Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > POWER TRAIN GARAGE FORUMS > Cummins Engines
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2021, 07:24 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
BTux's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 13
2004 Cummins Engine Shutdown/ 30 seconds

2004 Monaco HR Endeavor 38PST. 8.3 Cummins. Engine would start and run 30seconds and shut down. Could reset the ECM by disconnecting the batteries, then restart to repeat the problem. Some codes indicated possible lift pump, injector pump, etc. It has healed itself and has multiple starts and shutdowns.
No driving under load as yet. The ECM will be updated (3 updates) tomorrow. Cautiously trusting this machine now.
BTux is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-20-2021, 07:31 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2,947
Have you physically verified that there is not a fuel leak at the fuel pump?


If leak when sitting, it can also SUCK AIR when running. Diesel will not run when you just inject air.
__________________
Brett Wolfe
Ex: 2003 Alpine 38FDDS. Ex: 1997 Safari Sahara. Ex: 1993 Foretravel U240
wolfe10 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2021, 08:32 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
andy29847's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 843
The 8.3 in my Cummins has a lift pump that run for 30 seconds on start up. After that, the Cummins CAPS insisted takes over fuel delivery chores. I suspect you might have trouble with the CAPS pump.
__________________
2001 Alpine Coach 38/8
ACA 2018006
Andy
andy29847 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2021, 08:54 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 8,956
The lift pump actually is suppose to run for 30 seconds prior to starting, part of the "Wait to Start" light on the dash.



If you are taking it a Cummins shop for the updates they can pull codes to determine what was causing the shutdown. While you are there ask them for a copy of the ECM programing both in paper and CD form, always good to have is something happens.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD Cummins ISC 350 8.3L
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2021, 11:12 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
153stars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Braidwood Il.
Posts: 3,446
Leaking lift pump has killed several CAPS injector pumps posted here. I would try to tighten three lift pump bolts and look for seepage before even driving to shop.
Always suspect fuel filters first as well.
__________________
95 Monaco Crown Royale
M11 400hp, 4060 trans.
Aquahot, Generac Guardian7.5k
153stars is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2021, 03:05 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
dons2346's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6,400
Had the same problem, start run for 30-45 seconds and shut down. Ended up being a faulty oil pressure sensor
__________________
Don
2002 Country Coach Intrigue
dons2346 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2021, 09:37 AM   #7
Member
 
olddog1943's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Gainesville, VA
Posts: 41
I had a similar problem! My coach had been sitting and to make a long story short, the problem turned out to me a clogged fuel line. The fuel had jelled and was restricted the flow. Cleaned out fuel line and all was well but only after replacing fuel pump, filters and sitting alongside road for 12 hours.
__________________
Garnett & Dolores Lee
CWO4 USMC(Ret)
2004 MADP 4301 / Spartan
olddog1943 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2021, 09:39 AM   #8
Member
 
olddog1943's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Gainesville, VA
Posts: 41
Used a fuel additive thereafter and never had any more problems
__________________
Garnett & Dolores Lee
CWO4 USMC(Ret)
2004 MADP 4301 / Spartan
olddog1943 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2021, 05:59 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
BTux's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 13
Thank you one and all for your Valuable insight. These all help the Cummins Techs time and aggravation. We have explored each of these suggestions/experiences. The original ECM was 20 updates behind . While trying to rewrite files to the ECM , the ECM has crashed. This was the most likely problem from the beginning, yet not sure because the ECM was not storing codes. New ECM today...
BTux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2021, 07:48 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
BTux's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 13
Update... Cummins 8.3 shutdown

After being at the Cummins shop in Spartanburg,SC, thought all was good with new ECM. 20 minutes after departure, we are down on the side of I26. Complete engine shutdown. Cummins dispatched an Excellent field tech immediately. Thank you! The ECM was only getting power to 1/2 of the ECM. Had to be towed to Cummins shop, to determine power source issue to ECM, most likely a relay. Could not work in the ECM relay area because of location adjacent to high speed traffic.
My Learning Curve would be to purchase 2 / $30.00 relays, and start removing /replacing them until the problem resolved. The ECM DOES NOT have power if the Wait to Start light is not illuminated . There are 2 other Red Warning lights which also will not illuminate if the ECM does Not have power. When the bad Relay is found and replaced... the Wait to Start will illuminate, as will the other 2 Red warning lights.
OR ... check relays with multi meter. Relays can be tricky... hoping I do Not have a chewed wire from Squirrel or Chipmunk.
BTux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2021, 05:35 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 159
Ecm power should be unswitched power. Usually direct to the batteries with some fuses.
randomledder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2021, 10:46 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
BTux's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 13
The “Repair” needed... was a non existent ... intermittent ground to the ECM. Replaced the ground wire ringlets , replaced the Wing Nuts with standard nuts and “Torqued” them to a very specific value. Perfection!
BTux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2021, 06:22 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Smitty77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Over the next hill, around the next curve...
Posts: 5,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by BTux View Post
The “Repair” needed... was a non existent ... intermittent ground to the ECM. Replaced the ground wire ringlets , replaced the Wing Nuts with standard nuts and “Torqued” them to a very specific value. Perfection!
"Classic!". And thank you for updating.

I'm a short timer compared to many here! (Though, I think I probably look as old!!!) A yearly maintenance regiment (Paid for, or DIY!) of checking all kinds of 'Ground Connection's' - will bay dividends of less 'chances' of the problems 'On The Road!'....

Go have some fun,
Smitty
__________________
07 Country Coach Magna Rembrandt 45' ISX600
Roo II was our 04 Country Coach Allure 40'
OnDRoad for The JRNY! Enjoy life...
Smitty77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2021, 07:37 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 1,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by BTux View Post
The “Repair” needed... was a non existent ... intermittent ground to the ECM. Replaced the ground wire ringlets , replaced the Wing Nuts with standard nuts and “Torqued” them to a very specific value. Perfection!
Where was the ground if it was non existent? Did you add a wire? Does it come from the internal wires exiting the EMC?
shootist is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cummins, engine



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wire for Fuel Shutdown Solenoid 95 Cummins Mechanical deandec Country Coach Owners Forum 2 07-04-2018 11:45 AM
Cummins ISM engine versus Cummins Non ISM engine gimlimike Newmar Owner's Forum 4 08-06-2017 04:39 AM
2011 Fleetwood Storm - Cummins Onan Generator auto-shutdown ualdriver Fleetwood Owner's Forum 12 07-02-2016 06:52 PM
Engine died after 15 seconds. ladagobago Cummins Engines 5 11-01-2014 07:58 PM
Cummins ISB Engine Shutdown chasfm11 MH-General Discussions & Problems 10 07-20-2006 03:32 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.