Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Monaco Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-21-2022, 02:12 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 535
Wiring all 110v outlets to inverter?

Confused here with the wiring. Currently only my #5 circuit breaker is wired to the inverter. This covers approx 50pct of the outlets in the coach. The other outlets are on circuit #6.

I'd like all of the outlets available on the inverter and assumed I could add a 12awg jumper between the two breakers to enable this.

(To get it out of the way.... We don't use anything besides laptop chargers and computer monitors. No coffee. No microwave on inverter. No blenders. Nothing that could even get close to 15a should we have everything plugged in at once on both circuits.)

While inverting I'm not seeing any voltage at all at the breaker panel. I know that the transfer switch bypasses the main breaker but assumed that the inverted outlets would backfeed back into the panel? Why does that not happen?

Is there any easy way to accomplish what I'm trying to do?
__________________
2000 Monaco Diplomat 38D
Fffrank is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-21-2022, 02:30 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 26,446
The power flow goes from the ATS to the circuit breaker panel from the C/B panel on the one line to the inverter , then to the inverted outlets .

When power from the C/B is detected in the inverter , the inverting stops and battery charging starts . Determined by and internal control board .
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2022, 03:12 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 30,387
That breaker #5 wire run into the inverter/charger and then out to the outlets .

To do what you want, you need to take the wire out of #6 breaker and run it to the output of the inverter/charger.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2022, 07:19 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 535
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
To do what you want, you need to take the wire out of #6 breaker and run it to the output of the inverter/charger.
That doesn't sound easy at all. I'm not sure there's an easy wire chase that I can access. Would it be possible to run from one of the outlets in the storage bin? I can't remember off the top of my head if those are on the inverter or not......
__________________
2000 Monaco Diplomat 38D
Fffrank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2022, 07:41 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 11,484
You will have to figure out the routing of the wire for all the outlets and determine if you can get wire from the inverted circuit to the noninverted circuit This can tie in anywhere but you'll have to remove the wires from the breaker to tie the two circuits together.

Doesn't sound easy to me based on how my coach is wired. All my wires go into the ceiling and then to the different locations.



I had to chase a problem with my bedroom circuit (which was inverted) and it took me a while to figure out the routing. It went from the inverter subpanel, mounted next to the main panel. to the bedroom slideout, then to the outlet behind the TV, then to the outlets in the base cabinets in the bedroom, to the toilet room and then to the basement. Ya, nothing is easy.



While I had eveything apart I decided to add a second smaller inverter so if I wanted I could power my refrigerator off of it.

This may be an option for you depending what you want to do.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2022, 05:05 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
RustyTools's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,160
There's quite a few items (electric blankets, CPAP, some refrigerators, etc) that won't function with MSW inverter-outlet power, and may even overheat or fail. I found that the hard way after trying to do what you are considering.
Be sure to check.
__________________
2008 Camelot 40’ PDQ
RustyTools is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2022, 10:05 AM   #7
Member
 
Firewrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 82
Our coach(21Accolade) was set up similar, only a few outlets on inverter. All the rest were on a breaker in main breaker panel. Both panels under the bed, about a foot apart. I was able to move the “other” breaker to the inverter sub-panel, there was empty slots. There was enough slack in the Romex to move the breaker without messing with the output wiring. Now all outlets work when inverting, no change in GFCI function that I can see.
The reason I did it is so I can plug an extension cord into basement outlet and run it into car trailer for a battery tender.
Firewrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2022, 10:51 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Posts: 3,294
Currently only my #5 circuit breaker is wired to the inverter. This covers approx 50pct of the outlets in the coach. The other outlets are on circuit #6.

I'd like all of the outlets available on the inverter and assumed I could add a 12awg jumper between the two breakers to enable this.

It was wired this way for a vary good reason. The inverter is not powerful enough to run everything.

You do not add a jumper of any type. You must remove circuit breaker #6 from the main panel and insert it in the inverted sub panel. The connected wire goes with it.

(To get it out of the way.... We don't use anything besides laptop chargers and computer monitors. No coffee. No microwave on inverter. No blenders. Nothing that could even get close to 15a should we have everything plugged in at once on both circuits.)


