Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Thor Industries Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2021, 07:40 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Seabee Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 108
No 12vdc

2015 Thor Miramar POS; I have no 12vdc in the panel in the back of coach under the bed, consequently, no 12vdc in the cigarette lighter sockets in the cockpit. Where is the "feed" for the 12vdc panel? I'm thinking it must be coming from another fuse panel somewhere, but I can't find it.

Any help will help.

Chief
Seabee Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-11-2021, 10:21 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 85
Check battery connection switch and make sure they are charged.
Wrenchch3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2021, 03:57 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
triplewide's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 2,030
Things to check:


1. Battery switch in "Use" position
2. Battery voltage with engine off, generator off, and no shore power, should be 12+ volts. Battery voltage with (one at a time) engine on, generator on, shore power on, should be 13+ volts with each one on.


On my Miramar 34.2 I believe the 12 volt converter is in the power bay with the shore cords and transfer switch. It's a bit early here yet. I'll check later this morning and post what I find.
__________________
1998 Min Winnie, 2000 Winbago Journey, 2015 ACE 29.3
2016 Thor Miramar 34.2
triplewide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2021, 06:13 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
triplewide's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 2,030
Only the inverter and transfer switch are in the power bay. Unplugged coach and ran lights etc for a few minutes then plugged it back in. When plugged back the converter turned on and sounded as if it is under the bed. Don't have the slide out so can't lift bed. As I recall it is in the covered compartment under the bed with all the wiring and rear of distribution boxes.
__________________
1998 Min Winnie, 2000 Winbago Journey, 2015 ACE 29.3
2016 Thor Miramar 34.2
triplewide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2021, 09:11 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
andy29847's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 843
Dc power normally comes from the batteries. The path is normally form the house batteries to a big fuse (house fuse) to a smaller fuse (mine is on the ceiling of my battery compartment and is self resetting), to the DC panel. The house disconnect switch will be in that circuit somewhere (usually found in the stairwell). NO Dc power is normally caused by bad batteries or the disconnect switch is turned off.
__________________
2001 Alpine Coach 38/8
ACA 2018006
Andy
andy29847 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2021, 06:54 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Thor Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Catonsville,MD
Posts: 18
The cigarette outlets in the cockpit is under the hood. I blow a fuse trying to add another cigarette outlet. Its a strange Large fuse. One I had never seen before. Picked up a new one at an auto supply store. It was a bear to find.
gpowell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2021, 08:37 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Seabee Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by gpowell View Post
The cigarette outlets in the cockpit is under the hood. I blow a fuse trying to add another cigarette outlet. Its a strange Large fuse. One I had never seen before. Picked up a new one at an auto supply store. It was a bear to find.
That was the problem, gpowell. The fuse box on firewall had a blown fuse; MAXI 20 amp. A bear to find, indeed. After four auto supply stores in Tremonton, Utah, I finally found some at a small independent auto supply in Anaconda, Montana. He had four....I bought four. Plugged the new on in and all three of my cigarette lighter sockets work. Don't know for how long, because I don't know what blew the fuse. I only had one originally from the factory and had two more added at a local shop in New Braunfels, Texas. I committed a cardinal sin when discussing this with the shop that added them for me. I ASSUMED he would put the new ones on dedicated circuits. Bad assumption.....they are all connected together on one circuit. I have not been successful yet in finding a wiring diagram for the F53 chassis. I find it hard to believe that one 12vdc plug would require a 20amp fuse.

On a lighter note....opening the cover on the fuse box was quite an adventure. It completely stymied three grown, supposedly relatively intelligent men. I finally found a YouTube that showed me how to open it.

Onward, through the fog.

Chief
Seabee Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2021, 08:41 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Damon Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 2,007
Blog Entries: 3
Chief; you may want to add a public profile, so folks can see what year, make and model your rig is.
Here is the diagram for the 2006 F53.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot (61).jpg
Views:	11
Size:	123.4 KB
ID:	332310  
__________________
2006 Damon Daybreak 3276 35'with 5 Star Tuner. 3 200 Amp Lithium batteries and 2000 watt PSW inverter/charger. 2013 Elantra on a Master Tow dolly.
Retired AF
HarryStone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2021, 04:32 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
triplewide's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 2,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seabee Chief View Post
That was the problem, gpowell. The fuse box on firewall had a blown fuse; MAXI 20 amp. A bear to find, indeed. After four auto supply stores in Tremonton, Utah, I finally found some at a small independent auto supply in Anaconda, Montana. He had four....I bought four. Plugged the new on in and all three of my cigarette lighter sockets work. Don't know for how long, because I don't know what blew the fuse. I only had one originally from the factory and had two more added at a local shop in New Braunfels, Texas. I committed a cardinal sin when discussing this with the shop that added them for me. I ASSUMED he would put the new ones on dedicated circuits. Bad assumption.....they are all connected together on one circuit. I have not been successful yet in finding a wiring diagram for the F53 chassis. I find it hard to believe that one 12vdc plug would require a 20amp fuse.

On a lighter note....opening the cover on the fuse box was quite an adventure. It completely stymied three grown, supposedly relatively intelligent men. I finally found a YouTube that showed me how to open it.

Onward, through the fog.

Chief



Your original post noted no 12 volts in the rear distribution panel. Did replacing the fuses on the firewall correct this?


Is this the video you watched?:


__________________
1998 Min Winnie, 2000 Winbago Journey, 2015 ACE 29.3
2016 Thor Miramar 34.2
triplewide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2021, 09:35 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Seabee Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by triplewide View Post
Your original post noted no 12 volts in the rear distribution panel. Did replacing the fuses on the firewall correct this?


Is this the video you watched?:


yes and yes.
Seabee Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2021, 02:53 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
triplewide's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 2,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seabee Chief View Post
yes and yes.



I did not know the 12 volt outlets in the cab were tied to the 12 volt distribution panel. Thanks for watching my video.
__________________
1998 Min Winnie, 2000 Winbago Journey, 2015 ACE 29.3
2016 Thor Miramar 34.2
triplewide is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
converter fan not operating/12VDC circuit problem Ray,IN RV Systems & Appliances 5 07-27-2007 11:19 AM
12vdc Fluctuation Nick and Sheila MH-General Discussions & Problems 5 03-16-2007 05:50 AM
12VDC outlet unfinished91 Excel Owner's Forum 5 12-20-2006 03:31 PM
Converting a120 AC Stereo to 12VDC Long Haul Ken RV Systems & Appliances 3 05-16-2006 06:17 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.