RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2012, 08:01 PM   #1
Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Louisville, KY @ the moment
Posts: 37
Where’s 12VDC fuse for Norcold refrigerator?

2005 Monaco Cayman 36PDQ
Where would I find a fuse for the 12VDC that goes to the Norcold refrigerator? It’s not in the aft fuse panel in the bedroom above the washer dryer where I’d think it would be.
Had a brief, heavy rain shower yesterday afternoon. DW opened the refer and noticed that there was no interior light. Also the small control panel was dead. Called a repair guy and he said to go outside and open the access panel. He explained what and where the recall unit was. He said to temporarily disconnect the DC power and ground wires from it and temporarily connect them together with a fuse. He said this should temporarily restore operation to the refrigerator. So anyhow that didn’t work. Seems there’s no 12VDC available in the back of the refrigerator. So hopefully it’s just a blown fuse somewhere.

Thanks in advance for any ideas.
Tom.
__________________
Tom&Mel with a new Red Wrangler Unlimited toad & a 2005 Monaco Cayman 36PDQ to tow the toad.
Tomthepilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-27-2012, 09:28 PM   #2
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 16,296
Tom

From the outside access panel, you'll see a black box about 4"X6" mounted to the back of the refer in the lower left corner. Take the cover off. There are two fuses, one glass (old style automotive) and one mini fuse. I would start there.

When your recall fire shutdown box was installed, they removed the 12 volt power lead from the back of your refer and plugged it into their box. They then took the lead from their box and plugged it back into your refer. It should be pretty obvious which wire was your original power source for the refer. It;s the only OEM wire going to the box.
__________________
Don & Mary
2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4018 (Freightliner)
2019 Ford Raptor
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 08:26 PM   #3
Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Louisville, KY @ the moment
Posts: 37
Thanks for the reply Don,
Found the fuse in a panel in the basement… left side forward most bay under the drivers seat. Mostly chassis stuff. Who knew. Had to get a mobile repair guy to come help me find it.

Regards,
Tom. (chillin the beer again… sort of… it is after all still only a not-so-cold)
__________________
Tom&Mel with a new Red Wrangler Unlimited toad & a 2005 Monaco Cayman 36PDQ to tow the toad.
Tomthepilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 11:16 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 119
Wow. I don't think I would want that service guy working on my motorhome. On my recall unit there is no ground. On mine there is the power wire that is supposed to go to the board plugged into the recall unit. then a blue wire that goes to the board where the power wire would plug in. Then a black wire that goes to the heater flue. I am assuming to check for over temp. So if you hooked the power wire to the flue wire it is not going to work. You should be able to see one auto fuse without taking the black cover off. Then when you take the cover off on mine there is another auto fuse and a glass fuse. (there were multiple boards that are set up different)
__________________
Tony G.
98 Monaco Dynasty
gonzo136 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 11:27 PM   #5
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 16,296
Tom......Sorry I didn't recommend the front run bay, when I read through your post I saw you checked the rear fuses and assumed you checked the front.

In the future, you should know that Monaco occasionally links stuff together and one fuse can operate more than the label says it does. Stuff that you think would be in the back is up front.
__________________
Don & Mary
2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4018 (Freightliner)
2019 Ford Raptor
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fuse, norcold, refrigerator



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.