RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2012, 12:22 PM   #1
Registered User


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,198
I'll be installing a wilson "trucker" 3g wireless amp .on my k.night in the very .near future.
Wondering if anyone else has done this...
It's looking like i'll have to drill right thru the side of the bus for the antenna lead?

Any suggestion, previous experience will e most helpful
__________________

JimM68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-16-2012, 12:28 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
AFChap's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: ...hopefully on the road!
Posts: 5,013
I "mounted" the antenna for my amp in a window over the entry door ...secured w/double-sided tape. It works pretty well there.
__________________

__________________
Paul (KE5LXU) ...was fulltimin', now parttimin'
2003 Winnebago Ultimate Advantage 40e
towing 2017 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
Blog at www.pjrider.com
AFChap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 05:30 PM   #3
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7,531
Try to keep the inside and outside antenna as far apart as possible. Without seeing your antenna and coax I can't make any useful suggestions. I own an 08 40skq Endeavor so are the same floor plan I believe. I permanently mounted my antenna but have some special tools to help with running cables inside roofs. It was a bear even with professional tools and 40 yrs of experience.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2012 Ford Edge Limited FWD 3.5L
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 10:50 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 86
Im thinking your using a Wilson thrucher ant. Mine is mounted ,driver side front and comes into cabinet there. Driver side because trees are mostly higher on center of road. Routed the cables to amp. inside of cabinets. Power can be found most any place. I got a dual band ant. and amp to work on internet and phone.
__________________
2005 Monaco LaPalma W24
2005 Ranger,U.S.Gear
Blue Ox
Barski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2012, 11:13 PM   #5
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 15,354
I'm glad this topic came up. I looked at adding a similar system at the FMCA rally, but it was still a little confusing to me as to what is needed. I was looking at this antenna Wilson 301101 Dual Band 'Trucker' Antenna. I was going to mount the antenna on the Winegard crank up, so that it could be raised higher when parked.

They were very specific about keeping the antenna and amp a good distance apart. Mounting the system will not be an issue, but my question is about 3G, JimM68.....did you have any concerns about it being only a 3G system? I know they specifically said that it wouldn't work with 4G.

With everything going to 4G, is this an issue. Will the antenna still work if the amp is upgraded to 4G when they become available? I know the phone will be enhanced, but will this system also improve the internet if an air card, like Verizon's, is used?

Not trying to steal the thread, but wanted to bring up some issues that I think are important to this setup and may help others who are challenged like me in this area.
__________________
Don & Mary
2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4018
2019 Ford Raptor
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 02:04 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
danes-on-tour's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Denmark and Spain
Posts: 2,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimM68 View Post
I'll be installing a wilson "trucker" 3g wireless amp .on my k.night in the very .near future.
Wondering if anyone else has done this...
It's looking like i'll have to drill right thru the side of the bus for the antenna lead?

Any suggestion, previous experience will e most helpful
Jim - 6 month ago I installed a permanent Wilson RV antenna (the one that has a spring at the bottom) on the roof of my Diplomat. It went in right over the drivers seat. This antenna has a long threaded pipe right at the bottom, and the idea is that it is meant to reach from the outside and all the way through the roof structure, where you fix it with a washer and a nut.

Well - first of all the threaded pipe wasn't long enough (you can buy extended rods if you like). Secondly, the roof structure on the inside is as solid as cardboard, which means that clamping the antenna is out of the question.

Here is what I did:
I drilled a hole in the fiberglass roof . I cut a piece og aluminum sheet (approx 2"x4") and made a hole in the centre of this for the threaded pipe/rod to go through. Put a nut on either side of the alu plate - now I had a baseplate for the antenna. Drilled 4 holes in the corners of the alu sheet and pop rivetet the baseplate to the glasfiber roof. Finally I carefulle covered the baseplate with Eternabond adding a dab of Dicor at various joints.

