RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > POWER TRAIN GARAGE FORUMS > Cummins Engines
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2020, 04:00 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Where ever it's parked.
Posts: 24
Exclamation Monaco ISM 500 Turbo woes

Blew the turbo on our 2001 Monaco Executive with ISM 500. This happened a month ago. Cummins says the turbo is months out. Sent mine to a shop for a rebuild. Shop say casting is OK, but internal parts are weeks or months out.
This turbo is only used on RVs, Buses, and Boats, so not a lot laying around.
My shop does some digging and finds a turbo at another distributor in Texas, but the price is a bit high. OK, order it.
Finally comes in - all of the ports are in the correct place, but the outlet flange is a different size. My guy runs the engine S/N again and Holset says that this is the correct Turbo???
So now, we are trying to find out if there is a correct adapter for this turbo to my CAC coupling.
Not sure what I'm going to do, and crying doesn't help.

Anyone run into similar and is there a known fix?

Thanks,
Roger D.
Spada84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-08-2020, 04:57 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 795
Just to clarify:

* You are saying your Turbine outlet to the down pipe (exhaust) is okay?

* And the only problem is that your Compressor intake is not matching-up the CAC tube via an elbow?

* Can you attach pictures? Are you working with a rubber elbow or metal one?

* Physically I presume your old turbo matches your new turbo? But it's also very important that:

a) Has the same compressor billet wheel?

b) Has the same turbine wheel?

* Can you modify your intake elbow? ...probably not. ...So google "Holset ISM turbo elbow" and see what you get.

I found this company that maybe able to point you in the right direction:

https://www.truckpipesusa.com/catego...rbo-pipes.html

OTHER QUESTIONS

a) What's the diameter of your old turbo intake and CAC Tube?

b) What's the diameter of your new turbo intake? ...And maybe your new turbo flange is designed to be used with a V-Band clamp and your old turbo uses a regular clamp and a rubber boot? (We need more information to help.)
imnprsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2020, 11:32 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Where ever it's parked.
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by imnprsd View Post
Just to clarify:

* You are saying your Turbine outlet to the down pipe (exhaust) is okay?
Yes

* And the only problem is that your Compressor intake is not matching-up the CAC tube via an elbow?
It's actually the compressor outlet to the CAC
* Can you attach pictures? Are you working with a rubber elbow or metal one?
I will post pictures. The compressor outlet flange is a different size, but in the same orientation. There is a 45 V-clamp to pipe adapter. The adapter connects to a flex coupling then to the CAC.
* Physically I presume your old turbo matches your new turbo? But it's also very important that:
If the turbo was physically the same I wouldn't be having this problem. This is the turbo P/N that comes up with the engine S/N. But comes directly from Holset, not Cummins. This is waste gate, not VG turbo on a mechanical, not computer engine.

a) Has the same compressor billet wheel?

b) Has the same turbine wheel?

* Can you modify your intake elbow? ...probably not. ...So google "Holset ISM turbo elbow" and see what you get.
No need. Just the interface between the compressor housing and the CAC adapter.
I found this company that maybe able to point you in the right direction:

https://www.truckpipesusa.com/catego...rbo-pipes.html

OTHER QUESTIONS

a) What's the diameter of your old turbo intake and CAC Tube?
Turbo intake is not the issue.

b) What's the diameter of your new turbo intake? ...And maybe your new turbo flange is designed to be used with a V-Band clamp and your old turbo uses a regular clamp and a rubber boot? (We need more information to help.)
If that was the case it would already be fixed
Spada84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2020, 12:04 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Where ever it's parked.
Posts: 24
Photos

My supplier just called me and told me that they have the correct adapter. Apparently this is an updated version of the original turbocharger.

I guess we will see when it gets here.
Spada84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2020, 09:05 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 22
I just changed the turbo wheel on mine today to prevent any issues. Went with a billet extended tip wheel.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20200917_134526.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	211.1 KB
ID:	301396   Click image for larger version

Name:	20200917_134531.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	285.9 KB
ID:	301397  

DieselDisco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2020, 07:09 AM   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Metamora, MI
Posts: 4,149
Quote:
Originally Posted by DieselDisco View Post
I just changed the turbo wheel on mine today to prevent any issues. Went with a billet extended tip wheel.
Where did you get that? Part number?
Just for future reference. Hope I never need it
Dav L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2020, 04:36 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Where ever it's parked.
Posts: 24
Sorry for the long lack of updates.

So, it turns out the turbo that they sent was incorrect. While it [I]was[I] an ISM 500 turbo, it was not for this application. They took the return on it and we found one on-the-shelf. Came with the correct P/N on the tag. Installed and back on the road right after July 4th.

Now to deal with the leaking slide cylinder.
Spada84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2020, 08:14 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 22
I'll find a link. It cost $195 and took an hour to change. Very easy job.

I almost went with a larger volvo GT60 compressor housing and a 69-72mm wheel but I decided to not go crazy. Our ISM really only have a GT55 compressor side not a true GT60 like the semi trucks.
__________________
01 Monaco Executive 43DS
Tuned and upgraded 500hp ISM
DieselDisco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
monaco, turbo



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing turbo on 500 ISM in Essex tom chelbana Cummins Engines 17 11-20-2016 06:16 PM
Cummins ISM 500 Turbo Oil Leak azSkier Cummins Engines 5 12-03-2015 01:09 PM
Monaco Dynasty 09' ISM 500 Turbo boost pressure twincessna Monaco Owner's Forum 2 05-03-2012 11:18 AM
Turbo lag Issue with ISM 500 Engine nkkoepp Cummins Engines 3 06-16-2011 09:27 AM
ISM 500 vs ISM II 500 Mike Canter Cummins Engines 3 11-08-2009 10:41 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.