Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Excel Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 08-27-2007, 05:49 AM   #1

This is the first in a series of five posts on my experiences with a broken frame on our 2004 Excel 36RDO.

Purchasing a quality RV in 2004 was our first step in preparing for a full-time RV lifestyle. By trade I am a researcher and a consultant, with clients from coast to coast and from Michigan to Texas ... the RV lifestyle is the best possible choice, allowing my wife and me to spend time together while traveling to meet the needs of my customers. We love it.

Since picking up our new 2004 Excel 5th wheel in mid 2004, we've traveled approximately 45,000 to 50,000 miles ... pulling our trailer with a 2004 Dodge Ram dually. We've spent a winter in the Oregon mountains, where temperatures dropped to minus 10, and we've spent time in Arizona when the temperature was a 112. We've traveled through the tail end of a hurricane, with rain so hard that I-70 was closed because of flooding; and we've traveled through a dust storm in the California desert that was as thick as any fog. Through it all, our Excel trailer has been a comfortable and faithful companion.

Then our frame broke. This is the story about the consequences; the solution; and our resulting impressions of Excel and Peterson Industries. The next four posts will cover:

Excel Broken Frame – Our Long Road to the Factory

Excel Broken Frame – The Factory Repair

Excel Broken Frame – Our Impressions