Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-30-2021, 04:17 PM   #1

Monaco Owners Club
Trip Cancelled Due to Electrical

Hello fellow RVers....
Well I had a short lived trip today on my way to Gatlinburg and suddenly had an electrical issue in my coach and had to return home on limp mode. Now don't know if this is Monaco specific. I am not a great electrician by any means so excuse me for this long question....
For the issue itself. I was 15 minutes away from home and noticed immediately my Alt Chrg" and "Trans" lights lit up on the dash and then my review camera went out. Almost everything went out except the coach still running. The voltage on the dash dropped below 8 volts (New chassis Batteries). I limped in a parking lot. shut it down except the generator i had on to run my roof A/Cs. But on the inverter itself (Xantrex Model 2012), the system alert light was blinking red non-stop. Now all indications were the steady blinking lights was not covered in the inverter document. So I called the Xantrex reps. One told me that the steady blinking red light was a overcharge in system and only way to reset it is to disconnect the chassis battery for about 30 minutes. I have done that. Powered back on the inverter is steady green again. I went ahead and replaced the chassis batteries because i drained them to 9.6 volts. Coach fired right up. inverter stayed green. I even checked the input DC 13.64v and output A/C voltage on the inverter and it was 120 vac.