RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-09-2020, 10:57 AM   #1

Trailer brake question

I have a 2005 HR Ambassador diesel pusher motorhome that the brake lights come on when the Pacbrake is activated. So my question is , when I am coming down a grade with the engine brake on, but not applying the service brakes, will the trailer brakes be activated. My concern is overheating the trailer brakes. I have installed a Tecomseh Prodigy P3 controler with the brake light signal coming off of the Monaco box in the front compartment ( wire#102 ), and running through a relay to make it a positive signal.

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-09-2020, 11:44 AM   #2

It depends on the brake controller. It has the inertia sensor in it that sends voltage to the brakes.

I don't think a brake light signal will apply the brakes, it needs to be slowing.

twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 11:53 AM   #3

Quote: