RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2020, 10:57 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 6
Trailer brake question

I have a 2005 HR Ambassador diesel pusher motorhome that the brake lights come on when the Pacbrake is activated. So my question is , when I am coming down a grade with the engine brake on, but not applying the service brakes, will the trailer brakes be activated. My concern is overheating the trailer brakes. I have installed a Tecomseh Prodigy P3 controler with the brake light signal coming off of the Monaco box in the front compartment ( wire#102 ), and running through a relay to make it a positive signal.
__________________

__________________
Earle Casteloes
castelek is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-09-2020, 11:44 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 21,817
It depends on the brake controller. It has the inertia sensor in it that sends voltage to the brakes.

I don't think a brake light signal will apply the brakes, it needs to be slowing.
__________________

twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 11:53 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Watertown NY USA
Posts: 3,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
It depends on the brake controller. It has the inertia sensor in it that sends voltage to the brakes.

I don't think a brake light signal will apply the brakes, it needs to be slowing.
I believe it's a combination of both.
I would check with the manufacturer to be sure.
Lynn
__________________
2002 Fleetwood Storm 30H on Workhorse P32 chassis 8.1 gas.
LETMGROW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 02:17 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
joeplazek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: CAISTOR CENTRE
Posts: 600
I know this has been a problem in the past with controllers. I was lucky and my brake lights don't come on with my Jake hence no need for worry. I would be very concerned if your controller switches on with the brake lights. Like said in previous post check with Manufacturer. And in previous post the controller is effected by the inertia of slowing with the brake lights on by sending more current to the brakes.Mine does not activate at all from the inertia of decreasing speed without the brake lights on.





joe
joeplazek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 03:29 PM   #5
Senior Member


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Blairsville, GA & WPB, FL
Posts: 2,726
Send a message via ICQ to Ivylog
Better with a Inertia controller but still going to put some braking on. There is a fuse on a board in the front run box you can pull so the brake lights do not come on.
__________________
This post is my opinion, worth what you paid for it.
Our ”New” ride...08 HR Navigator 45’. A nice upgrade after 14 years with a 04 Dynasty 42’.
Ivylog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 03:34 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
153stars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Braidwood Il.
Posts: 1,367
I think brake light switch connect activates early brake/boost setting before enersia kicks in it can be turned off completely for small toad probably not necessary at all . There are a ton "google and U-tube" of other vids you could probably learn more than most people on here in an hour of flipping through them. When I do car repairs i look up an A-1 auto type vid and a couple good ole boys that figured out to do it easier or less disassembly with DIY tools.


https://www.towingproducts.net/Appli...ons/N90195.pdf
__________________
95 Monaco Crown Royale
M11 400hp, 4060 trans.
Aquahot, Generac Guardian7.5k
153stars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 07:22 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 6
Do you know which fuse to pull, so that the brake lights don't come on with the exhaust brake?
__________________
Earle Casteloes
castelek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2020, 05:06 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Kurt Averill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 180
Earle - Don't know about the fuse, but you are on the right track. I know several people that have damaged trailer brakes coming down long grades with an engine or exhaust brake on. Some coaches have a separate circuit for the trailer brake controller so it only sees power when you are on the brakes and not when just the ex brake is activated.
__________________
99 Executive 38 - no slides
M11 450 pulling a 28' race car trailer
Kurt Averill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2020, 05:20 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 21,817
Jack up a trailer wheel, step on the MH brake and see if the trailer brake comes on, by turning the tire.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2020, 05:39 AM   #10
Senior Member


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Blairsville, GA & WPB, FL
Posts: 2,726
Send a message via ICQ to Ivylog
Quote:
Originally Posted by castelek View Post
Do you know which fuse to pull, so that the brake lights don't come on with the exhaust brake?
Yes, but not sure your Ambassador will have the same F8 board in the front run box for various lights.
__________________
This post is my opinion, worth what you paid for it.
Our ”New” ride...08 HR Navigator 45’. A nice upgrade after 14 years with a 04 Dynasty 42’.
Ivylog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2020, 05:50 AM   #11
Senior Member


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Blairsville, GA & WPB, FL
Posts: 2,726
Send a message via ICQ to Ivylog
OK, enough fun ^^^^^. It’s the middle 15A fuse that’s only plugged into one spade.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	F2CDEC61-51DC-4EB2-B365-A1174E2EE277.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	302.2 KB
ID:	281080  
__________________
This post is my opinion, worth what you paid for it.
Our ”New” ride...08 HR Navigator 45’. A nice upgrade after 14 years with a 04 Dynasty 42’.
Ivylog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2020, 06:47 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1,784
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivylog View Post
OK, enough fun ^^^^^. It’s the middle 15A fuse that’s only plugged into one spade.
That is interesting, I have the same fuse which is good but do not have brake lights on with the engine brakes. I'll have to check that out.
__________________
2007 Monaco Signature Noble III 45' ISX 600HP
hypoxia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2020, 07:36 AM   #13
Senior Member


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Blairsville, GA & WPB, FL
Posts: 2,726
Send a message via ICQ to Ivylog
Before the naysayers chime in above no brake lights when using the Jake Brake (in my case)... do the brake lights come on in a gas rig when you gear down and use the engine to slow you down???
NO, they do not... what’s the difference? If I’m actually stopping or slowing down substantially I will use the service brakes so the brake lights come on.
__________________
This post is my opinion, worth what you paid for it.
Our ”New” ride...08 HR Navigator 45’. A nice upgrade after 14 years with a 04 Dynasty 42’.
Ivylog is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 04:08 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Watertown NY USA
Posts: 3,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivylog View Post
Before the naysayers chime in above no brake lights when using the Jake Brake (in my case)... do the brake lights come on in a gas rig when you gear down and use the engine to slow you down???
NO, they do not... what’s the difference? If I’m actually stopping or slowing down substantially I will use the service brakes so the brake lights come on.
I'm with you on this. If I am slowing down I want anyone behind me to know it.
Lynn
__________________

__________________
2002 Fleetwood Storm 30H on Workhorse P32 chassis 8.1 gas.
LETMGROW is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
brake, trailer



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trailer brake education, Excursion 360 diesel towing aluminum car trailer Goebs Fleetwood Owner's Forum 11 02-04-2018 07:32 AM
location fuses for trailer tow package and of wiring for trailer brake controller gcessac Monaco Owner's Forum 2 05-26-2016 11:55 PM
Motor home brake lights work but trailer brake lights don't Gerdean Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 9 09-11-2013 10:04 PM
Brake "sense" for trailer brake controller?? dshogman Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 6 08-19-2011 10:22 AM
brake lights on trailer using exhaust brake gto19 Monaco Owner's Forum 3 07-30-2009 11:35 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×