RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2012, 08:49 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 17
Transfer switch in-op

Finally got my 2001 Monaco Monarc home.Really new at this so bear with me.
Had never heard or for that matter knew if the generator ran. Started right up. Waited a couple minutes then tried A/C it worked. I had new house batteries put in so I hooked up to 110v outlet, plugged the adapters into the camper cord, transfer switch hummed pretty loud I thought but relays do hum and thought I was being to cautious, put refer on A/C and it started cooling down so I thought enough for one day. Left it plugged in overnight came back, batteries full charge refer cold, so I thought I had it made. Got a 230v three prong plug and checked voltages everything was normal. 115v on each side to ground. Plugged camper into it and the transfer switch really hummed or vibrated and quit after 30 seconds. Now the transfer relays do not engage and I have no voltage on downstream side of relays. Started generator, A/C does not work. Checked what breakers I could find all seemed ok. Has to be a fuse , but where? Have read the owners manual but I guess I have missed something. Pretty upset with myself.
Any hints?
Thanks ,
Con
oldernewby is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-03-2012, 09:13 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Mike Canter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
I hope you just made an error and 230 v three prong plug wrong and really meant to say 110 volt 30 amp three prong plug? If you really plugged it into 230 volts then that caused the problem.
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 10:17 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Mageksl's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: LaBarque Creek, MO
Posts: 287
As Mike said if you plugged it into 230v that would be your problem. You probably let the smoke out of your transfer switch.
__________________
2001 Monaco LaPalma
Workhorse W-22
Chevrolet 8.1L
Mageksl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 10:20 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
4Knights's Avatar
 
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,798
You say you plugged into 230volts, how? Did you connect to your dryer outlet in the house? If so you may have just fried your auto transfer switch which is why even though your gen set runs you get no power. Not an electrician, just read multiple threads about folks and electricians wiring outlets wrong. From what I read you need 30/50 amp RV Outlet on the house with single pole breaker, that way you get the needed power at 110/120volts not 220/240 that a dryer outlet provides.
__________________
Ron & Wendy-Kansas
94 Pace Arrow 34 ft
25 yr Army retired 2006
4Knights is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 06:31 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 17
Thanks folks,
Yup thats what I did. Hooked to dryer outlet...
No wonder I am not rich, have to keep repairing my stupid mistakes.
Con
oldernewby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 06:36 AM   #6
Registered User


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,198
As long as you're buying a new transfer switch, they make some nice ones these days with built in surge protection and such
JimM68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 06:49 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
mahon1993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fowlerville, Mich.
Posts: 606
Isn't this about the 10,000th time this had happened to someone??
Greg
__________________
2000 Monaco Diplomat 40PBD
2012 Grand Cherokee Limited
2008 FatBoy, three spoiled Great Danes and a cat.
mahon1993 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 07:15 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Mike Canter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
Now 100001
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.