RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Thor Industries Owner's Forum > Damon
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2010, 09:21 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
max49's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Forest River Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 3,194
Transfer Switch location

Anyone know where it is located in an '05 Daybreak 3270? I assume that is also the delay when you start the generator, is that correct?
Thanks
__________________
Max49
2018 Forest River Georgetown F-53
'08 Wrangler & '08 Suzuki Vitara Toads
Rocky Mountain High, Colorado
max49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-22-2010, 09:46 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
powerboatr's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East Texas
Posts: 4,680
yes there is a delay when you start up the genny

as for your transfer switch, i am not sure. Mine is in the rear power cord compartment right on the bulkhead
__________________
USN Retired, Life time member of the DAV.
Enjoying the 2008 Damon Tuscany 4056, #3998 no your eyes are fine, there are really 6 slides
2016 Expedition or 2012 Edge toads

powerboatr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 09:52 PM   #3
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,595
The delay in genset start up is in the genset itself. Transfer switches, to my knowledge, don't have a delay.
Follow your shore cable to a box that is most likely about 6" x 6" x 3"......could be plastic or metal. It will have two more cables terminating inside. One other one will be coming in from the genset adn the other will be going out to your circuit breaker panel.
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 10:31 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Flagelpater's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 460
FWIW At least some Transfer Switches Do Have Time Delay PCBs. On my unit it is located within the TS Box. It also has an override switch located on the board.
__________________
2005 Monaco Knight, 3 Slide, 38' PST, Cummins 330 ISC, 34,000 miles on this one!
VMSpc, PressurePro, BrakeSwitch, DeLorme SA2010

2005 Honda CRV, Blue Ox, SMI Brake, TomTom Go 720
Flagelpater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 10:42 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
max49's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Forest River Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 3,194
Thanks for tips guys, I have heard they can be problematic with age so I want to know where it is, if it does mess up. I have heard the delay is in the transfer switch and it can permanently delay if it malfunctions. I guess there is a way to bypass it in an emergency, but I need to know where it is. I'll look for it in the shore cord compartment tomorrow.

Flagelpater, what is a "TS Box" ?

On my old class c , where there was no transfer switch, you had to either plug into the generator or shore power, there was no delay. It had an Onan 4000 and my Daybreak has the Onan 5500
__________________
Max49
2018 Forest River Georgetown F-53
'08 Wrangler & '08 Suzuki Vitara Toads
Rocky Mountain High, Colorado
max49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 10:57 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
mavric65's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 445
mine is located under my bed . there is a wood panel that un screws and the box is there
__________________
2008 Damon Daybreak 3135,F53,2011 CR-V toad SMI Stay in Play Duo
Why wait for retirement enjoy life now !!!!!!!!!!
Me , DW, 2 kids and Kasey 8 year old yellow lab
mavric65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 11:56 PM   #7
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,603
The transfer switch should be near the shore power chord. Open the box and you should see a small circuit board. The bypass on mine is a very small switch on the circuit board.
georgetown350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 10:19 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Flagelpater's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 460
max49 The TS stands for Transfer Switch. The PCB Printed Circuit Board ( Time Delay Switch) on my unit is about 2.5 inches by 1.5 inches. There is a LED (Light Emitting Diode) on the board also. Sorry but not sure, I think the LED ON means the PCB is okay. Also, there is a DIP Switch, Don't know what DIP stands for, it is very small and you use something like the tip of a ball point pen to move it to OFF. When it is in the OFF position it is the same as if the PCB was not even in the circuit. The GenSet should pick up the load right away. That is why you need to allow the GenSet to warm up a bit before you put the load to it. Also, don't get confused by the additional time delay PCB's in the AirConditiong System. They wait about 3 minutes before the AC will turn On, starting from the point when the thermostat calls for it to turn On. Again, sorry for all of the abbreviations. We are all confused when we start out.
__________________
2005 Monaco Knight, 3 Slide, 38' PST, Cummins 330 ISC, 34,000 miles on this one!
VMSpc, PressurePro, BrakeSwitch, DeLorme SA2010

2005 Honda CRV, Blue Ox, SMI Brake, TomTom Go 720
Flagelpater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 02:01 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
KC1BUD's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by max49 View Post
On my old class c , where there was no transfer switch, you had to either plug into the generator or shore power, there was no delay. It had an Onan 4000 and my Daybreak has the Onan 5500
So weird, I had a 1973 class C without a generator. My 1986 Champion had a Generator and an automatic transfer switch. But on my 1996 Winnebago you had to plug into either shore power or the generator, like you described. On the old Champion, The generator itself would hardly run but once you got it to run the transfer switch worked perfectly. Both the Winnebago and the Champ had 4K Onan generators.
KC1BUD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 09:34 PM   #10
Member
 
woltz's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Southern MD
Posts: 39
Mine is under the bed. It is also an integrated part of the battery charging system and the circuit breakers and power center for the whole rig. Access is gained by lifting the bed and unscrewing the fake wood panel on top just inside the front.
__________________
KG and Bonnie
'04 Damon, Daybreak 3270 on WH-P32 usually towing trailer w/Harley
woltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 10:49 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
expo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lodi, Ohio
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flagelpater View Post
Don't know what DIP stands for, it is very small and you use something like the tip of a ball point pen to move it to OFF. .
FYI, DIP= dual in-line package...thus the row of dual position switches.
__________________
2004 Damon Daybreak 2960 V-10---2005 Honda Element pusher
Happily RV'n since 1970
expo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 01:59 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
KC1BUD's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by expo View Post
FYI, DIP= dual in-line package...thus the row of dual position switches.
I would guess it could be a difference in size, DIP in electronics has more than one meaning. It could be switches as you said dual position inline switches or dual inline leads like most intergrated circuit(IC) packages.
KC1BUD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 02:33 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Flagelpater's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 460
FWIW The little parts of the DIP that move with the tip of a pen act like switches, ON or OFF.
__________________
2005 Monaco Knight, 3 Slide, 38' PST, Cummins 330 ISC, 34,000 miles on this one!
VMSpc, PressurePro, BrakeSwitch, DeLorme SA2010

2005 Honda CRV, Blue Ox, SMI Brake, TomTom Go 720
Flagelpater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2010, 10:58 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
Quote:
Originally Posted by max49 View Post
Anyone know where it is located in an '05 Daybreak 3270? I assume that is also the delay when you start the generator, is that correct?
Thanks
First: Yes it is the dealy

Second: I found mine (2005 Intruder 377W) by thinking.. I visualized the generator's location, the power inlet's location (Where I plug in the shore power cord) and the breaker box

Well.. at the spot where it made absolute sense to bring the wires together there was a cabinet with a block off panel behind the door

I removed the panel

There it was


NOW: I realize that many times "Sense" and the layout of a motor home have very little to do with each other.. But that's how Damon did it on mine

So, Where is your gen-set , Your inlet, and your breaker panel?

And do you have any cabinets which are half blocked off, or a small cabinet where logically you should have a big one?
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Location of switch for drivers map light Magumba Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 10-29-2009 07:25 PM
Replacing transfer switch Lindenberg Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 6 07-15-2008 01:54 PM
ellectronic transfer switch stevecrid MH-General Discussions & Problems 11 04-03-2007 01:51 PM
transfer switch Stubborn MH-General Discussions & Problems 8 09-09-2006 01:21 PM
Power/Automatic Transfer Switch Jack Barbic MH-General Discussions & Problems 4 09-17-2005 08:21 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.