RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Thor Industries Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-16-2015, 10:58 AM   #1
Member
 
Odin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 54
No 120v power to coach from generator ACE 29.2

I have a Cummins/Onan KY series 4000 watt generator. The genny runs but I get no power to the coach. Shore power works fine. I've come to the conclusion that it's either the transfer box under the bed or the circuit breaker switch on the front of the genny. I opened the transfer box and can see no evidence of shorts or anything. There is 120v when shore power is on, but zero volts when shore power is off and genny is running. I opened the gray plastic electrical box above the genny and there is zero power there. The circuit breaker on the front does toggle on/off. How can I tell what the problem is?
__________________

__________________
2013 Thor ACE 29.2 "Indy"
Full time since Dec 2016
Odin is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-16-2015, 11:46 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 257
There is a breaker on the generator. Might check that one if you haven't already.
__________________

__________________
2013 Thor ACE 29.2
Harlee79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 11:55 AM   #3
Member
 
Odin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harlee79 View Post
There is a breaker on the generator. Might check that one if you haven't already.
Yes, that's what I meant when I said "The circuit breaker on the front does toggle on/off". There is no difference on or off...
__________________
2013 Thor ACE 29.2 "Indy"
Full time since Dec 2016
Odin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 03:18 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Daveht's Avatar


 
Thor Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: May 2015
Location: El Paso TX
Posts: 394
I don't know your setup, but you will find a circuit breaker in the battery compartment also for the generator. Usually mounted on the wall. Try that!
__________________
Dave + Linda
2015 Palazzo 36.1
2010 Honda CR-V toad and Roadmaster Sterling
FMCA F451520 - Texas Boomers - RVM#128
Daveht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 03:41 PM   #5
Senior Member
Commercial Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 726
You need a meter to check for voltage. Visually, you have already checked, now is the time for more intense checking.


Sent from my iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum
TravellingRVDoctor, LLC
__________________
Traveling RV Doctor
https://www.facebook.com/Traveling-R...5780632151951/
shiggs68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ace, generator, power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Battery Power to Coach LairdT Toy Haulers Discussion 10 01-09-2015 06:47 AM
14 Aspire Coach power consumption.WOW!! $$$ donscomp Entegra Owner's Forum 31 11-07-2014 04:16 PM
Started coach with shore power still plugged in DogHouse Jim Fleetwood Owner's Forum 13 11-07-2014 08:57 AM
ACE 29.2 generator runs, but no 120v power to coach Odin Thor Industries Owner's Forum 8 07-27-2014 12:05 PM
No coach power w/o coach batteries Turbofans Newmar Owner's Forum 3 04-24-2014 04:21 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×