RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Thor Industries Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-08-2015, 10:24 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Deanza11350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 4
Thor Tuscany Power Question

We have a Thor Tuscany 40GQ. When we are hooked to shore power, (50 amps) we can only run one ac and only shows 30 amps. But if generator is running, it sees 66 amps and no problem with 2 two ac. Is anyone else seeing this too?

Diane and Jackie new members
__________________

Deanza11350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-09-2015, 12:48 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Nomad Mike's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Nomadic - Currently Near Lassen NF
Posts: 674


How do you KNOW your hooked to a working 50amp outlet?
__________________

__________________
Luna was born in 2005 and is a Winnebago Journey 34H w/ CAT C7 350
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Nomad Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 03:09 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
Bruce C's Avatar
 
Nor'easters Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: NH
Posts: 5,099
__________________
Bruce & Nancy
FMCA F280542
2004 Bounder 35E
US Navy Vet.
Bruce C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 05:05 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
denlock's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Posts: 2,723
__________________
Tricia & Dennis Lockhart
2010 Ventana 4333
Spartan MM w/Cummins 360 ISC
denlock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 08:42 AM   #5
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 40,916
Hi Diane & Jackie! Welcome to IRV2! We're sure glad you joined us!

It sounds like you are only getting 30 amps from the shore power connection instead of 50. You should have a meter that shows what shore power you are connected to.

Good luck, happy trails, and God bless!
MSHappyCampers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 12:42 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Deanza11350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 4
Had a tech person verify 50 amps, and also hooked up to neighbors power to check. Tech said the smart power control center will not allow any more than 30 amps.
Deanza11350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 12:46 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
hal1phx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Everywhere USA
Posts: 2,094

Hope you get your issue resolved ...
Maybe give Thor a call ... maybe they can help ...
__________________
Hal & Jackie .... 03 TS Select 45DS01
02 Haulmark 20' Edge .... 02 Corvette Rdstr


hal1phx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 12:59 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
mfire1339's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Glendora Ca.
Posts: 1,444
You have a transfer switch between your 50 amp cord and your control center. Check for 240 volts across transfer switch.
__________________
2004 Monaco Monarch
Blueox, SMI, 1990 Wrangler YJ
mfire1339 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 07:07 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Thor Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 194
Scroll through the options on your power center display and verify it is set up to accept 50a. Seems like mine has options for 20, 30 and 50a but I may be mistaken for something else. I'll look tonight when I will be in the RV doing some cleaning.

When I'm plugged in, mine will show the voltage on both legs of the shore power cord. It has no way of knowing the current capacity just the voltage, so you have to tell it to power up what systems based upon your shore power connection. If it thinks you only have a 30a connection, it will only allow so many devices to be used.


And welcome to the board, it's good to see another Tuscany owner.
Agaveguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2015, 06:23 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 24,023
Ok you have an energy manager which checks the incoming power and says it is 30 amp even if you are plugged into a 50 amp outlet somewhere.

Suspect #1 is the outlet.. A proper 50 amp outlet is wired like this

L1-120 v-N-120v-L2
L1----240 v----L2

You can check this with a voltmeter if the prongs are long enough just measure from the center blade (of the 3 flat blades) to each side, Should show 120 volt.. And then side to side, 240 (NOTE voltages are approximate, you can be five volts either side, even a blt lower)

The Manager looks for that 240 volts, If it does not see it it ASSUMES 30 amp. Since on 30 amp instead of L-1 and L-2 you have L-1a and L-1b (both legs are identical).

If the park wired cheap and just fed both legs off the same wire when they "Upgraded" to 50 amps. Your Manager will assume 30.. note also that wiring this way is a fire hazard. but parks still do it.

Suspect #2 is the energy manager. A blown fuse can cause that problem. So can system failure.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2015, 12:26 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Nomad Mike's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Nomadic - Currently Near Lassen NF
Posts: 674
This video should help, though he makes an error and corrects himself.

Youtube


__________________
Luna was born in 2005 and is a Winnebago Journey 34H w/ CAT C7 350
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Nomad Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2015, 04:21 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Martinichuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 104
Not sure if this will help or not but we own a Thor Tuscany also and experienced an issue with shore power and generator power also.

I was only getting one AC to work and my power center indicated I was on inverter. I determined that only 1/2 the coach was on inverter and the other half was on shore power. That explained why the AC in front worked and the rear didn't. But when we fired up the generator everything worked an was no longer inverting.

I opened the transfer switch and low and behold one of the shore power leaders inside the switch had come loose and was no longer making contact. Reinserted and torqued the set screw and everything works.

I now make it a habit to check all connections at the rear of the coach due to high vibration monthly.

Again, not quit the same but it may help.
Martinichuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2015, 10:59 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Damon Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: North Florida
Posts: 351
i experienced same problem thi.s weekend at Yellow jacket on the Suwannee River. The solution was to throw breaker on and off as ants had gotten into breaker. I did have power but only one leg as proven by surge protectors power lite indicators.
__________________
Mark & Shana Miller
2008 Tuscany 4072 DP
Go Gators
markmiiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2015, 07:54 AM   #14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,454
Blog Entries: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martinichuck View Post
Not sure if this will help or not but we own a Thor Tuscany also and experienced an issue with shore power and generator power also.

I was only getting one AC to work and my power center indicated I was on inverter. I determined that only 1/2 the coach was on inverter and the other half was on shore power. That explained why the AC in front worked and the rear didn't. But when we fired up the generator everything worked an was no longer inverting.

I opened the transfer switch and low and behold one of the shore power leaders inside the switch had come loose and was no longer making contact. Reinserted and torqued the set screw and everything works.

I now make it a habit to check all connections at the rear of the coach due to high vibration monthly.

Again, not quit the same but it may help.
I have found a couple of set screws on the grounding bars (located behind the circuit breaker panel cover) to be loose and caused some electrical issues, blown fuses, due to making poor contact. This is a high vibration area, engine and the tail end of the coach, so I periodically check the torque on these screws.
__________________

TheArnolds is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power transient surge causes Power Management failure Samflhomes RV Systems & Appliances 4 08-24-2015 05:00 AM
power inverter question markbo53 Sprinter Chassis Forum 10 06-20-2015 08:00 PM
Power Gear Question Bill Fleming1 RV Systems & Appliances 1 10-06-2014 08:46 AM
Question About My Power Gear Jacks onlakegaston Class A Motorhome Discussions 9 02-10-2014 06:34 PM
Power cord question mo5er iRV2.com General Discussion 12 01-11-2014 04:33 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×