Don't worry, a circuit breaker on the inverter will trip if you try to use too much. If it trips too often, the breaker may eventually fail.

While inverting I'm not seeing any voltage at all at the breaker panel. I know that the transfer switch bypasses the main breaker but assumed that the inverted outlets would backfeed back into the panel? Why does that not happen?


Sorry there is no "backfeed" for AC power systems. The main panel is powered by shore power. No shore power mean no voltage. The transfer switch in your inverter/charger/transfer switch makes sure that it works this way. Some people have been killed or injured by backfeeding.

Is there any easy way to accomplish what I'm trying to do?

Remove circuit breaker #6 from the main panel and insert it in the inverted sub panel.
__________________
Paul Bristol
Kodiak Cub 176RD
Nissan Pathfinder 2015
Persistent is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2022, 11:04 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Eastern outskirts of Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,661
Listen to Persistent - and you’ll be around to tell us how this worked out for you!
__________________
‘91 Ultrastar Champion‘02 Georgie Boy Landau 8.1l Workhorse
‘03 Jeep Wrangler TJ 2018 Jeep Wrangler JK toad
MrMark52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2022, 11:06 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 123
On my 2000 dynasty (same year - different model) I have 2 electrical panels - one panel is everything before the inverter- then the power goes through the inverter- then to the 2nd panel.

Is that the way your system is wired?

The inverter that was originally in my rig, would invert on both legs of power.

What inverter do you have in your rig?
__________________
Michael Loosle
2000 Monaco Dynasty 36’
2018 Jeep JKU
Rocketman3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2022, 11:26 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Eastern outskirts of Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,661
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocketman3 View Post
On my 2000 dynasty (same year - different model) I have 2 electrical panels - one panel is everything before the inverter- then the power goes through the inverter- then to the 2nd panel.

Is that the way your system is wired?

The inverter that was originally in my rig, would invert on both legs of power.

What inverter do you have in your rig?
If you are for certain talking inverter and not convertor - the inverter powering one or both legs of the coach’s electrical system is somewhat a function of how much battery bank the coach has.
__________________
‘91 Ultrastar Champion‘02 Georgie Boy Landau 8.1l Workhorse
‘03 Jeep Wrangler TJ 2018 Jeep Wrangler JK toad
MrMark52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2022, 08:20 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 535
Quote:
Originally Posted by RustyTools View Post
There's quite a few items (electric blankets, CPAP, some refrigerators, etc) that won't function with MSW inverter-outlet power, and may even overheat or fail. I found that the hard way after trying to do what you are considering.
Be sure to check.
Have replaced MSW with PSW already.
__________________
2000 Monaco Diplomat 38D
Fffrank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2022, 08:24 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Posts: 535
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMark52 View Post
Listen to Persistent - and you’ll be around to tell us how this worked out for you!
Unfortunately my main C/B panel is in a storage compartment above the bed. The original inverter never had a circuit breaker panel -- it was wired directly to two different circuits.

When I replaced the inverter with a Xantrex 2000w pure sine wave, I added two breakers in a sub panel in the storage compartment with the inverter.

Since these panels are so far apart I'm not sure there's an easy way to combine my circuits as planned.
__________________
2000 Monaco Diplomat 38D
Fffrank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2022, 08:53 AM   #14
Travel Nurse Chauffeur
 
vyndance's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 310
If I'm reading this right, you can get a 12 ga wire from one panel to the other? If so disconnect the wire from the breaker on circuit 6 in the main and nut it to your new wire to a breaker on the inverter sub panel.
__________________
Bob & Barbara
2004 Monaco All Electric Signature Castle 45. S60
2020 JLU Diesel RBE II
vyndance is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter, wiring



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
110v outlets dead / Inverter not charging GFI not tripped / Breakers on Magnum reset RicSteel Monaco Owner's Forum 12 11-21-2019 10:51 AM
No 110V when plugged into 110V shore power Beacoal iRV2.com General Discussion 4 10-12-2018 07:18 PM
Inverter too small for all 110V outlets RV Vagabond iRV2.com General Discussion 20 07-18-2016 12:18 AM
No 110v from shore .... Generator 110v OK Fred420 Monaco Owner's Forum 18 03-23-2012 05:39 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.