RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-16-2020, 10:24 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Just For Fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,434
Where is the Auto Transfer Switch?

It appears that I have a loose connection on the Auto Transfer Switch - connection between my 12.5K generator and the coach. Anyone out there in MonacoLand know what it looks like and SPECIFICALLY where I can find it to check the connection?????

THANKS
__________________
2006 Monaco Signature 45' Commander IV ISX 600
2013 Avalanche toad
And a rather large and very hairy Bear for a traveling companion
Just For Fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-16-2020, 10:27 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
vito.a's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 4,468
It's in one of the basement compartments, usually on the drivers side. Ours is in the same compartment as the Aqua Hot mounted to the front wall divider. Black metal box.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Power transfer switch.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	394.3 KB
ID:	301289  
__________________
97 Monaco Windsor- Sold
07 Monaco Executive McKinley- Sold
04 Monaco Signature Chateau IV
vito.a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2020, 10:30 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Just For Fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,434
Quote:
Originally Posted by vito.a View Post
It's in one of the basement compartments, usually on the drivers side. Ours is in the same compartment as the Aqua Hot mounted to the front wall divider. Gray metal box.
You've always been good at this stuff!!! Any chance you have a picture you can forward?
__________________
2006 Monaco Signature 45' Commander IV ISX 600
2013 Avalanche toad
And a rather large and very hairy Bear for a traveling companion
Just For Fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2020, 10:48 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Just For Fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,434
Quote:
Originally Posted by vito.a View Post
It's in one of the basement compartments, usually on the drivers side. Ours is in the same compartment as the Aqua Hot mounted to the front wall divider. Black metal box.
THANK YOU KIND SIR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
2006 Monaco Signature 45' Commander IV ISX 600
2013 Avalanche toad
And a rather large and very hairy Bear for a traveling companion
Just For Fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2020, 05:51 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 7,475
Check the breaker(s) on you generator and make sure it is passing power.
Occasionally my 7.5 throws the breaker resulting in now power in the coach. Flip it off & on and all is good.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2020, 08:41 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Just For Fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,434
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacwjames View Post
Check the breaker(s) on you generator and make sure it is passing power.
Occasionally my 7.5 throws the breaker resulting in now power in the coach. Flip it off & on and all is good.
Jim: I've posted this on another thread as well.

Cummins did a thorough job of checking my generator out as well as a total service for 1,000+ hours. It appears that this problem may be my Auto Transfer Switch - as others have suggested. Their tech check all of the "connections" visible. But did NOT tear the switch apart to determine if the problem was internal.

For those with similar rigs, do we have one or several transfer switches?
__________________
2006 Monaco Signature 45' Commander IV ISX 600
2013 Avalanche toad
And a rather large and very hairy Bear for a traveling companion
Just For Fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2020, 06:35 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 7,475
Most rigs have 1 transfer switch as there is a 50 amp power feed from shore power.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2020, 06:59 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
K7JV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,492
Here is a drawing I made, extremely basic, to show how the 120VAC and the 12VDC (Both the "House" and the "Chassis" battery) systems are interconnected.

This is applicable to our '06 Dynasty. Makes, years and models are like snowflakes. No two are alike. So this may not be totally descriptive of how yours is designed, but the basic principles are probably applicable across a fairly wide range of coaches.

There is only one transfer switch on our coach, and yours as well. The '06 Signature and the '06 Dynasty are nearly identical when it comes to the fundamental systems designs. Options and trim, not so much.

I hope this may be helpful, one day.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Single Line - Main DC & AC (Front 1) copy.pdf (44.6 KB, 6 views)
__________________
Jim & Angie, Boise, ID
2006 Monaco Dynasty Countess III
2017 GMC Acadia Denali
K7JV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2020, 11:06 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Just For Fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,434
Quote:
Originally Posted by K7JV View Post
Here is a drawing I made, extremely basic, to show how the 120VAC and the 12VDC (Both the "House" and the "Chassis" battery) systems are interconnected.

This is applicable to our '06 Dynasty. Makes, years and models are like snowflakes. No two are alike. So this may not be totally descriptive of how yours is designed, but the basic principles are probably applicable across a fairly wide range of coaches.

There is only one transfer switch on our coach, and yours as well. The '06 Signature and the '06 Dynasty are nearly identical when it comes to the fundamental systems designs. Options and trim, not so much.

I hope this may be helpful, one day.
All very helpful.

Question: To check for tight or loose connections. Is this a job for an electrician? If not, should I disconnect ALL electrical connections first and ONLY THEN attempt to tighten all connections?
__________________
2006 Monaco Signature 45' Commander IV ISX 600
2013 Avalanche toad
And a rather large and very hairy Bear for a traveling companion
Just For Fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2020, 05:32 AM   #10
Senior Member


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Blairsville, GA & WPB, FL
Posts: 3,451
Send a message via ICQ to Ivylog
Did the problem start after the 1000 hour service? Yes with all 110V disconnected you are safe.
Side note: your inverter has a transfer switch
__________________
This post is my opinion, worth what you paid for it.
Our ”New” ride...08 HR Navigator 45’. A nice upgrade after 14 years with a 04 Dynasty 42’.
Ivylog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2020, 07:04 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
K7JV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,492
Good catch, Ivylog. You are right, the inverter does have a transfer function built into it. In coaches designed like ours, it switches the 120 VAC supply to your "house" breaker panel to come from either the 120 VAC shore or generator power supply when shore or generator power is available or to the inverter output when using the coach batteries with the inverter. JustForFun's coach is configured like ours is. I don't know how serviceable the transfer switch is in the inverter, but I suspect it could be a very difficult project.

As for tightening the connections in your transfer switch, if your generator is not running and you are not connected to shore power, there should be no hazardous voltages present in your transfer switch.
__________________
Jim & Angie, Boise, ID
2006 Monaco Dynasty Countess III
2017 GMC Acadia Denali
K7JV is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
switch, transfer switch



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transfer switch didn't transfer/switch jimmy braden Class A Motorhome Discussions 29 06-03-2018 11:04 AM
Problem with auto transfer switch sharksgirl21 Class A Motorhome Discussions 20 07-25-2012 07:24 PM
6.5 KW Onan Auto Transfer Switch Ragingbull Vintage RV's 7 11-18-2011 06:20 AM
location of auto power transfer switch. jmurphy5 Vintage RV's 3 10-24-2011 09:15 PM
Auto transfer switch kicks out millred1 Class A Motorhome Discussions 13 08-31-2011 08:47 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.