RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Thor Industries Owner's Forum > Damon
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-30-2007, 04:32 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hurricane, Utah
Posts: 177
On my installation I just installed a 50 amp receptacle in the power cord compartment and powered it from the inverter output. Whenever I unplug from shore power I plug in to the inverter 50 amp receptacle and since the gen is already wired to a transfer switch, I don't have to mess with anything except the inverter on off switch.

Since it is a 50 amp service I only powered one hot leg. My unit was already wired with the converter, microwave and rear AC on one leg and everything else on the other which is a reasonable load balance(if yours is not like this it is easy to change by swapping the wires on the breakers). You could also put the microwave on the inverter powered leg.

The important thing is the converter, one AC unit and electric water heater element(if you have one) should not be on the inverter powered leg. Even though you don't want to power the AC, it would not be a good idea to put them both on the same leg.

It is also a good idea to put the reefer on the non inverter leg, but this might be difficult as it is tied into the receptacle circuit which you probably want to power. I just switch it to gas only when we are not on shore power, eventually I will run a new non inverter circuit.(that should be fun)

When I plug the inverter in everything is powered except the converter, microwave and rear AC. I also located the inverter reasonably close to the batteries and inside the RV so it is easy to shut down.

Sam
__________________

__________________
2004 315 Damon Challenger
Ford F53 20,500
Hurricaner is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-30-2007, 04:32 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hurricane, Utah
Posts: 177
On my installation I just installed a 50 amp receptacle in the power cord compartment and powered it from the inverter output. Whenever I unplug from shore power I plug in to the inverter 50 amp receptacle and since the gen is already wired to a transfer switch, I don't have to mess with anything except the inverter on off switch.

Since it is a 50 amp service I only powered one hot leg. My unit was already wired with the converter, microwave and rear AC on one leg and everything else on the other which is a reasonable load balance(if yours is not like this it is easy to change by swapping the wires on the breakers). You could also put the microwave on the inverter powered leg.

The important thing is the converter, one AC unit and electric water heater element(if you have one) should not be on the inverter powered leg. Even though you don't want to power the AC, it would not be a good idea to put them both on the same leg.

It is also a good idea to put the reefer on the non inverter leg, but this might be difficult as it is tied into the receptacle circuit which you probably want to power. I just switch it to gas only when we are not on shore power, eventually I will run a new non inverter circuit.(that should be fun)

When I plug the inverter in everything is powered except the converter, microwave and rear AC. I also located the inverter reasonably close to the batteries and inside the RV so it is easy to shut down.

Sam
__________________

__________________
2004 315 Damon Challenger
Ford F53 20,500
Hurricaner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 05:27 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Chandler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hampton Falls, NH
Posts: 363
Sam, not a bad idea. I wonder if they're all wired like that? We have a 50 amp site this weekend and I'll trip one breaker at a time on the post and see what works.
You are going to keep me very busy!

Btw, I took the wiring diagram you sent me and played with it. I never knew I had that program on my computer. How did you copy the pictoral image of the solenoids?

Chandler
__________________
2002 Damon Challenger 348

Wife, Dee
Chandler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 06:10 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hurricane, Utah
Posts: 177
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content"> I wonder if they're all wired like that? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I'm pretty sure yours is identical to mine. You will not be able to test it on a 50 amp breaker as they are tied together just like your main breaker in the MH panel. What you can do is, start your gen pull the cover and shut off one breaker, than reinstall the cover and see what does and doesn't work, that will tell you how the power is split between the legs. Note: This is probably only going to work with one of the breakers, the one that powers the transfer switch. Let me go check just to make sure.
Yep that's the way it works on my 5500, if you turn off the upper Onan 30 amp breaker the MW, rear A/C and converter are all on, my inverter operates the opposite leg. If you turn the other breaker off nothing works because the transfer switch has no power. Time for another drawing?

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">How did you copy the pictoral image of the solenoids?
</div></BLOCKQUOTE> On the acrobat reader menu their is a graphics selection tool that allows you to select and copy graphics. There is also a text tool. These don't work with all PDF files. From there you can just paste it into paint

Sam
__________________
2004 315 Damon Challenger
Ford F53 20,500
Hurricaner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 07:30 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Chandler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hampton Falls, NH
Posts: 363
Thanks Sam! I'm heading out to finish loading the MH for our trip this weekend. I'll try your tip.
Later tonight I'll play with adding images to my schematic.

Chandler
__________________
2002 Damon Challenger 348

Wife, Dee
Chandler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 04:17 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Roving, Datastorm users 3192
Posts: 755
One thing... So long as you pay attention to the balancing of loads you can "Shuffle" the breakers a bit to get the loads you want on the leg the inverter powers.

Just remember AC one to a leg

Hot water heater and microwave One to a leg

The remaining loads I will let you decide but you do not want the converter on the powered leg
__________________
Nothing adds excitement like something that is none of your business.
2005 Damon Intruder 377W Radio Active as WA8YXM
John-D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 04:37 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
max49's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Forest River Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 3,194
Dang!, it sounds like Hurricaner is not only an electrical wizard but also darn good with the computer too.
Good to have a guy like that on our Damon forum.
I just basicly plug the entire 50 amp cord with adapters into my inverter and I've got power to every thing. Of course the inverter will shut it all down if I draw too much at once. I also trip the circuit breaker for the converter. It works for me but if I knew as much as Hurricaner about MH's electrical system, I'd do it like him. However my inverter is in an outside compartment with a remote swith inside. Biggest hassle is turning the converter circuit breaker off. Some times when I'm driving down the road and the alternator is charging the batteries, I don't turn the converter off. do you think that may be a mistake? Haven't noticed a problem yet.
__________________
Max49
2018 Forest River Georgetown F-53
'08 Wrangler & '08 Suzuki Vitara Toads
Rocky Mountain High, Colorado
max49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 04:58 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Chandler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Hampton Falls, NH
Posts: 363
Hey Max! We do this all the time. I run the laptop with the nav software and the wife runs her heating pad.
It's not much of a load on the charging system. We turn off the converter, switch the 'fridge to gas and away we go.

Chandler
__________________
2002 Damon Challenger 348

Wife, Dee
Chandler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 05:22 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hurricane, Utah
Posts: 177
John-D, Great post, right on the money.

Sam
__________________
2004 315 Damon Challenger
Ford F53 20,500
Hurricaner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2007, 06:40 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 11
Hurricaner can you send me schematic and picsof your install? TIA
FEDowner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 06:55 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hurricane, Utah
Posts: 177
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Hurricaner can you send me schematic and picsof your install? TIA </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
As of right now, I don't have either. What specifically would you like to know?

Sam
__________________
2004 315 Damon Challenger
Ford F53 20,500
Hurricaner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2007, 07:39 PM   #12
Member
 
Provelogear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: So Cal
Posts: 35
Sam,

Where did you locate your inverter and how is it tied into the batteries?

Sounds easy!
__________________

__________________
Gerald, Emi, Mike, Mel, Dani & Rossi (mini pinscher)
2007 Challenger 376 F53
Provelogear is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inverter Install Question HuBee RV Systems & Appliances 3 11-11-2008 11:44 AM
WW Inverter install JRBurn Toy Haulers Discussion 4 03-21-2007 02:47 PM
What inverter/charger should I install? Jim D MH-General Discussions & Problems 11 12-27-2005 05:20 AM
Power Inverter install GoldWingGL Pop Up, Tent Trailer and Teardrop Topics 9 05-26-2005 06:02 PM
Scottsdale inverter install Ron - 33' Scottsdale Newmar Owner's Forum 3 05-06-2005 07:24 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×