I know that people don't like drilling holes in their roof, but I can honestly say that this works and that I have no regrets at all.

I only connected a wireless router to my antenna, so I am also looking forward to hear peoples experience when adding the Wilson amplifier.
__________________
The Great Dane
2007 Monaco Diplomat PAQ - 2007 Saturn Vue Honorary Texas Boomer
Living in Denmark - visiting the US whenever possible. www.winnebago.dk www.lasramblas.dk

danes-on-tour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 05:30 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
nodine's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA
Posts: 3,651
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Danes Are Coming View Post
Jim - 6 month ago I installed a permanent Wilson RV antenna (the one that has a spring at the bottom) on the roof of my Diplomat. It went in right over the drivers seat. This antenna has a long threaded pipe right at the bottom, and the idea is that it is meant to reach from the outside and all the way through the roof structure, where you fix it with a washer and a nut.

Well - first of all the threaded pipe wasn't long enough (you can buy extended rods if you like). Secondly, the roof structure on the inside is as solid as cardboard, which means that clamping the antenna is out of the question.

Here is what I did:
I drilled a hole in the fiberglass roof . I cut a piece og aluminum sheet (approx 2"x4") and made a hole in the centre of this for the threaded pipe/rod to go through. Put a nut on either side of the alu plate - now I had a baseplate for the antenna. Drilled 4 holes in the corners of the alu sheet and pop rivetet the baseplate to the glasfiber roof. Finally I carefulle covered the baseplate with Eternabond adding a dab of Dicor at various joints.

I know that people don't like drilling holes in their roof, but I can honestly say that this works and that I have no regrets at all.

I only connected a wireless router to my antenna, so I am also looking forward to hear peoples experience when adding the Wilson amplifier.
I used this method to install a CB antenna on top of the front cap. The only thing I would add is to place a large wire lug at the base of the antenna and connect a wire from that to the steel frame running near the top of the front cap. Gives you a better ground plane.

Bob
__________________
Bob and Pam
2006 Diplomat 40PDQ
2013 Silverado Z71 CrewCab
nodine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 09:24 AM   #8
Member
 
CoolJourney's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fulltimer
Posts: 88
The link below shows how I setup our Wilson Trucker Antenna on our 07 Monaco Diplomat with a minimum of drilling. This setup has worked quite well for us over the past three years.

Wilson Trucker Antenna Installation


Just another option to consider.

Bill
__________________
2007 Monaco Diplomat 40PDQ
2007 Honda CR-V
CoolJourney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 09:34 AM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
 
RickO's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 10,530
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Danes Are Coming View Post

I know that people don't like drilling holes in their roof, but I can honestly say that this works and that I have no regrets at all.
X2

We use our Verizon Air Card with a Cradlepoint 350 wireless router and I wanted to add the Trucker's antenna so I mounted it to my crank up Batwing TV antenna.

I passed the coax through a hole in the roof I drilled. I installed a low profile "junction box" on the roof which I mounted in a bed of Dicor with self tapping stainless screws and routed the coax down in to cabinets above the dash. I now have a pass through from the roof in to the interior in case I need to fish wires through in the future.

BTW, mounting it on the Batwing has worked very well. We even get good reception while in motion with the Batwing down.

Good luck.

Rick
__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 07:05 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Bob (WA0MQE)'s Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: St. Cloud, FL
Posts: 1,526
Blog Entries: 1
FYI, 3G operates on 1.9 GHz, while 4G LTE which is Verizon and I think, AT&T operates on 700 MHz.

Typical Trucker antennas are designed for 3G (1.9 GHz and 800 MHz). So for the new 4G make sure you get an antenna and for that matter the proper amp for the system you are on.
__________________

__________________
Bob 2006 Monaco Camelot 40PDQ
US Navy Carrier Battlegroup 1959/1965
Winters in Florida, Summers in Blue Ridge Mountains
Bob (WA0MQE) is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×