RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Thor Industries Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2020, 11:44 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 2
Exclamation Transfer switch help

I am about to purchase a 2014 QG 7000 for my KZ Durango Gold G366FBT. It was prewired for a generator and has the generator box. I know that the remote start wires are in the box as well as AC hook up. However, I don't know if there is a transfer switch pre-installed. Does anyone know how to check or where to look if there is a auto-transfer switch installed? I took the power panel out of the wall looking for the converter and it is not behind the circuit breaker box where my last unit had it installed. My last unit had a combo converter-transfer switch. Any help is appreciated. I will be purchasing the unit in the next few days but need to know what else I need to purchase.
__________________

mattezinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-29-2020, 05:15 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 23
On my Class A motor home the transfer switch is located where the power cable that goes to shore power is.

There is a box where power line from the generator and the power line from shore power both connect in to it. A third power line exits the box and goes to the breaker panel.
__________________

bsheet2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2020, 05:32 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattezinn View Post
I am about to purchase a 2014 QG 7000 for my KZ Durango Gold G366FBT. It was prewired for a generator and has the generator box. I know that the remote start wires are in the box as well as AC hook up. However, I don't know if there is a transfer switch pre-installed. Does anyone know how to check or where to look if there is a auto-transfer switch installed? I took the power panel out of the wall looking for the converter and it is not behind the circuit breaker box where my last unit had it installed. My last unit had a combo converter-transfer switch. Any help is appreciated. I will be purchasing the unit in the next few days but need to know what else I need to purchase.
On our Road Warrior it is behind the basement wall. Remove the walls and look the transfer switch should be a metal box. It is probably around 6x10 inches. Our unit is a MD 52 surge protection unit a replacement cost of around $ 275 for a new one, just replaced our 2 weeks ago. What are you going to use for a fuel supply for the genset?
Get a great surge protector, Progressive Industries, we have the mobile type to plug in at the pedestal power, not a hardwire installed version. We also use a water softener and 3 water filter system. We also have a 50amp extension cord.
__________________
2018 Road Warrior 427
2017 Ram 3500 w/Aisin w/ 4:10 rearend
2016 E-Z-Go Golf Cart 2 Dachshunds DJ (Rainbow Bridge 9-12-2019) & Joey
hamm2018 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2020, 10:00 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 2
Transfer switch help

Thanks for the help. I am pretty sure there is a transfer switch, because when I plug in the 5th wheel, I hear a contact close, it is right behind the wall where the power cord connects to the 5th Wheel. However, I think it is pretty hard to get to, without disassembling a lot of basement walls. My previous trailer, a toy hauler with a QG5500 installed made the same sound and I know it had a transfer switch.

I do have a good surge suppressor and a great filtration system that I have already tried out. I got a Hughes PWD50 with Bluetooth and it is great to see what current is being drawn and what the voltage is at any time.
mattezinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
switch, transfer switch



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transfer switch didn't transfer/switch jimmy braden Class A Motorhome Discussions 29 06-03-2018 12:04 PM
Power Transfer Switch will not switch...... Rook RV Systems & Appliances 11 11-14-2015 08:22 PM
Transfer switch takes minutes to switch after starting genny erkme73 Tiffin Owner's Forum 8 08-12-2012 07:24 PM
50 amp automatic transfer switch, power switch dutch99 Newmar Owner's Forum 16 08-08-2011 09:13 AM
Automatic Transfer Switch (Power Switch) Ragman National RV Owner's Forum 2 07-18-2011 10:51 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×