RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Thor Industries Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2017, 06:43 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Cedar Creek, Tx
Posts: 96
Thor AC flashing "E 4"

We have a 2014 Thor Siesta and I ran the generator, motor and air conditioning last week for about 15 minutes. Got in it today and when we turned on the air conditioner, the Dometic thermostat was flashing "E 4". The unit came on but we immediately shut it down. Anyone know where to look up this code? Thanks............
__________________

tickfarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-22-2017, 07:18 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 19,924


You didn't mention what model of Dometic thermostat you have, so some of this may not apply. Download the manual for your model thermostat here.

Various other responses to an E4 error suggests it could be:

Out of range value for outside temperature sensor. Probably only true if you have a heat pump rooftop A/C unit)

Here's a list of Dometic Thermostat codes:


Not sure if this is the same for all models.

To reset:
Press the “+” button and, while holding it, also press and hold
the On/Off Mode button for three seconds. LCD will show
? ? . Press the On/Off Mode button again to turn system off.
This completes the initialization.


Again, not sure if this is for all models of thermostat.

Another suggestion was to pull the fuse for the furnace in the house panel, wait 30 seconds or so, then replace fuse. This is also a 'reset' method.
__________________

__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2017, 07:32 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Cedar Creek, Tx
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by BFlinn181 View Post


You didn't mention what model of Dometic thermostat you have, so some of this may not apply. Download the manual for your model thermostat here.

Various other responses to an E4 error suggests it could be:

Out of range value for outside temperature sensor. Probably only true if you have a heat pump rooftop A/C unit)

Here's a list of Dometic Thermostat codes:


Not sure if this is the same for all models.

To reset:
Press the + button and, while holding it, also press and hold
the On/Off Mode button for three seconds. LCD will show
? ? . Press the On/Off Mode button again to turn system off.
This completes the initialization.


Again, not sure if this is for all models of thermostat.

Another suggestion was to pull the fuse for the furnace in the house panel, wait 30 seconds or so, then replace fuse. This is also a 'reset' method.
Thanks Bob. We'll try the above tomorrow morning. Of course, we are trading it for a class A the end of the month. I told the salesman "everything works".
tickfarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2017, 05:35 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
RDFTravelers's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Coastal Campers
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Central, FL
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by tickfarm View Post
We have a 2014 Thor Siesta and I ran the generator, motor and air conditioning last week for about 15 minutes. Got in it today and when we turned on the air conditioner, the Dometic thermostat was flashing "E 4". The unit came on but we immediately shut it down. Anyone know where to look up this code? Thanks............
Had this same issue with one of our units and tried the resets mentioned in the other post but was not successful in removing the error codes. This seems to be pretty common with these units.

Since it is recommended to remove power from the unit I again removed the fuse then removed the inside cover from the vent area and also removed the power molex plug from the control box in this area. After putting it all back together and restoring power error code was gone. This was several months back and have not had any issues since.

Assuming your unit is similar to what we have in the Palazzo, I hope this may help if the normal reset trouble shooting does not workout.

Safe Travels to All.
__________________
Robert, Donna, & Fay (Shih Tzu)
Dutch Star 4018 & 2016 Jeep Cherokee
BlueOx & Air Force1 FMCA Member #F456717
RDFTravelers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2017, 05:58 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Cedar Creek, Tx
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by RDFTravelers View Post
Had this same issue with one of our units and tried the resets mentioned in the other post but was not successful in removing the error codes. This seems to be pretty common with these units.

Since it is recommended to remove power from the unit I again removed the fuse then removed the inside cover from the vent area and also removed the power molex plug from the control box in this area. After putting it all back together and restoring power error code was gone. This was several months back and have not had any issues since.

Assuming your unit is similar to what we have in the Palazzo, I hope this may help if the normal reset trouble shooting does not workout.

Safe Travels to All.
Thanks Robert. I'm trying to avoid CW at all cost.
tickfarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
thor



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thor DAMON RV's & Thor Tech information "007" Damon 14 01-30-2020 05:45 PM
Thor Diesel Club (TDC) v/s Thor Motor Coach Owners Club (TMCOC) TheArnolds Thor Industries Owner's Forum 12 12-30-2015 05:10 PM
2013 Thor ACE vs 2015 Thor ACE ISURV8 Thor Industries Owner's Forum 6 09-11-2014 03:29 PM
Thor Chateau vs. Thor Four Winds TandCplusRV Class C Motorhome Discussions 4 03-25-2013 12:16 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×