Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > POWER TRAIN GARAGE FORUMS > Cummins Engines
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 06-12-2014, 03:57 PM   #1

Cummins ISC Multiple Problems

Good day,

We purchased an '04 Winnebago Vectra in June 2013 with 42.5k miles with a Cummins ISC rated at 350 hp. In the last year we have driven about 6k miles and experienced a series of minor and not so minor problems. I am new to both the RV and diesel engine worlds, and I just don't know if this is part of the experience or not. My questions are:

1. Could one or more of these issues be related?
2. Is there an underlying problem yet to be diagnosed?
3. Given our current location (the middle of South Carolina and heading up the East coast soon), is there a knowledgable Cummins/Freightliner dealer in the area who can address our problems and give us confidence that we will have a reliable coach?

Background:
We are the third owners. We have good maintenance records from the first owner (about 35k miles with no issues) and nothing from the second owner. The coach is about 1000 lbs under GVWR and we are not towing anything yet. We plan to start towing our Honda CRV.

In chronological order (pardon in advance for the lengthy post):

1. Early July 2013: Check engine light and greatly reduced power.