red one is open on all 3. Will check the power box in air unit next.
Foxtrotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2021, 10:24 AM   #7
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 9,527
Check the fuses in the bedroom. May be forgotten or hidden inside the closet.

My block shows F13 but there is a layout showing on mine. A test light is a very quick way to simply touch each end of the fuses. If it lights on both ends of the fuse the fuse is good.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
400 Isl, 400 HP/// Now 450 HP
2016 Ford F150 Limited V6 with Ready Brake
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2021, 10:35 AM   #8
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 48,253
I agree with the others that it sounds like a 12VDC fuse blown. Check your main 12VDC fuse panel for a fuse labeled A/C or Thermostat.
__________________
Joe & Annette
Sometimes I sits and thinks, sometimes I just sits.....
2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2021, 07:09 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Jeff753's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Coastal Campers
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2,109
The on off switch can come loose from the PC board. See if you wiggle the switch in the on position do you get power on the display. It's pretty easy to resolder the switch to the board if that's the issue.
__________________
Jeff
2001 Monaco Dynasty tag axle
2006 Jeep Wrangler
Jeff753 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2021, 09:57 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 5
The fuse blows as soon as we replace it. There’s a short in one of the wires.
Repairman says the control box is located on the roof under the AC shroud. Sounds like we’re taking it into the shop. Scheduling is 5 weeks out. Great!
Foxtrotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2021, 06:35 AM   #11
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 9,527
Sounds like you found the fuse location, can you please share where that fuse is?

Did the person that checked things out for you take any of the inside air conditioner covers off?

I will try to find a schematic to see the path of the power. I believe the power wires are in a nasty pile or bunch after you take the internals off. They did a lousy job of installing the wiring on mine and the power wires could easily be messed up right there.

That said, start with the front air conditioner and inspect the internal side or if you want the easier route, turn of the AC breaker that feeds the air conditioner in the front and take the shroud off the front AC unit. The control panel is inside a metal box. It will be obvious when you open things up.

If you have cleaned your AC condensers you should be familiar with the insides.

Look closely at any wires that come from the inside of the coach up through the air path hole. You will have to take off a shroud to get a good look at the wiring path.

Take some pictures of the wiring as you go. Try not to tug and pull on any wires at first. You need to take a very careful look at the wires trying to find any suspected chafes or pinches.

The ac manufacture has done some really sloppy work putting these things together and finding a shorted/pinched wire is sure possible.

Once you have a very close look, go ahead and gently pull any wire harness or cables a bit away from any possible places where they can be rubbed or pinched.

What size fuse is popping instantly??? Where is it located??

If you need a control board they may be available but at the age of the AC units you might consider replacement.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
400 Isl, 400 HP/// Now 450 HP
2016 Ford F150 Limited V6 with Ready Brake
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2021, 08:09 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 5
10 A fuse is in the 12 volt panel in the bathroom. It also feeds the tv booster. A schematic would be wonderful.
Foxtrotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2021, 09:30 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Happycarz's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 2,187
08 & 09 Camelot’s use the same wiring, with only a few nuances.

Does your door awning work? It should be on same fuse.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3780.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	437.7 KB
ID:	344027

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0647.JPG
Views:	3
Size:	364.7 KB
ID:	344028
__________________
Harry

2008 Monaco Camelot 40' PDQ
Happycarz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
thermostat, wiring



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing Duo-Therm thermostat with Hunter thermostat tpcollins Class A Motorhome Discussions 4 10-02-2018 02:10 PM
Remote thermostat for roof air residential thermostat swap?? supertramp Travel Trailer Discussion 6 01-12-2017 08:39 PM
Upgrade Duo-Therm thermostat to a Honeywell RTH230B Thermostat Ray Wallace RV Systems & Appliances 7 12-07-2009 08:22 PM
Tru-Air Thermostat Wiring Diagram abn Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 6 07-09-2008 06:13 AM
Propane thermostat vs. True-Air electronic thermostat John_Canfield Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 5 10-18-2005 02:32 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.